Getting the most PPD out of your hardware for F@H

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by Markfw, Nov 13, 2016.

  1. TennesseeTony

    TennesseeTony Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    286
    Any word on the street regarding how the 1080Ti performs at F@H tasks?
     
  2. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,326
    Likes Received:
    534
    I will let you know sometime after May 8th. I have a guaranteed preorder of the FTW3 at $750. Its suposed to ship then. I expect based on 3500 cuda cores to have well over 1.2 million
     
  3. StefanR5R

    StefanR5R Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    134
    With 100 % power target and when cooling is sufficient to keep up good clocks, 1080Ti outputs about 1.1 M PPD average. Perf/Watt is comparable to 1080 then.

    With somewhat reduced power target, you can dial to a more effective point. I think I had it at about 0.9 M PPD at 70 %, or maybe even 65 %.

    (F@H is currently off here because I need the CPU. I could possibly dig up logs and try to make some sense of them, but no promises. No spare time ahead.)

    Edit:
    Theoretically, 1080Ti and Titan X(P) should perform identically. OCN's PPD database currently lists the latter with 1.4 M PPD. But this is most definitely only from a few, rare, cherry-picked WUs, and far off from what can be achieved in the daily churn.

    Edit 2:
    Also, considering that I am still quite a n00b at F@H, it is possible that a more versed DCer can get more out of 1080Ti than I did so far.
     
    #28 StefanR5R, Apr 17, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2017
    TennesseeTony likes this.
  4. StefanR5R

    StefanR5R Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    134
    A pro pos 3500 cuda cores: Is it possible to run two F@H jobs simultaneously on the same card? Depending on the WU type, a single job utilizes the GPU more or less below full tilt. The bigger the card, the lower the average utilization it seems.
     
  5. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,326
    Likes Received:
    534
    Not that I know of. Only one task per card. BUT I can say that some units are better utilizes than others, as with the card running at the exact same GHZ and voltage, the temps can vary really high on some units
     
  6. Aurum

    Aurum Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems to me that disabling hyperthreading may actually slow the calcs down. The way I do it I open the Windows Task Manager Performance tab and watch the CPU Usage graphs. I usually find that I need to dedicate a thread per folding GPU plus two more. E.g., one folding rig (I believe you call them boxes here) with four 1070s on a Gigabyte GA-X99-SLI (x8x8x16x8 @3.0) with an E5-2603 v4 that has 6 cores and 6 threads, an M.2 SSD and G.SKILL Ripjaws5 Quad DDR4 3000. I require that total CPU Usage remain mostly at 85% or lower. With four 1060s it takes all 6 cores to do that with an E5-2603 v4 so no CPU folding.

    On another rig with four 1070s on a Gigabyte GA-X99-SLI (x8x8x16x8 @3.0) with an E5-2673 v3 that has 12 cores and 24 threads, an M.2 SSD and G.SKILL Ripjaws5 Quad DDR4 3000. This rig can easily support four 1070s with 6 threads and use 18 threads for SMP client CPU folding.

    On another rig with three 1070s on an ASRock Z97 Extreme4 with an i7-4771 with 4 cores and 8 threads and an 8 GB (666 MHz) DDR2 dual-kit. It only takes one thread to support three 1070s and 7 threads can do CPU folding.

    My i3-4130T rigs are borderline capable of handling multi-GPU folding so no CPU folding.

    For AMD rigs my Athlon II X4 640 can handle multi-GPU with no CPU but I only use it for legacy GPUs like 7970 and 7800. FX-6300 and FX-8350 can easily handle four 1070s plus CPU folding. I prefer Intel X99 motherboards since they do not use the Northbridge chip to switch the PCIe bus. I won't build any more AMD rigs since all PCIe busses are switched via the Northbridge chip.

    My next rig is going to be a Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3P with an E5-4660 v3 (14/28), four 1080s, a 16 GB Quad-kit Corsair Vengenance DDR (2133) and an M.2 SSD.
     
  7. TennesseeTony

    TennesseeTony Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    286
    Hello @Aurum ! Heck of a multi-set up you have there! I don't suppose you fold for TeAm Anandtech? I appreciate the insights. I've tried HT off and it didn't seem to help, so it's good to see some confirmation there, on the X99 chipset, at least.