I don't need another system...I don't need another system...I don't need another system...

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by TennesseeTony, Dec 18, 2016.

  1. Dufus

    Dufus Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    31
    X99, any particular reason for asking?

    Here's some better detail
    [​IMG]
     
    #51 Dufus, Jan 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2017
  2. TennesseeTony

    TennesseeTony Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    220
    You find any way to overclock other than Bus Speed, Dufus? The v3 Xeons seem pretty tightly locked when I last tried to boost them.
     
  3. StefanR5R

    StefanR5R Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    70
    Naturally BIOSes of X99 boards come with a few more knobs and dials for CPU parameters than server/WS boards. --- I have seen talk at forums about running Xeons at single-core turbo under multi-core load, but often enough it was unclear which Xeon generation the posters meant, whether they referred to some exotic SKUs or steppings, whether they meant Xeon E3 or E5 in the first place, board with desktop chipset or server chipset, etc pp...

    However, I now saw your posts in the What controls Turbo Core in Xeons? thread at the CPUs and Overclocking forum. So there is microcode involved; very interesting.
     
  4. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    141
    Dufus does some BIOS hacks to get this to happen, exploiting a bug in the Haswell microcode. It's outside my comfort zone to do this; I think a guy that's comfortable with it could earn some side $$ rather easily.
     
  5. Dufus

    Dufus Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    31
    It's funny you should say that @crashtech I did approach such a person some time back who does BIOS mods (not my cup of tea) and he would not touch it. Said it was a conflict of interest and something about the major Companies being restrained by Intel for using such a mechanism to achieve higher operation than spec. I think the conflict of interest might have been because he did some work through one of those Companies but I'm not sure and it's just hearsay.

    @TennesseeTony I don't know of a way to increase multi's above spec with the 2683v3, only those Haswell CPU's that support limited ratio overclocking. Probably these 2683v3's could do 4GHz+ if allowed even if not all cores at once and some memory ratio increases would be nice too. It's unfortunate that market segmentation gets in the way of what could possibly be a monster CPU but then perhaps if it didn't they would be selling for a lot more than ~$300 used.

    @StefanR5R yes microcode is a powerful thing, possibly the Pandora's box of Intel processors (if anyone actually worked out how to modify them accordingly).
     
  6. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    141
    There does seem to be a way to get all cores in Haswell CPUs to run at the top multiplier, but I'm not versed in it. A more detailed tutorial would definitely be welcome, but there is a link to some info in this post:

    https://forums.anandtech.com/thread...ench-r11-5-score.2443441/page-9#post-38679908
     
  7. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    dufus, I got my 2683 up and running, but finding it hard to find "free" things to download to test it, like wprime, and cpuz. They all seem tied to some other spamware.

    Do you have any good download links ?
     
  8. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    OK, I got CPUZ installed, but wprime 2.10 says "unexpected error, quitting"

    Ideas ?
     
  9. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    OK, a few updates. the system with a weenie video card at idle is 77 watts. At full load on the CPU (Passmark burnin) it only takes 150 watts for 28 threads loaded ! And with my H100 cooler, no core gets over 40c (per coretemp). I am amazed. Now if I could only get a few more GPUs that I can afford to turn on......

    Here:
    [​IMG]
     
  10. TennesseeTony

    TennesseeTony Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    220
  11. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    Tony regarding the F@HBench, Wow, single precision,dhfr WU, 1.5 something for 28 thread 2.5 ghz 2683. Same test, in dual 6276 opterons(32 cores), 2.3 ghz (turbo is 2.6 ghz) 0.716, more than twice the performance. for more cores at virtually the same speed. Running the double precision now.

    Double precision, Opterons=0.844, 2683 Xeon= 1.42.

    To me its amazing how much difference there is between the 2, The opterons came out Nov 2011, and the Xeons on Q3 2014, but 3 years ? and the speed is doubled ?
     
    #61 Markfw, Jan 21, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2017
  12. TennesseeTony

    TennesseeTony Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    220
    I'd say Intel was pretty far ahead before those Opterons were even thought of. AMD fell behind once Intel came out with the Core series on 27 July 2006, and they haven't even been close since (sadly).

    Still, a single chip with fewer cores and MUCH less power usage performing twice as well is impressive. :)
     
  13. Dufus

    Dufus Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    31
  14. Kiska

    Kiska Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    44
    While none of you may not need a new system. I do. I have an E5 2670 0 for $84, is that a good price, or can I persuade the seller to go lower?
     
  15. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    Is it a retail ? or ES ? If its retail, and thats all you can afford, its a good price IMO (8 cores, 16 threads)

    For $350, you get 14 cores, 28 threads !
     
  16. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    141
    I don't see too many deals on X79 or even plain LGA2011, after looking for a while I concluded that X99 or 2011-3 might be easier and not much more to implement at this time.
     
  17. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    crashtech, if you are going to go 2011-3, and want in the range of 24 threads, then what I am putting together right now would replace the SR-2 setup you were going to get from me, Except, just the motherboard (open box) 4 sticks of ram (you have to use the quad channel ram, I only got 16 gig total), the CPU, and an HSF is in the $700 range, or twice what you were considering, but if you want to, go for it !

    Motherboard open box X99-A, $172 including shipping.
    4 x 4 gig $123 (you could get 4 x 2 gig, but what a waste)
    HSF 612 cooler master (I got it today, and it looks awesome) $43

    Total $338

    Now pick your CPU

    I see a 8 core for as low as $120, and up to mine, 14 core for $356 (shipped) or 16 to 28 threads
    A 12 core like the 24 threads the SR-2 has is $197 (shipped) and up
    EDIT, except my $356 one that is retail, the rest are all ES or QS, and will not work in that motherboard.

    Also, you will need a new PSU probably, so add at least $150-220 for a quality one.
     
    #67 Markfw, Feb 7, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2017
  18. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    OK, I just realized this. So a while back I wanted a home for a PCIE 3.0 card as cheap as possible. So I got the cheapest AMD MB and CPU I could find. The fan is loud, and it sucks power. Then I went one more time, but got Intel to save power. Well, thats good, but the stock HSF is loud, and the dual-core G4400 can barely even keep the single video card fed. So if I put 2 cards in it, now I have to throw away that $65 CPU.

    Bottom line..... Never buy 1/2 way, only get good stuff the first time. Now I don't feel so bad getting 2 14 core 2683 systems..... Even though I don;t need the CPU power. And I have started now doing WCG, which seems to like CPU power.
     
  19. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    141
    Yes, I agree that X99 is still expensive. But X79 boards aren't a lot less, and they are getting harder to find. So when you compare the cost of a complete X79 system versus its performance, and do the same with X99, the X99 looks pretty good. The only place you really save on X79 is with the CPU, and like you said, there are 8 core 2011-3 Xeons for $120. At any rate, either are out of my league at this time, so X58 will be fine. :)

    It won't be hard to get most of your money back for the G4400, so it's not a bad mistake, put a quad in there and you are set for dual GPU. But I have been liking the idea of cheap boxen for single GPU DC, they don't take much of a power supply, they're easy to cool, the CPUs are cheap, and not a lot is at risk if something goes wrong. One of my little machines has a Sandy Bridge Celeron in it, and it runs a 1060 just fine. It uses more than 50% of the CPU to do it, but that's all it does, and it puts out the same points as the box with the same GPU and a Skylake i5.
     
  20. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    that $120 8 core won't work in that motherboard. I edited my post.

    As for the G4400, the cheapest quad-core socket 1151 I see is $183 ! I might as well make another E5-2683 system....
     
  21. crashtech

    crashtech Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    141
    Oh, well. I am probably wrong about X79. It could be that when I was looking, there just wasn't that much available, and I was disappointed. YMMV!

    Maybe so. What about a 2C/4T Kaby Lake Pentium like the G4560? I have one inbound, but what I don't have is the ability to test it with two GPUs. I'd loan it to you in the name of science (once I've put it through its paces of course) if you wanted to see if it could feed a dual GPU rig.
     
  22. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    I can't get it by filtering on newegg, bug a direct search finds it. Almost the same price as what I paid !! crap !

    As for the GPU not working, its only compatible with X99, and only if its not an ES chip, unless its a MSI something motherboard, which I won't buy.
     
  23. Kiska

    Kiska Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    44
  24. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,162
    Likes Received:
    365
    Well, thats 2011, not 2011-3, so thats one reason its cheap. Doesn't sound bad to me, just tired of the dual socket motherboards if not required for a lot of cores, due to case size and all. But still a good value for socket 2011.
     
  25. Kiska

    Kiska Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    44
    Thought I would get something a little cheaper than those v3 chips, they are so expensive especially on a student budget. Do you have any recommendations for motherboard, I was thinking the Asus Z9PE-D8 WS board, but its so expensive at $600