BF3 CPU bottleneck? Really?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by moonbogg, May 31, 2012.

  1. SickBeast

    SickBeast Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Messages:
    14,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have any of you found a solution to the CPU bottleneck? I'm experiencing it as well. Here are my settings/rig:

    1080p
    2500k @ 4.4ghz
    7850 crossfire at 1180mhz
    BF3 set to ultra mode with 4xAA

    *edit* it turns out that by disabling crossfire I'm now pegged at 60fps even on large multiplayer maps.

    *edit #2* I updated to the 12.9 beta cats and it's fixed. One of my GPUs might have been clocked at 525mhz as well which I have also fixed. I'm now getting excellent performance.
     
    #226 SickBeast, Sep 29, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2012
  2. Arkaign

    Arkaign Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure why, but I have absolutely zero performance issues with BF3 @ 1920x1200 w/2500K @ 4.5

    I can hit 4.8-5.0 with higher voltage, but it doesn't seem worth it to me.

    Rest :

    16GB DDR3-1866, 2GB 670 FTW, 256GB Vertex 4, Asus Z68 Pro, etc.

    The only things I turn down I believe are shadows a notch, and AA a little bit. Leave HBAO on, everything else maxed, solid ~60FPS with Vsync on (I freaking hate tearing). All together works well, good enough to maintain a 3+ KDR at least, which is decent enough for a non-flier.
     
  3. SickBeast

    SickBeast Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Messages:
    14,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    It must be the glasses.
     
  4. Arkaign

    Arkaign Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D
     
  5. moonbogg

    moonbogg Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    8,458
    Likes Received:
    66
    There really never was an "issue". It was more of an annoyance that people were seeing their dual card setups not getting full usage. It is due to a CPU bottleneck. Performance is great anyways.
     
  6. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Back from the dead this thread goes.:D

    While back,my 3770k system was stolen and just this week i have configured basically the finishing touchs on this new build with some interesting numbers.

    System has a i5 2500 non k,a evga gtx670 8gb of ram and a 180 ssd.

    Tried out a empty Gulf of Oman server using a 17'' 144x900 monitor,settings all maxed as well as vsync enabled with interesting results.....

    I have found on top of the towers and big buildings,gpu usage would be in the 80-96% range but for the most part i was holding 60fps .

    I actually had to enable vsync cause my cpu kept loading well over 80% usage on all the cores and it caused some major stuttering for some reason only killing msaa would fix,or enabling vsync would fix.....
     
  7. TheUnk

    TheUnk Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    VSync in an FPS? ewww

    ~
    GameTime.MaxVariableFPS 60
     
  8. Makaveli

    Makaveli Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmm yes not everyone likes playing with image tearing.

    Don't be like that other guy I talked to in CS go who told me he was getting 300fps with vsnyc off and was not getting any image tearing and he actually expected me to believe him.

    I understand in some games it not as noticeable but on a fps with fast movement that is where I see image tearing the most.
     
  9. TheUnk

    TheUnk Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't the tearing mostly occur when FPS is above your display Hz? So at a solid 60fps there is rarely any tearing to be seen?
     
  10. SPBHM

    SPBHM Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    9
    tearing vs lower input latency,
    I prefer lower input latency...
    also there are a lot of variables, I play without vsync and in many games tearing is far less noticeable
     
  11. Makaveli

    Makaveli Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,832
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes it does occur when your fps is above your hz.

    But how many new games do you get 60fps solid across all of the maps.

    So that would be 60fps avg,max,minimum.

    When I start playing borderlands 2 with vsync off I notice image tearing right away.

    ON CS its not as obvious but I still see it.


    It was never a question about input latency vs tearing. Most people would take tearing over input lag!

    And I agree it seems to vary on a game to game basis.
     
    #236 Makaveli, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  12. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only enabled vsync cause when it was not enabled i was dipping into the 40fps range at some random points,despite low gpu usage which indicated a cpu bottleneck.

    Enabling vsync in my case dropped cpu load,turned the stuttering mess into silky smooth gameplay but i have found some situations where a gtx670 at 1440x900 can still dip as low as 54fps....when this happens theres a much higher cpu load,low gpu usage and the apparent stutter suggesting i need more cpu power.

    Will be jumping ship and getting a 1080p monitor when my gf gets this monitor after her tower is built in a few months,but damn i'm blown away by the experience still i am seeing at 1440x900 with such high end hardware.
     
  13. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will try this option out,see if there is any difference between nvidia vsync and this command.
     
  14. AdamK47

    AdamK47 Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    12,004
    Likes Received:
    32
    Screen tearing in an FPS? ewww

    ~
    RenderDevice.VSyncEnable true
     
  15. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried both the mentioned options,no difference from what i saw.

    On another note,i toyed around a bit on the gulf of oman map again,same settings as before and i saw it dip into the 40s still on a 64 player server.

    I decided to drop the settings all the way to low 1024x768 and i saw basically the same results as i did at 1440x900 ultra indicating and proving the evidence of a bottleneck.

    Might just believe pulling a minimum of 60 fps in this game is impossible right now with current generation hardware at basically any resolution under the sun.

    Two gtx670s can hit into the 50s still with a oced 3930k at 1080p, i will assume that would be the case with a single gtx670 even as low as 1024x768.
     
  16. Rvenger

    Rvenger Elite Member <br> Super Moderator <br> Video Cards
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,292
    Likes Received:
    4

    My OC'd 2500k would dip in the mid 50's on gulf of omen at any resolution.
     
  17. fugtigkost

    fugtigkost Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. UaVaj

    UaVaj Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    medium setting gives me headache from all the jagged edges. :D

    lol.
     
  19. Fx1

    Fx1 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is no CPU bottleneck going on. yall are wrong .

    His CPU is fine. Its just that if you want that b2k map to be fast, grab a 690 GTX I promise you 60fps and dips in 50's c. Also your cpu is fine but see if you can OC it to 4.6Ghz at least.. gl
     
  21. bunnyfubbles

    bunnyfubbles Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    12,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    input lag far worse than any sort of screen tearing

    vsync is for casuals
     
  22. InsaneAdam

    InsaneAdam Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting a 3820 sb-e in the mail today or tomorrow. Plan on overclocking to 4.7- 4.8 maybe more if it's stable. Will this be enough cpu power to handle bf3 64 player?


    Posted from Anandtech.com App for Android
     
  23. 2is

    2is Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,998
    Likes Received:
    12
    What do you think?
     
  24. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    My old h61+i5 2500 non k could handle this game with a single gtx670,going to a 3930k@4ghz only netted me a much faster loading time,tad bit smoother gameplay but not enough to warrant suggesting as a must have for the game.

    You could leave that 3820 at stock and i bet with a single gpu,you won't even notice a difference besides a slightly faster loading time.

    Honestly was thinking today that by the time people can max this game out hardware wise all the way and sustain 60fps at all times,that most people will be playing BF4 struggling as much as they did prior with BF3.
     
    #249 skipsneeky2, Jan 8, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
  25. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    0
    This^

    V-sync is only off for benchmarks.
     
Loading...