Can anyone from PA give me ticket advice

Rebasxer

Golden Member
Apr 10, 2005
So I'm a PA resident and just got a ticket in MD. 93 in a 55. I'm worried that the points will transfer and I'll lose my license. Do the points from MD transfer to PA?

amdhunter

Lifer
May 19, 2003
You cant get points from a state different than your own. BUT, some insurance companies carry their own points systems and can screw you anyway.

BigJ

Lifer
Nov 18, 2001
Originally posted by: amdhunter
You cant get points from a state different than your own. BUT, some insurance companies carry their own points systems and can screw you anyway.

Wrong. New Jersey is one such state that will give you points for OOS violations. In NY, it's only for Quebec and Ontario (yes, in Canada you can get points on your NYS license).

I don't believe there is reciprocity for your state driving record. Your insurance is going to probably find out about it.

LikeLinus

Lifer
Jul 25, 2001

Really? Never listen to the idiots on ATOT.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Driver_License_Compact

All states are members except for Michigan, Wisconsin, Georgia, Tennessee (dropped out in 1997), and Massachusetts

The Drivers License Compact require member states to report tickets received by motorist to the state where they received a license to drive so as to receive points and get an insurance hike. Also when a state suspends the license of a driver who is from out-of-state, the state where the motorist received a license to drive will also suspend their license.

SmoochyTX

Lifer
Apr 19, 2003
Don't speed?

ETA - It's not that I don't speed. But 93 in a 55 is pretty bad. You were asking for it.

ultimatebob

Lifer
Jul 1, 2001
Originally posted by: LikeLinus

All states are members except for Michigan, Wisconsin, Georgia, Tennessee (dropped out in 1997), and Massachusetts