Catalyst 13.1 Out Now (New 13.2 Beta Links 3,4&5)

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by jackstar7, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. RaistlinZ

    RaistlinZ Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    7,575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aren't the 13.2's supposed to drop this week?
     
  2. Homeles

    Homeles Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    By definition, 13.2 designates a February release. The "13" stands for the year 2013, the "2" stands for the second month.

    To quote David Baumman:
    To me, the launch date seems a bit ambiguous. He said this on the 18th over at Beyond3D.
     
    #202 Homeles, Jan 24, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013
  3. raasco

    raasco Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes. It happens without any programs running in the background.
     
  4. DiogoDX

    DiogoDX Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    This nomenclature is used only for official drivers. Betas may arrive before such as 12.11 beta arrived in October.
     
  5. Red Hawk

    Red Hawk Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    17
    That's happened to me before.

    Anyone else getting interface corruption in Firefox?
     
  6. Dstoop

    Dstoop Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    No interface corruption in firefox, but the black screen issue seems to only happen on the last few PCs I purchased at work. All of them have AMD 5450's in them and since they're barely three months old, they probably have later drivers on them.

    My money is on another AMD driver bug, at least this one is pretty benign.
     
  7. pwoz

    pwoz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have gotten this. I also get weird issues on jigzone.com with the new drivers, but only in Firefox. When I drag the pieces around they leave a trail of bits. Hard to do a puzzle like that. Seems fine otherwise, though.
     
  8. Falcan

    Falcan Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I try to update to the 13.1 Drivers from 12.10, the installer says everything went ok, but when I reboot the drivers are not detected. Anyone else had this problem? I tried a few different times and then had to go back to 12.10.
     
  9. Spideyknight

    Spideyknight Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    A similar thing happens to me. Says Stand VGA, instead of Radeon 7900 series. I assumed it was due to a BIOS issue since I updated my BIOS yesterday and I hadn't had the problem before. I have a ASUS Z77 Sabertooth mobo with a radeon hd 7970 ghz edition. Updating from BIOS 1504 to 1805. It's a brand new system so I didn't have any drivers on there prior to installing the 13.1 drivers.
     
  10. DiogoDX

    DiogoDX Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
    New beta:

    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst132BetaDriver.aspx
     
  11. Dstoop

    Dstoop Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey look, exactly what we've been waiting for, and what we've had multiple threads about. I'm excited to give them a shot tonight. I'd love to know what they narrowed down to be the cause.
     
  12. jackstar7

    jackstar7 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,222
    Likes Received:
    7
    Added Beta link (and credit) to OP.
     
  13. buklau

    buklau Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will install the latest 13.2 beta3 when I get off work today. Hopefully that will resolve dx9.0c flicker problems. *finger-crossed :hmm:
     
  14. MTDEW

    MTDEW Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    4,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Anyone know if you're supposed to run any CAPs along with these? (the new 13.2 beta 3's)
     
  15. DiogoDX

    DiogoDX Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. MTDEW

    MTDEW Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    4,222
    Likes Received:
    4
  17. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installed the driver and played Skyrim for about 10 minutes without a limiter.... Game seemed very smooth. Guess after over a year they finally fixed it...
     
  18. Face2Face

    Face2Face Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    5
    Can't wait to count out your coin... I mean give these a try on Skyrim and GTA 4.
     
  19. Black Octagon

    Black Octagon Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Without a limiter you say? Does that mean that you are running Crossfire?
     
  20. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't updated my sig in a while. I'm only only a single 7970
     
  21. Red Hawk

    Red Hawk Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes!

    Exactly. I'm excited to try these out, given that they claim to specifically address DX9 flickering. Don't let me down, AMD!

    The stuttering fix should be nice also; I was playing Skyrim the other day and I could feel the stuttering ever so slightly.
     
  22. Dankk

    Dankk Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Regarding installation procedure: Is it safe to simply install 13.2 beta on top of 13.1?
     
  23. Red Hawk

    Red Hawk Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    17
    IIRC last time I tried installing a beta over a WHQL driver (a year or two ago) it didn't detect the beta drivers as being new. I've done clean installs of beta drivers ever since.

    First impression: texture flickering in Mass Effect 2 appears reduced. There's still some noticeable flickering, but ME2 has always had a z-fighting issue in certain areas even when I played it on a 5770 and a 9800 GT; the 7000 series flickering issue seemed to amplify it. I have yet to test other areas.
     
  24. Rvenger

    Rvenger Elite Member <br> Super Moderator <br> Video Cards
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does this driver have the memory rewrite?
     
  25. Red Hawk

    Red Hawk Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    17
    Does not appear so.