your nf2 vdd ??

Soulkeeper

Diamond Member
Nov 23, 2001
6,399
6
91
#1
just curious what you all are running
i have mine at 1.92 and still can't get 200fsb on my a7n8x 2.0 delux
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator and Elite Member
Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
20,773
27
126
#2
1.8vdd gets me 422DDR * 211mhz is max with E1L bios* smooth on a A3 chipset 75MRN-L, I haven't bothered updating to the bios with FSB support up to 250mhz because I'm happy with the performance for now, but I'll see what it's got come winter :)
 

Soulkeeper

Diamond Member
Nov 23, 2001
6,399
6
91
#3
Originally posted by: DAPUNISHER
1.8vdd gets me 422DDR * 211mhz is max with E1L bios* smooth on a A3 chipset 75MRN-L, I haven't bothered updating to the bios with FSB support up to 250mhz because I'm happy with the performance for now, but I'll see what it's got come winter :)
ok what is the E1L bios ?
is that the modded bios some guy on another forum made ?
what do you mean by "A3 chipset 75MRN-L" ???
also what motherboard do you have ?



 

leeperpsu

Senior member
Jul 10, 2003
201
0
0
#4
soulkeeper,

be careful how high you raise your Vdd.

if you don't have good active cooling on NB and some decent passive on southbridge, you might fry the chipset.

i've heard that 1.8-1.85 is the max before you could hurt something.

i''d leave it at 1.8, get new ram, try it, and if it doesn't work go to 1.85v
 

Soulkeeper

Diamond Member
Nov 23, 2001
6,399
6
91
#5
yeah if i'm not mistaken they are built on a .18u process similar and produced by the same people as nvidia's video card gpu's

i went to 1.92v but i had added extra cooling and had an 80mm fan on each chip; both sb and nb

the chips were still hovering around 28c
if i get over 195 the temp can reach as hi as 34
it was 36 at those speeds before i added sb cooling (before vdd mod at default voltage)

so i know my cooling was good

but i still couldn't hit 200fsb stable
 

leeperpsu

Senior member
Jul 10, 2003
201
0
0
#6
what cooling are you using on the chipset?
 
Jan 4, 2001
41,603
0
76
#7
1.82v on both of my 8RDA+ boards.
 

render

Platinum Member
Nov 15, 1999
2,816
0
0
#8
200fsb and 1.58v on my 8RDA+ board.
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator and Elite Member
Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
20,773
27
126
#9
The E1L bios is the stock bios, I have a Soltek Golden Flame IGP+MCP A3 chipset (C1/A1 chipset is the ultra400) NF2, the vdd adjustments are adjustable in the bios with the Solteks, and they released a new bios that has fsb adjustments through 250mhz for this board.
 
Jul 17, 2003
13,197
0
81
#10
I'm at 220 FSB on stock chipset voltage
 

cow123

Senior member
Apr 6, 2003
259
0
0
#11
Originally posted by: Soulkeeper
yeah if i'm not mistaken they are built on a .18u process similar and produced by the same people as nvidia's video card gpu's

i went to 1.92v but i had added extra cooling and had an 80mm fan on each chip; both sb and nb

the chips were still hovering around 28c
if i get over 195 the temp can reach as hi as 34
it was 36 at those speeds before i added sb cooling (before vdd mod at default voltage)

so i know my cooling was good

but i still couldn't hit 200fsb stable
i remember seeing somewhere that nvidia makes its nforce2 northbridges on a larger process than most chipset makers, at 0.35microns as opposed to 0.25microns for most

edit: thats why those northbridges are just so big!
 

Soulkeeper

Diamond Member
Nov 23, 2001
6,399
6
91
#14
Originally posted by: leeperpsu
what cooling are you using on the chipset?
i cut an aluminum heatsink to fit the sb and left the large passive heatsink on the nb just with as3
then i put an 80mm fan in front of each heatsink

my temps were around 28c but the system was still not stable


 

ahfung

Golden Member
Oct 20, 1999
1,418
0
0
#16
Vdd @ 1.57V stock voltage running 218MHz sync, limited by memory
 

pspada

Platinum Member
Dec 23, 2002
2,503
0
0
#17
8RDA+ @ 200fsb, stock voltage. Vantec CCB-A1C on the nb, stock hs on the sb, trimmed to fit.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS