Does anyone here have an AMD E-450?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by mikeymikec, Jun 18, 2012.

  1. mikeymikec

    mikeymikec Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    17
    I've just seen a system with it stuttering like mad with a Flash game. Does anyone have the same problem and processor?

    Switching off desktop composition made it perform significantly better.

    The system in question has Win7-64, plenty of RAM and the latest AMD graphics drivers. Processor usage was just going nuts in any browser while playing the Flash game. I checked silly things like whether someone had set the processor to only go up to 50% of its potential, but it was going the full 1.65GHz.

    I realise it's not meant as say a valid alternative to the Core i3 or the Pentium G620, but I would have thought anything except a netbook processor would handle a Flash game, unless someone goes and ports Quake 4 onto Flash :)
     
  2. borisvodofsky

    borisvodofsky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flash games suck, stop playing them, and get back to work. :whiste:

    I use the default old school windows theme with Everything turned off, and optimized for performance.

    on my e350, flash is pretty smooth as Long as I'm playing it at the little box resolution in the window. It chokes when I make it bigger.
     
  3. pantsaregood

    pantsaregood Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure the GPU drivers are up to date.

    Also, leaving desktop composition on usually results in a performance boost because it offloads onto the GPU.
     
  4. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    22
    Some flash games, like BTD5, can bring a 4.5 GHz i5-3570k to its knees.
     
  5. Puppies04

    Puppies04 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5,903
    Likes Received:
    2
    Got to ask because you don't mention it.....was flash player properly updated?
     
  6. happysmiles

    happysmiles Senior member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    what browser are you using?
     
  7. lau808

    lau808 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have one. what flash game was being played? i can check it out tonight
     
  8. beginner99

    beginner99 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    It is a netbook processor...
     
  9. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,153
    Likes Received:
    39
    Bobcat/Atom is just extremely weak compared to regular CPUs. They are essentially extremely shortterm lifetime. unless you accept the rapid degrade over the relatively short timeperiod. New codec and its dead for HTPC, some flash or new flash and its dead for flashgames in browsers. HTML5 can kill them too, even youtube.

    Bobcat/Atom is borderlining to the use and throw away. They are born obsolete.
     
  10. Olikan

    Olikan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    they are born for batery life...
     
  11. ninaholic37

    ninaholic37 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've always liked the 10 inch netbook form factor (and 8.9 when they were still being made), and have been using them exclusively since 2008 for everything. There really isn't anything I can't do on them that I want to... though everyone's computer needs/uses are different. I guess the same thing you wrote could be said about iPad owners (generally costs like twice as much as Atoms/Bobcats, and millions of people still buy them).

    I'm eager to see what Silvermont/Kabini might bring to the table in 2013 though, or if Haswell/Kaveri (next gen Ivy Bridge/Trinity) ULV variants may reach power levels low enough to make the "Atom/Bobcat" counterparts obsolete for small laptops. Will be interesting to see how this unfolds...
     
    #11 ninaholic37, Jun 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2012
  12. thelastjuju

    thelastjuju Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't have one, but I've used them.. they are perfectly capable for every day use. I think it depends on the hardware you are accustomed to. For ordinary users, its fine.

    But they won't be zippy fast. You'll get that random lag and slowdown here and there but only something someone with more enthusiast grade hardware would notice and might be bothered by anyway.
     
  13. jhu

    jhu Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    11,881
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an E-450 netbook. I disagree with your assessment. Atom is slightly slower than Pentium 4 clock for clock. Bobcat, however, is a bit faster than K8 clock for clock.

    Povray benchmarks, v3.6.1 (single thread only)

    Pentium 4m, 1.5 GHz, Debian 7, gcc 4.6.1, -march=pentium4m
    Parse Time: 0 hours 0 minutes 5 seconds (5 seconds)
    Photon Time: 0 hours 2 minutes 8 seconds (128 seconds)
    Render Time: 1 hours 5 minutes 36 seconds (3936 seconds)
    Total Time: 1 hours 7 minutes 49 seconds (4069 seconds)

    Atom N270, 1.6 GHz, Ubuntu 11, icc 11.1, -xSSE3_ATOM
    Parse Time: 0 hours 0 minutes 4 seconds (4 seconds)
    Photon Time: 0 hours 1 minutes 31 seconds (91 seconds)
    Render Time: 1 hours 23 minutes 16 seconds (4996 seconds)
    Total Time: 1 hours 24 minutes 51 seconds (5091 seconds)

    Povray 3.7 benchmark (multi-threaded)

    Turion x2, 1.8 GHz, Ubuntu 11, gcc 4.5.2, -march=k8
    Render Time:
    Photon Time: 0 hours 0 minutes 6 seconds (6.206 seconds)
    using 5 thread(s) with 7.180 CPU-seconds total
    Radiosity Time: No radiosity
    Trace Time: 0 hours 32 minutes 31 seconds (1951.608 seconds)
    using 2 thread(s) with 3890.260 CPU-seconds total


    AMD E-450 @ 1.65 GHz, Ubuntu 12.04, gcc 4.6, -march=bareclona
    Render Time:
    Photon Time: 0 hours 0 minutes 6 seconds (6.483 seconds)
    using 5 thread(s) with 7.504 CPU-seconds total
    Radiosity Time: No radiosity
    Trace Time: 0 hours 27 minutes 19 seconds (1639.816 seconds)
    using 2 thread(s) with 3270.613 CPU-seconds total
     
    #13 jhu, Jun 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2012
  14. jhu

    jhu Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    11,881
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, I've been playing Diablo III on this thing. It only started bogging down in Hell difficulty for some reason.
     
  15. beginner99

    beginner99 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    More or less agree but I just used my aging eeepc T91 for 3 weeks. This has a z520 Atom (single-core with HT). I use it with Jolicloud (distro based of ubuntu). browsing works perfectly fine and it can actually play standard 720p mkv rips.
     
  16. borisvodofsky

    borisvodofsky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    pssshh. z520 can only play those mkvs with all the cool stuff disabled. and renderer at lowest possible setting.

    It's got nothing on e450 which can do 1080p like butter. That said, if you have the e450 render subtitles, booooom, frame drop. :p
     
  17. ninaholic37

    ninaholic37 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    4
    Interesting. I tried that POV-Ray program on two of my Aspire One netbooks also, and here were the results:

    Povray v3.6.2

    Atom N2600, 1.6Ghz, Win7 Starter
    Parse Time: 0 hours 0 minutes 4 seconds (4 seconds)
    Photon Time: 0 hours 1 minutes 48 seconds (108 seconds)
    Render Time: 0 hours 44 minutes 43 seconds (2683 seconds)
    Total Time: 0 hours 46 minutes 35 seconds (2795 seconds)
    Render averaged 70.33 PPS

    AMD C-50, 1.0Ghz, Win7 Starter
    Parse Time: 0 hours 0 minutes 3 seconds (3 seconds)
    Photon Time: 0 hours 1 minutes 18 seconds (78 seconds)
    Render Time: 0 hours 29 minutes 18 seconds (1758 seconds)
    Total Time: 0 hours 30 minutes 39 seconds (1839 seconds)
    Render averaged 106.97 PPS

    Povray v3.7

    Atom N2600, 1.6Ghz, Win7 Starter
    Photon Time: 0 hours 0 minutes 19 seconds (19.173 seconds)
    using 7 thread(s) with 22.323 CPU-seconds total
    Trace Time: 0 hours 14 minutes 17 seconds (857.487 seconds)
    using 4 thread(s) with 3408.183 CPU-seconds total

    Render averaged 222.74 PPS (57.18 PPS CPU time)

    AMD C-50, 1.0Ghz, Win7 Starter
    Photon Time: 0 hours 0 minutes 14 seconds (14.430 seconds)
    using 5 thread(s) with 16.176 CPU-seconds total
    Trace Time: 0 hours 16 minutes 17 seconds (977.373 seconds)
    using 2 thread(s) with 1937.220 CPU-seconds total

    Render averaged 197.17 PPS (100.36 PPS CPU time)

    Just for comparison. Both OSs are set up pretty much the same.
     
  18. cebalrai

    cebalrai Senior member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0

    You should have GPU assist on flash games with the E-450. Sounds like it's not working for some reason.
     
  19. pantsaregood

    pantsaregood Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    0
    As for Flash games being laggy, you should also remember that it is generally Flash that is at fault more than your CPU.

    Adobe puts out some really garbage software. Flash Player and Acrobat Reader can bog down my 2500K sometimes, often for no apparent reason.
     
  20. mikeymikec

    mikeymikec Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    17
    Someone mentioned keeping the Flash plug-in up-to-date - two things here - I think the Flash plug-in is automatically updated in Chrome isn't it? Secondly, the problem was also experienced in Firefox.
     
  21. Joey Bogaars

    Joey Bogaars Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everybody,

    I bought a Compaq CQ57 with a E-450+Radeon 6320 and to be onest, this system is unstable and rubbish, i've tried everything to make it better but it doesn't work at all. The CPU get stuck when im multitasking and the screen is hanging when i play youtube-clips/video's. This is kinda annoying, the CPU is way TOO unstable, the Radeon 6320 is quite good...the graphics seems to be good enough if it doesn't lag. But the system overall is, not good at all. I have a tweaked Windows 7 x64 Ultimate and even that doesn't work. I replaced my HDD for a SSD and even that doesnt work, i bought 2GB extra RAM but even that seems not to bring every difference. AMD-Overdrive doesn't work on this CPU/GPU. What to do? Overclocking is impossible, more RAM isn't a option. Please help me out and give me some options.

    I've expected more of this E2 system of AMD.

    Gr. Joey
     
  22. dma0991

    dma0991 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think there is an underlying problem with your laptop than the APU itself. My E-350 desktop isn't perfect but it gets the job done, almost. While the CPU utilization is high, there is not much noticeable lag. Maybe a stutter ever so often but definitely not bad enough to be a lag. Check if the laptop is too hot as thermal throttling might have kicked in when you're stressing the APU.
     
  23. Insert_Nickname

    Insert_Nickname Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    5
    I wouldn't say that. My NAS runs on a ASUS C60M1-I board. That's Brazos at 1.00-1.33GHz. Its not high performance, but that's not required for simple storage purposes. And it sips power too...
     
  24. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,153
    Likes Received:
    39
    But thats a tiny niche segment.
     
  25. Fox5

    Fox5 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    5,957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get Windows 8, it makes a nice upgrade for those slow processors.