• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

【Maxon】Cinebench R20 Benchmark Thread

Page 10 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,615
8,495
136
Some 3970x action!

@ what ghz was it peaking on during the run ? Interested compared to my Rome@2.6. I see it says 3.7, but is that what you are running it at ?
 

Fir

Senior member
Jan 15, 2010
456
174
116
I have the power limit capped at 600W in BIOS. It typically runs (everything) between 4.2 and 4.4! Custom liquid, CPU temp never goes higher than 50°C. I'd never try this on mid range cooling!

I'm using an Asus ROG Extreme II Zenith board, BIOS 0702. Alpha version on order, should be in hand any day now! That should come in handy for 3990X! ;)

Still slacking on RAM though, 14-14-14-14-35 @2666MHz. Will OC to 3000 with looser timings but isn't exactly stable. May try a 3200 kit but I desperately need to bump to 256GB so not too worried about speed.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
8,071
1,363
126
this one slightly lower:



Happy to report my temps are better though, CPU never went over 58c during the multi-core test :)
That can't be your true clockspeed during that run.

I'd guess around 4 GHz was the true clockspeed using my run as reference.

CBr20a.png

Here's what mine runs if I lock my 3700x to 4.25 GHz

CBr20_4250a.png
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,615
8,495
136
I have the power limit capped at 600W in BIOS. It typically runs (everything) between 4.2 and 4.4! Custom liquid, CPU temp never goes higher than 50°C. I'd never try this on mid range cooling!

I'm using an Asus ROG Extreme II Zenith board, BIOS 0702. Alpha version on order, should be in hand any day now! That should come in handy for 3990X! ;)

Still slacking on RAM though, 14-14-14-14-35 @2666MHz. Will OC to 3000 with looser timings but isn't exactly stable. May try a 3200 kit but I desperately need to bump to 256GB so not too worried about speed.
Well, thats a nice score for 32 cores. I will stick to 225 watt for my 64.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Fir and scannall

Fir

Senior member
Jan 15, 2010
456
174
116
I haven't measured the wattage from the wall. I do have a kill-a-watt but those aren't that accurate. However the outlets on the circuit feeding these systems do have the ability to be monitored with a high precision Dranetz instrumentation system that's NIST certified. :) I'm sure it's not drawing anywhere near 600W (just for the CPU) but that's a limit I set in the BIOS so boost hangs on longer since thermals are not going to be an issue whatsoever. I can only imagine what the 3990X is going to do especially if it can muster 4GHz on all 64 cores! :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

Fir

Senior member
Jan 15, 2010
456
174
116
Feel bad for the folks that paid for them! ;)
I tried to get people on the Epyc boat, but they are sold on Intel.
They just dismiss all proposals instantly without consideration of any merits simply because it has AMD.
SMH
 

mopardude87

Diamond Member
Oct 22, 2018
3,348
1,522
96
Little more down to Earth with my measily 1813 with a i5 8400t. Not bad for a passively cooled 3ghz all core boost 6 core?

The love for such a chip is in its passively cooled results. Can't get the thing YET to break 50cel on any load so far. That is of course on the second core which runs a few degrees warmer then the rest.

Was gonna put the 8400t into a htpc build, but since i am gaming again on my 4k tv my 1080ti clearly is the bottleneck again. If the games use 6 or less threads,the 8400t is still good enough for 60+ fps.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

Det0x

Senior member
Sep 11, 2014
380
277
136
To ask a silly question, how come you are getting a much better single core score than all the website/YouTube reviewers are getting?
I noticed that myself.. But i think it comes down to more mature drivers/bios compared to when the 3950x got released and benched by the reviewers.
And these CPU's really like cooling, so that's a big factor also.. (i was running my fans at 100% for this run)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tlh97 and CHADBOGA

HutchinsonJC

Senior member
Apr 15, 2007
425
158
126
@Det0x What all did you set in PBO? We are on the same motherboard and bios version.

I just did my first Cinebench run on my 3950x here a bit ago, with Ryzen Master Open, and noted that TDC was limiting me despite being right around 60C through the run. This is the first software I've run that pushed TDC to the limit, as I've mostly been playing with video encoding so far.

So I then went into the bios and raised PPT to 165 watts, TDC to 110A, and EDC to 170A. My results were 9143multi / 510 single with all 3 of these limits hovering at 99/100% in Ryzen Master on the multi run.
 

Det0x

Senior member
Sep 11, 2014
380
277
136
@Det0x What all did you set in PBO? We are on the same motherboard and bios version.

I just did my first Cinebench run on my 3950x here a bit ago, with Ryzen Master Open, and noted that TDC was limiting me despite being right around 60C through the run. This is the first software I've run that pushed TDC to the limit, as I've mostly been playing with video encoding so far.

So I then went into the bios and raised PPT to 165 watts, TDC to 110A, and EDC to 170A. My results were 9143multi / 510 single with all 3 of these limits hovering at 99/100% in Ryzen Master on the multi run.
Lets see if i can remember :)

Performance Enhancer: Level 3 (OC)
Core Performance Boost: Enabled
Precision Boost Overdrive: Enabled
Max CPU Boost Clock Override: +200mhz
CPU Current Capability: 140%

Ryzen master settings should look like this then:
ryzen master.png

Furthermore i have also tweaked my 32gigs ram settings/timings to 3666 14-14-14-22 -> https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/amd-ryzen-3000-builders-thread.2565687/page-104#post-40063121

After all that you just need good cooling :)

Do you have ryzen high performance powerplan for windows enabled ?
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: lightmanek

HutchinsonJC

Senior member
Apr 15, 2007
425
158
126
Looking at your Ryzen Master shot, it looks like you really gave her a lot of room to breath on PPT @ >4000 watts and TDC @ >4000 amps.

I'm surprised your EDC wasn't limiting your performance more at only 145A.

I'm on 16gigs of ram at 4266MHz with CAS 20. It's supposed to be CAS19, but for whatever reason it always boots at 20 and never asks me if this is ok and never crashes with the 19 setting. It's like it just ignores it and goes to 20. Anyway, I imagine cinebench is more sensitive to latency than bandwidth?

I'm on a 480mm rad custom water.

Power plan is ryzen performance.

I just increased PPT to 175 watts in PBO, and also TDC to 120A, and EDC to 180A and got a 9250 in Cinebench multi. Through most of the run, PPT and EDC were pegged at 100% and TDC was at 97%. I imagine if I increase these limits more, I'll score higher again, but I think I'm gonna look at RAM for a bit and see what I can come up with there.
 

Det0x

Senior member
Sep 11, 2014
380
277
136
Looking at your Ryzen Master shot, it looks like you really gave her a lot of room to breath on PPT @ >4000 watts and TDC @ >4000 amps.

I'm surprised your EDC wasn't limiting your performance more at only 145A.

I'm on 16gigs of ram at 4266MHz with CAS 20. It's supposed to be CAS19, but for whatever reason it always boots at 20 and never asks me if this is ok and never crashes with the 19 setting. It's like it just ignores it and goes to 20. Anyway, I imagine cinebench is more sensitive to latency than bandwidth?

I'm on a 480mm rad custom water.

Power plan is ryzen performance.

I just increased PPT to 175 watts in PBO, and also TDC to 120A, and EDC to 180A and got a 9250 in Cinebench multi. Through most of the run, PPT and EDC were pegged at 100% and TDC was at 97%. I imagine if I increase these limits more, I'll score higher again, but I think I'm gonna look at RAM for a bit and see what I can come up with there.
Geardown mode makes it CL20 instead of CL19 as u cant run odd numbers with it enabled..
Anyway you should turn down your memory speed and run it 1:1 with your infinity fabric as your loosing alot of performance (latency) by running it decoupled.
I suggest starting at ~3400 megatransfers and working your way up, to a maximum of 3800MT/s

There are alot of guides and videoes on how to tweak your ryzen memory on youtube if you need some pointers.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS