• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

AMD Ryzen 3000 Builders Thread

Page 107 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
990
287
96
@mopardude87

And additional thought:

Comet Lake-S isn't the only part coming out this year. Vermeer is coming, hopefully in July but maybe not until October. It should be a substantial upgrade over Matisse.
That's been crossing my mind but if it ends up being THAT good,i will have a reason to at least upgrade my friends who need it BADLY then in turn my htpc which finally gets proper upgrade. I love passing my stuff to other friends and family in need, no such thing as wasted money when it comes to upgrades for me. My friend STILL using my 2011 purchased 2500k. She needs the 7700k BADLY. HTPC getting facelift as you will see, built to keep kitties safe as i lost panels. Functional but its gonna be replaced with idk what yet. Other rig is my friends, she wants it back in room has trouble sitting that far back and reading things when she games.



Yeah upgrades for everyone if i do this simple upgrade. :) Hyped as all get out all i can say.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Elfear

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
990
287
96
Love the cardboard and ducttape look. Stylish.
Was that or no case at all, i care mainly for function first then style later. Idk will prob trash it the second i could pick up a new one which is on my list. :) Very temp but thought it was funny to share.
 

Noid

Platinum Member
Sep 20, 2000
2,095
12
81
AMD Chipset Drivers
Revision Number 2.03.12.0657
File Size 50 MB
Release Date 3/19/2020

Driver Details
Supports:
Windows® 7/10 for
2nd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Desktop Processor
7th-Gen AMD A-Series Processors
AMD Ryzen™ Desktop Processor
AMD X470 Chipset
AMD X370 Chipset
AMD B450 Chipset
AMD B350 Chipset
AMD A320 Chipset
Windows® 10 only for
3rd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ Processors
3rd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Desktop Processor
2nd Gen AMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ Processor
AMD Ryzen™ Threadripper™ Processor
AMD Ryzen™ Desktop Processor with Radeon™ Graphics
AMD Ryzen™ Mobile Processor with Radeon™ Graphics
AMD X399 Chipset
AMD X570 Chipset
AMD TRX40 Chipset
Package Includes:
AMD Chipset Drivers
AMD Ryzen™ Power Plans (required for UEFI CPPC2 in Windows® 10 May 2019 Update)


AMD Software Release Notes ver. 2.03.12.657

Package Contents and Compatible Operating Systems

This Software package contains various independent drivers (Column 1) designed to support the following Microsoft® Windows® platforms (Column 2). Operating System support may vary depending on your specific AMD product

Driver Name OS Supported Supported Version
AMD Ryzen Power Plan Windows 10 5.0.0.0
AMD PCI Device Driver Windows 10 1.0.0.76
Windows 7 1.0.0.67
AMD I2C Driver Windows 10 1.2.0.99
AMD UART Driver Windows 10 1.2.0.106
AMD GPIO2 Driver Windows 10 2.2.0.126
PT GPIO Driver Windows 10 2.0.1.0
AMD PSP Driver Windows 10 4.11.0.0
Windows 7 4.10.0.1
AMD IOV Driver Windows 10 1.2.0.47
Windows 7 1.2.0.43
AMD SMBUS Driver Windows 10 5.12.0.38
Windows 7 5.12.0.38
AMD AS4 ACPI Driver Windows 10 1.2.0.46
AMD SFH I2C Driver Windows 10 1.0.0.86
AMD USB Filter Driver Windows 10 2.1.11.304
Windows 7 2.0.10.287
AMD SFH Driver Windows 10 1.0.0.300
AMD CIR Driver Windows 10 3.2.4.135
Windows 7 3.2.4.110
AMD MicroPEP Driver Windows 10 1.0.25.0
AMD USB 3.0 Driver for ZP Windows 7 2.0.0.60
PT USB 3.1 Driver Windows 7 1.0.5.3
AMD USB Driver for Hudson Windows 7 1.1.0.276
AMD SATA Driver Windows 7 1.2.1.402
AMD USB 3.1 Driver Windows 7 1.0.0.12
 
Last edited:

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,580
618
126
Is anyone actually using the 'Ryzen Power Plan' on their system(s)? I haven't been installing it...
 

EXCellR8

Diamond Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,580
618
126
this latest package won't install for me, just errors out... 1720 script cannot be run or something.
 

tracerbullet

Golden Member
Feb 22, 2001
1,659
17
81
Is anyone actually using the 'Ryzen Power Plan' on their system(s)? I haven't been installing it...
I had it running about 2 months ago and it caused my system to not "sleep" correctly - more often than not the system wouldn't turn back on. When I went back to the Windows plan it worked fine.
 

Hans Gruber

Senior member
Dec 23, 2006
817
193
116
Need help. CPU-Z is showing my FSB:DRAM ratio of 3:56 instead of 1.1.6. Ryzen master shows coupled mode is on and my memory clock is 1867 and my Fabric Clock is 1867. It doesn't matter the Mhz of the ram the memory divider is not 1:1 no matter what frequency I put in. I reset my bios to default. No change and I flashed my CMOS and no change. '

What is going on here?
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
19,773
7,135
136
Need help. CPU-Z is showing my FSB:DRAM ratio of 3:56 instead of 1.1.6. Ryzen master shows coupled mode is on and my memory clock is 1867 and my Fabric Clock is 1867. It doesn't matter the Mhz of the ram the memory divider is not 1:1 no matter what frequency I put in. I reset my bios to default. No change and I flashed my CMOS and no change. '

What is going on here?
I would say CPUz is wrong. I trust Ryzen master than all others, since it was written by AMD.
 
  • Like
Reactions: scannall

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
14,592
3,553
136
Need help. CPU-Z is showing my FSB:DRAM ratio of 3:56 instead of 1.1
That's normal. It's not showing RAM:IF ratio, it's showing the RAM divider used to obtain the final RAM speed.

bclk = 100 MHz, so 100 * (56 /3) = ~1866 * 2 = ~3733

Those ratios are archaic and mostly useless. It hearkens back to the days when your DRAM speed was determined by a ratio applied against FSB (or htt/bclk on HT-based AMD rigs).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Makaveli and Campy

Hans Gruber

Senior member
Dec 23, 2006
817
193
116
That's normal. It's not showing RAM:IF ratio, it's showing the RAM divider used to obtain the final RAM speed.

bclk = 100 MHz, so 100 * (56 /3) = ~1866 * 2 = ~3733

Those ratios are archaic and mostly useless. It hearkens back to the days when your DRAM speed was determined by a ratio applied against FSB (or htt/bclk on HT-based AMD rigs).
Ok, back to good. Next question. On MSI motherboards they have LLC and it starts at auto and goes from Mode 1 all the way up to Mode 7 or 8. Right now I am on Mode 2. What is the best mode for LLC? I just finished Cinebench R20 with a score of just under 3700 with 4100mhz. I am working on stability again with my Ryzen rig.

I also cranked up my memory to 3800mhz again. Doing stability testing. My LLC was set to auto and that was probably the problem. Ryzen master showed all cores @ 4100mhz while doing Cinebench.

MSI uses the term mode for LLC levels. Other brands use Level 1, Level 2 etc. Which level is a safe level?

I was able to lower my Vcore to 1.37v which is 1.36v in CPU-Z. I am using override mode. PBO anything is pure garbage. I did PBO, PBO 200+ with Auto OC and it was junk. Manual OC works much better.
 

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
14,592
3,553
136
Ok, back to good. Next question. On MSI motherboards they have LLC and it starts at auto and goes from Mode 1 all the way up to Mode 7 or 8. Right now I am on Mode 2. What is the best mode for LLC? I just finished Cinebench R20 with a score of just under 3700 with 4100mhz. I am working on stability again with my Ryzen rig.
My 3900x likes vdroop in MT workloads for default operation. If you go to Mode 1 (which should be the lowest), it may give you some of your best MT scores, especially if you throw in a negative voltage offset for good measure. Or you may get clock stretching. It will lower ST scores by a tad in anything that uses less than ~3 threads though. For true ST workloads, it isn't the way to go. But almost nothing I run is stuck on one thread so I do not care.

Going from bone stock to bone stock + LLC Level 1/LLC Off + -.1v offset got me at least +300 points in CBR20 MT. I've actually gone as high as 7600 once, but normally I turn in a score of around 7400.
 

Hans Gruber

Senior member
Dec 23, 2006
817
193
116
My 3900x likes vdroop in MT workloads for default operation. If you go to Mode 1 (which should be the lowest), it may give you some of your best MT scores, especially if you throw in a negative voltage offset for good measure. Or you may get clock stretching. It will lower ST scores by a tad in anything that uses less than ~3 threads though. For true ST workloads, it isn't the way to go. But almost nothing I run is stuck on one thread so I do not care.

Going from bone stock to bone stock + LLC Level 1/LLC Off + -.1v offset got me at least +300 points in CBR20 MT. I've actually gone as high as 7600 once, but normally I turn in a score of around 7400.
I don't care if I wreck this piece of hardware. I am at LLC Level 3. MSI calls them Mode from 1-8. I am on Mode 1 for NB/SOC. I got a Cinebench R20 score of 3753 and a single core score of 480. I have my ram running 16-19-19-19-38-60 1.39v @ 3800mhz on a B350 motherboard. I think I will settle for 4100mhz all core. I have been using RyzenMaster to monitor everything in between tweaks. I had my vcore as low as 1.3625 but will probably do 1.375v

PBO sucks. I also loaded the latest AMD chipset drivers from a few days ago. I don't see any difference. I think manually OCing is the way to go. The PBO plus 200 and Auto OC did nothing but raise the voltage to 1.44v. It had a 1.4v settings and a 1.39v setting. All cores were 3950mhz regardless.

I will give the offset suggestion a try. What is weird. My system was running quite stable @ 4200mhz non stop. Something changed so I have to adjust things. I don't know if it was a Windows 10 upgrade or the last AMD chipset drivers. This is a new chip. The silicon is not degrading from age. It's been under a 240mm AIO since day one with Arctic Silver 5. Ryzen Master says max temps during Cinebench are 68-71C max.
 

Hans Gruber

Senior member
Dec 23, 2006
817
193
116
I don't care if I wreck this piece of hardware. I am at LLC Level 3. MSI calls them Mode from 1-8. I am on Mode 1 for NB/SOC. I got a Cinebench R20 score of 3753 and a single core score of 480. I have my ram running 16-19-19-19-38-60 1.39v @ 3800mhz on a B350 motherboard. I think I will settle for 4100mhz all core. I have been using RyzenMaster to monitor everything in between tweaks. I had my vcore as low as 1.3625 but will probably do 1.375v

PBO sucks. I also loaded the latest AMD chipset drivers from a few days ago. I don't see any difference. I think manually OCing is the way to go. The PBO plus 200 and Auto OC did nothing but raise the voltage to 1.44v. It had a 1.4v settings and a 1.39v setting. All cores were 3950mhz regardless.

I will give the offset suggestion a try. What is weird. My system was running quite stable @ 4200mhz non stop. Something changed so I have to adjust things. I don't know if it was a Windows 10 upgrade or the last AMD chipset drivers. This is a new chip. The silicon is not degrading from age. It's been under a 240mm AIO since day one with Arctic Silver 5. Ryzen Master says max temps during Cinebench are 68-71C max.
The 3800mhz on the ram didn't work out. There is this ghost in the machine effect. Lag that lasts a second or two for no reason. Then a random shutdown. Lowering the memory down to 3733mhz seems to clear that issue up. I try again and again 3800mhz but my chipset says can't do it.

I took your advice (DrMrLordX) and put in a negative offset of 475mV. It looks promising. I may try to dial in 4200mhz again but I am pretty solid on 4100mhz @ 1.36v.
 
Last edited:

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
990
287
96
Anyone know how a 3700x will pair with silver based Trident z Royal 3200mhz 2x8gb sticks ram in like a X570 Aurus Pro Wifi Gigabyte? Also thinking i may ditch the stock oem reference for something like this. Between new CM H500P Mesh, going full on rgb on my current build. Replacing a very dated Antec 900. Been using it off and on since 2006, gonna miss it :( This cooler worth it over stock? I got no issues maxing out the rpm of the stock if it keeps it at a reasonable temp.

 
Last edited:

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
14,592
3,553
136
@mopardude87

If you're willing to hand-tune your RAM using Ryzen Memory Calculator, I would recommend some newer e-die RAM instead of anything DDR4-3200 with the Trident-Z label on it. Get these sticks:


If you insist on Trident Z Royal for the looks, be my guest. But DDR4-3200 CAS16 is pretty pedestrian in 2020.

As for that HSF, I can't really vouch for the performance of that thing. It's only got four heatpipes. Wraith Prism has six.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mopardude87

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
990
287
96
@mopardude87

If you're willing to hand-tune your RAM using Ryzen Memory Calculator, I would recommend some newer e-die RAM instead of anything DDR4-3200 with the Trident-Z label on it. Get these sticks:


If you insist on Trident Z Royal for the looks, be my guest. But DDR4-3200 CAS16 is pretty pedestrian in 2020.

As for that HSF, I can't really vouch for the performance of that thing. It's only got four heatpipes. Wraith Prism has six.
That ram you linked looks nice :) i will prob go with that and B450 Tomahawk Max. I saw some cl 14 b side i think too i forgot the name it was $125 and was 3200mhz. Also confirmed from various forum and youtube posts to work with the Max too. Maybe not on this since its only 16gb.As far as cooler,i will stick with stock and max out the rpm,i rather that then spend $80+ right now on a cooler. No good timing on rgb ram? Like any cl 14/15?

 
Last edited:

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
14,592
3,553
136
i may get 3600 ram actually the more i think about it.
Thing is, you really don't have to. There's lots of DDR4-3000 kits out there that can do DDR4-3600 or close to it. It's not guaranteed, but for the price it's worth a shot.

edit: Samsung b-die is long out of production, so the price on it is probably not going to be great. I wouldn't chase it at this point unless you need/want some insane top bin.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mopardude87

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
990
287
96
Thing is, you really don't have to. There's lots of DDR4-3000 kits out there that can do DDR4-3600 or close to it. It's not guaranteed, but for the price it's worth a shot.

edit: Samsung b-die is long out of production, so the price on it is probably not going to be great. I wouldn't chase it at this point unless you need/want some insane top bin.
Yeah i do want top bin, also knowing it works with the Max helps me sleep better at night too. I know Ryzen and ram be a big issue from board to board. Took me quite a while to settle on that ram. Just thought about some rgb bling but yeah i can go without that for mobo/ram . Never really ever use more then 10gb ever even when i game and that was with BF5 open, i would be amazed if 16 is a issue before ps6 gen is out. By then its a upgrade to 32gb ddr5?/x670/ 5000 series 24 thread chip maybe.
 
Last edited:

ASK THE COMMUNITY