3D Hardware/Software Check

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by Stokes, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. Stokes

    Stokes Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I'm having issues playing a 3D Blu-ray on my HTPC. Here are my specs:

    Intel i5 2.67Ghz
    4GB Ram
    ATI HD 5670 512MB (HDMI)
    Intel SSD for OS
    7200 RPM 1.5 TB HD for internal storage
    Lite-On 4x Blu-ray Drive

    Panasonic P65VT50 3D Plasma

    Total Media Theatre 5

    According to ATI's website, the HD 5xxx series can playback 3D movie content, but I am having zero luck. All the settings appear correct in the software and it will play Finding Nemo 3D in 2D. I'm not quite sure what I am doing wrong. I did read that some people talk about the video card needs to be at least a 6xxx series, but AMD's website says it can work this way.

    My current setup works great as an HTPC, streaming is fast and blu-ray playback looks amazing!

    What am I missing?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Hardware Software Check Forum Date
    What Blu-ray playback software are you using? Home Theater PCs Jan 28, 2017
    x265/HEVC Decoding - Min hardware Home Theater PCs Feb 28, 2016
    Plex setup with constant buffering on good hardware Home Theater PCs Aug 2, 2013
    miniITX linux playing netflix, which hardware? Home Theater PCs Jun 4, 2013
    Hardware needed for low cost HDDVR replacement Home Theater PCs Mar 31, 2013

  3. TastesLikeChicken

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Supposedly the 5xxx series only does checkerboard format in 3D. If you are expecting 3D with active glasses you will need to move to a capable 6xxx series card or an nVIDIA 4xx card, or higher.
     
  4. Stokes

    Stokes Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't really have a preference between the two makes. This looks like a decent card:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102958

    Is there a better choice? I need to check, but I think I need a low profile card because I don't have two slots spaces for a bigger card in the HTPC.
     
  5. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    no the HD 5xxx series is fine as i use a HD 5450 with a Acer H5360 3D projector with no problems. Your problem is the software your using. I recommend using PowerDVD for 3D Blu-ray playback
     
  6. Stokes

    Stokes Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both software are suppose to be fine.

    PowerDvD crashes on start up for me. The 3D test they provide also crashes. The standard Blu-Ray test goes just fine, so far their support has been horrendous.
     
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok have you tried the iZ3D drivers they work wonders
     
  8. Stokes

    Stokes Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wasn't familiar with them. Are you talking about this:

    http://www.iz3d.com/driver

    I clicked on the AMD HD3D product.
     
  9. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes that's it
     
  10. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,860
    Likes Received:
    71
    Now that's the spirit! I knew there was a reason I havent bought a blu ray player yet. I remember the days when I couldnt get a regular dvd to play to save my life. So irritating....
     
  11. NutBucket

    NutBucket Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2000
    Messages:
    25,007
    Likes Received:
    42
    And this is why I hate using PCs for DVD playback. I remember buying a Hollywood+ over a decade ago since there was some sort of mobo/bandwidth issue that wasn't allowing me to get smooth dvd playback from my P2. Nowadays, discs go in the PS3. Problem solved.
     
  12. Stokes

    Stokes Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I'm not really sure what output i'm suppose to set that software too. I tried setting it to iz3d monitor or the 120 hz 3d tv setting, but no change in what total media theatre plays. am I missing a setting?

    I don't quite fully understand this software, but it looks like it just converts the image to 3d. In a message post on their forums, someone mentions using another company, and thats what their software does.

    I'm tempted to try a HD 6 series and see what results I get.
     
    #11 Stokes, Dec 27, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2012
  13. Stokes

    Stokes Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    I upgraded to a 6670 card and my problem was solved without any changes.

    Also cyberlink's software no longer crashes either with the change.