Cryptocoin Mining?

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by Chiropteran, May 24, 2011.

  1. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,120
    Likes Received:
    39
    I just joined Mt.Red. Do I need to set up 2 workers or can I just have both cards log in as the same worker? I was logging in as the same worker with both cards for Slush's pool.

    Also, what is the APIKEY? It is blank right now on my Mt.Red profile page.
     
  2. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    It's more to it than that. The payout varies not only from day-to-day but also throughout the day. What this means is that if you are not mining 24/7 x 30 days a month where this variability washes out, you may rejoin the pool after gaming (etc.) and run into a 7-10 hour batch and get 1/2 or 1/3rd the reward you'd get at a PPS pool. Suddenly your GPU just mined inefficiently for 7-10 hours! At a PPS pool, it would get a consistent reward, which means you can leave and re-enter a PPS pool any time (a lot more flexible).

    Also, because of the day-to-day variability, you have a situation such as right now when the 7-day pool luck at Slush's has fallen to just 87%. So if someone joined Slush's pool 7 days ago, they would have made less money than any other PPS pool. Slush's pool ultimately has to come back to a monthly average of roughly 100%, which means situations where pool luck is low have to be compensated by areas where pool luck will be high. Due to this variability I think it makes a lot more sense to hop to Slush's pool when the pool luck is very low (40-50%) and ride it back up to 120-150% and then leave again to a PPS pool because you know for sure it'll drop way lower to get to that 100% monthly average.

    Slush's pool also charges a 2% fee, despite not being a PPS pool, so really that's a lot of risk to put up with its variability and definitely not worth it for anyone who isn't mining non-stop 24/7.


    I have no idea what the API Key is. Mine is blank. I was under the impression that you needed to set up a separate worker for each of your GPUs/miners. Interesting how you were able to mine with both under 1 worker.
     
    #2652 RussianSensation, Jul 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  3. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,120
    Likes Received:
    39
    Thanks for all the info Russian...much appreciated.

    As for the miners, I am running with both connected to the same worker at MtRed and it is correctly reading my hashrate as the sum of the 2.
     
  4. Zargon

    Zargon Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    12,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    The api is usually for reporting. People can set it up and monitor miner output

    Tapatalking on my pos thunderbolt. Sorry for teh typos!
     
  5. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    Glad it's working for you. I am going to do another 2-day testing at MT. Red. I think during the days when I ran it I got carried away watching a bunch of Youtube 1080P videos with GPU hardware acceleration on and it was taking my GPU speed down to 500mhz in cases and not reverting back. I guess I didn't notice this since I was only checking GPU utilization at 99%. I read up on this later. I disabled GPU hardware acceleration for Adobe Flash so my 7900 card never drops to 500mhz when watching youtube videos while mining. So far I've been running Mt. Red for 8 hours and my per hour return is already higher than my BTC Guild per hour average (based on ~0.343 daily rate). So it's looking much better so far for Mt. Red than my initial testing. I'll report back my new 2-day average at Mt. Red soon.
     
  6. f1sherman

    f1sherman Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,244
    Likes Received:
    0

    ^^ wow... UVD bug still going strong with AMD

    That would be what...5 full generations. Is this a WR or what?
     
  7. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,120
    Likes Received:
    39
    I will also report back with my rates after a couple days of mining for Mt.Red.
     
  8. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    Ummm...never had these problems with HD4890 or my 6950. Either way it's actually better for me that I found out to disable GPU hardware acceleration with Adobe Flash since my GPU is now 98-99% pegged even when mining and watching youtube. The CPU handles the rest without any problems. This may be important for people running Pentium 4 and HD7970 where their CPU is too slow for Flash. Also, pretty much the entire industry and adobe themselves are abandoning flash to HTML5; so this "issue" will be irrelevant shortly. I could care less about Adobe Flash GPU acceleration when my AMD card pays for itself and works great for everything else ;)
     
  9. Despoiler

    Despoiler Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    193
    58XX cards are the most sought after cards for mining. They are pretty power efficient for their delivered mhash. I wouldn't sell it.


    You can have separate workers for each card/device or mine them all on one worker. Your choice.
    The API key allows you to do things like remote monitoring your workers.
     
  10. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,120
    Likes Received:
    39
    Is there any disadvantage to a single worker? Like a higher reject rate or anything like that?
     
  11. KompuKare

    KompuKare Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    60
    There, fixed that for you!

    Using the stats from https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison (where nobody has updated that first table to include the 7970):

    Model___Mhash/s__Mhash/W____Watts
    5830_____248_____1.29________192W
    5870_____400_____1.90________210W
    5970_____740_____2.15________344W
    6970_____365_____2.28________160W
    7970_____825_____3.86________214W

    Those are still good values but only if you have very cheap electricity.
     
  12. MrTeal

    MrTeal Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    49
    I would say no. I have a separate worker for each computer but all the cards in the same rig use the same worker.
     
  13. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,120
    Likes Received:
    39
    825MH/s!!???

    From a single 7970? That's pretty darned good...is Bitminter (the miner that person is using) better suited for the 7 series cards? That card is at 1290 MHz core but still...I didn't think it could get that high!
     
  14. KompuKare

    KompuKare Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    60
    Well, okay that list (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison) is of course full of user supplied data. But if you look it up that's running at 1290 core and whoever supplied that data says their card is using 214W but unless they own a hardware review site and have something like this
    [​IMG]

    or
    [​IMG]

    I would say the power usage of their 7970 is more of a guess. Still plenty of 7970 samples in the mining hardware comparison which hit 700ish.
     
  15. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,120
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yea to me that power usage is a bit suspect since you would have to pump a decent amount of voltage to get 1290core from what I have read.

    More than that though I am amazed at the MH/s rate...maybe I should give bitminter a shot too.

    EDIT: Nvm about bitminter...it's some sort of browser/java based miner, and possibly for their own pool.
     
  16. MrTeal

    MrTeal Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    49
    It doesn't take much to measure the actual power draw of a card. Pretty much all my cards are on risers that have the 12V lines to the MB cut and rewired to a Molex connector. I do this so you don't overpower the MB 12V line with 5+ big cards, but it also makes it relatively trivial to measure the DC power draw of just the cards.
     
  17. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    I don't trust those power consumption #s. When I bumped my Vcore to 1.25V, the power consumption goes to 232W at just 1150mhz, up from 192.5W at 1150mhz @ 1.175V. I am having a hard time believing his card is using up just 214W of power at 1290mhz.

    Well it's just shaders and clocks at work here:

    HD6950 = 1408 SP * 800 mhz ~ 325 MHash/sec (Base = 1.0)
    HD6950 = 1536 SP * 880mhz ~ 390 Mhash/sec (1.2x faster shader speed)
    HD7970 1150mhz = 2048 SP * 1150mhz ~ 680 Mhash/sec (2.09x faster shader speed)
    HD7970 1290mhz = 2048 SP * 1290mhz ~ 762 Mhash/sec (2.35x faster)

    His Hashing rate also seems way too high based on the other known Mining shared pool applications.

    BTW, my 1-day average at MT.Red is now up to 0.3694 (7.7% faster than my fastest over at BTCGuild). Looks like I found my new mining pool! Thanks Despoiler :)
     
    #2667 RussianSensation, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  18. Binky

    Binky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    1
    Interesting on Mt. Red. I've been using bitparking, which is a super minimalistic pool that pays out in 5 different coins (most are close to worthless). Their payout is pretty good, but a tiny bit below Mt.Red.

    I also like that Mt.Red supports the Miner Status android app, but holy crap is it hard to find the API settings on the website.
     
  19. MrTeal

    MrTeal Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    49
    Are those numbers with full speed mem clocks? You'll see a pretty big drop running the mem down to 200.

    https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=87504.0

    The guy in the link is running 5 7970s @ 990MHz/180MHz, 1.03V and getting 2.9GH/s with 860W total system consumption at the wall.
     
  20. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    He is using 990mhz @ 1.03V. That's why. Increasing voltage from 1.175V to 1.256V increases my power consumption 42-43W alone! So think about him dropping his GPU clock to 990mhz and dropping voltages below 1.175V all the way to 1.03V. That's probably going to drop power consumption 40-50W+.

    I tried running the memory at 1375mhz and at 685mhz (the lowest it goes for me in MSI Afterburner Unofficial overclocking mode 2). There is only a 4-5W power consumption difference but performance is slightly worse with memory at that speed. Card temperature is unaffected for me running 685 or 1375mhz memory.

    I wonder if he used ATI Tray Tools to drop memory to 180 then?

    His throughput of 2.9GH/s for 5 cards means ~ 580Mhash or 17% slower than my card (680 Mhash) That would work out to almost 1.8-2 extra BTC/month or $14-16. The loss in 17% mining production isn't worth the savings of 40-50W of power per card in that case for me since my monthly electricity cost for ~200W is less than $20/month to begin with. That 17% speed increase actually almost pays for my monthly electricity cost to mine. ;)
     
    #2670 RussianSensation, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  21. netzz3d

    netzz3d Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    580mhash? 5870 could probably do that at $150 or less per card
     
  22. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    Not even close. 385-390 Mhash for a stock 5870 (990mhz * 2048 SP / 850mhz * 1600 SP = 49% faster than a 5870). 5870 cards are crappy overclockers too. Of course in terms of bank for the buck 2x 5870s for $300 are better than a single HD7970.
     
  23. MrTeal

    MrTeal Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yeah, those were more two separate thoughts; the question and a link with some numbers just for your reference.

    That reduction is really surprising. On my 6970s I see a 65W drop for two cards when I got from 1200MHz to 200MHz, with no decrease in hash rate. I see the same results on my 5970s, as well.
    The later SDKs are known to be poorer performers, so maybe that has something to do with it.
    The later SDKs are know
     
  24. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    It's not a lot but it's there. Yup, my unlocked 6950 card had no effect on dropping memory clocks from 1375mhz, but my 7970 definitely does (using the same client version).

    685mhz memory = 676.6 Mhash
    1375 memory = 680.4
    1800 memory = 681.9

    What are you using to drop memory clocks to 200mhz, ATI Tray Tools?
     
    #2674 RussianSensation, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  25. Chiropteran

    Chiropteran Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,811
    Likes Received:
    106
    I had my main wallet on a virtual machine, which somehow has become corrupt. I have a backup of the wallet.dat, but restoring my wallet has been trickier than expected. Joy.