CPCHardware:2nd gen AMD EPYC will have 64 cores, 256 Mo (!) L3, 8x DDR4-3200 and 128 PCIE-4 lines

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by csbin, Oct 31, 2017.

  1. CatMerc

    CatMerc Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    732
    If Zen 2 EPYC is based on some sort of interposer tech (EMIB, classic interposer, whatever), then die to die latency could effectively be on nearly the same level as intra die.
     
  2. scannall

    scannall Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    410
    You can't overclock Epyc at all. And you shouldn't be able to.
     
  3. raghu78

    raghu78 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,819
    Likes Received:
    1,000
    I don't see major changes to packaging tech with Zen 2. It will still be a MCM package. Zen 3 is likely to move to a chiplet based design with advanced packaging tech. SLIM by Amkor could be available by the 2020 timeframe and should be a good fit.

    https://www.amkor.com/go/technology/slim
     
  4. CatMerc

    CatMerc Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    732
    I'd consider it a viable possibility. Server part margins means they can afford to offer interposer packaged EPYC, even if they would cost more than EMIB.
     
  5. raghu78

    raghu78 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,819
    Likes Received:
    1,000
    Si Interposer based packaging is not a suitable choice as it suffers from yield and cost issues. I think AMD will not change packaging until Zen 3 arrives.
     
  6. Hans de Vries

    Hans de Vries Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    57
    This type of technology is already used now for Xilinx and NVidia HBM2 designs (The version of SPIL/ASE)
    http://www.semicontaiwan.org/en/sites/semicontaiwan.org/files/data16/docs/(3) 03_SPIL_Mike_3DIC forum_9082016.pdf
    It eliminates the TSV's through the silicon interposer. (see page 8 versus page 7)


    It is also possible to do decent size APU/GPU+HBM2 designs without any interposer or EMIB with newer fine line (2/2.5μm lines/spaces) organic substrates currently in High Volume Manufacturing. (ASE FOCoS)

    [​IMG]

    TSMC can produce larger substrates (max 830 mm2) starting Q1-2018 (InFO-oS)

    Much larger fine line organic substrates are in principle possible with Flat Panel lithography equipment. http://www.nikon.com/products/fpd/lineup/pdf/FX-68S_e.pdf
     
    #106 Hans de Vries, Nov 28, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2017
    .vodka, scannall, Ajay and 3 others like this.
  7. DrMrLordX

    DrMrLordX Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2000
    Messages:
    9,079
    Likes Received:
    922
    Can you at least OC the RAM, and in so doing raise IF speeds? Or does Epyc determine IF speeds differently?
     
  8. scannall

    scannall Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    410
    No. Never, ever ever on server parts. From either Intel or AMD. Servers are a different kind of beast. They typically run with very large amounts of ECC ram. Doing jobs that MUST have reliability and stability.
     
  9. DrMrLordX

    DrMrLordX Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2000
    Messages:
    9,079
    Likes Received:
    922
    So what's the maximum RAM speed supported by Epyc? Certainly you aren't stuck with DDR4-2133.
     
  10. raghu78

    raghu78 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,819
    Likes Received:
    1,000
    Excellent discussion with Lisa Su at Credit Suisse conference.

    http://phx.corporate-ir.net/phoenix.zhtml?c=74093&p=irol-eventDetails&EventId=5265650

    Lisa states a 5% market share expectation by end of 2018 in servers which imo is conservative. 2018 is the year of the revenue ramp according to Lisa Su. 2 more unannounced semi custom designs other than Atari which will launch in H2 2018. Zen 2 is more competitive than Zen according to Lisa. All in all very exciting times ahead for PC and server industry.
     
    lightmanek likes this.
  11. scannall

    scannall Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    410
    2666 on Epyc. 2400 or 2666 on Xeon's, depending on the series.
     
  12. amd6502

    amd6502 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    13
  13. Bondrewd

    Bondrewd Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    114
    AMD is in no position to say anything but the most conservative estimates possible.
    Because everyone, absolutely everyone loves bashing AMD for every mistake they make, ever.
     
    el etro likes this.
  14. krumme

    krumme Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,243
    Likes Received:
    993
    Bf1 issues 10 threads. And as Dan Baker feom oxide have shown new game model enables game beeing drivin without a main thread. High end stuff but its comming although it seems to drag on for years.
     
    amd6502 likes this.
  15. Bondrewd

    Bondrewd Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    114
    BF1 chokes 2/4 and 4/4 CPUs in MP.
    Most of the market is still 2/4 or 4/4 CPUs. That's the problem.
    It'll take at least one more gen of moarcoarz for market to move forward.
     
  16. dfk7677

    dfk7677 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    21
    BF1 MP loads 5 threads to ~100%, the rest barely load 1 more core.
     
    amd6502 likes this.
  17. IRobot23

    IRobot23 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Well with my RX 480 and R7 it loads 8 threads. To be more specific :
    8T = 20-90% , 6T = 50%+, 2T = 50%-
    8T = 0-5%

    Sometimes load of 16T is near or just over 50%.
     
    amd6502 and krumme like this.
  18. dfk7677

    dfk7677 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    21
    Try using process hacker to see how it really loads threads.
     
  19. IRobot23

    IRobot23 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    51

    Why? Its best threading that way. Performs really good.
     
    #119 IRobot23, Dec 5, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017
  20. dfk7677

    dfk7677 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    21
    Because threads change cores and core load cannot be accurately measured.

    You can try using affinity for each thread and will notice the same.
     
  21. IRobot23

    IRobot23 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Anyway, it performs really good.

    As far as I am aware it loads 1T per core. While Rianbow6Siege will load 40-50% per threads all 16 between 40-50% and there is almost no improvement over 4C/8T, no matter if you use 8C/8T vs 4C/8T almost no improvement.