Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness - what to do in advance?

CZroe

Lifer
Jun 24, 2001
No question: I'm going to be paralyzed with muscle pain tomorrow. I just stayed up straight through the night running up and down several flights of stairs moving the contents of two upstairs apartments into a house. I wasn't in shape before and now even my fingers feel numb and noodly.

I'm still numb but I expect it to be debilitating. Is there anything I can do now to make it less intense later?

moonbogg

Lifer
Jan 8, 2011
I'm no expert, but I say nope, you're screwed this time. You shocked the hell out of your muscles and they will hurt. Its ok though. It will be a good pain.

SP33Demon

Lifer
Jun 22, 2001
No question: I'm going to be paralyzed with muscle pain tomorrow. I just stayed up straight through the night running up and down several flights of stairs moving the contents of two upstairs apartments into a house. I wasn't in shape before and now even my fingers feel numb and noodly.

I'm still numb but I expect it to be debilitating. Is there anything I can do now to make it less intense later?
You can roll the muscles with a roller stick, preferably within 8 hours of the workout, although it can still be effective to a lesser degree up to 24. A foam roller will work as well.

Ice areas that you think will be really sore, and eat a lot of protein + vitamins + BCAAs + anti-inflammatory supplements. I have a saying in powerlifting: "Eat the soreness away". Of course it probably won't help as much for the very first time you shock the muscles. But eggs, broccoli, fish, pineapple, bananas, whole milk, steaks, pulled pork, bacon etc are all money. Coconut oil and avocados are great for getting those essential fats in, hell even mayo and some fatty salad dressing are good in moderation. Just eat healthy and up the calories and your soreness will be reduced. However, if you're cutting then you're just gonna have to suck it up and regulate those calories.