XFX and questions about their RMA process

Deathawk

Jun 1, 2007
I'm interested in RMAing my XFX 7900GS (one of their "xtreme" versions, higher stock clocks at 525/775)

Anyway, I bought it from Newegg in an Open Box deal.

If I were to RMA this card to them, what card would I be getting in return, since I'm not sure if they produce these cards anymore.

Are there any fees I have to pay to RMA the card?

How long will it take before the replacement card gets to me?

When will I find out what card will be replacing my 7900GS? The day it gets to my door?

What do I exactly have to do before RMAing?

If I think of any more questions, I will post them! :)

Thanks in advance.

I did not register the card 30 days within purchasing it. Will this cause a lot of problems?

MegaVovaN

Diamond Member
May 20, 2005
I have no experience with XFX, but with Leadtek it went like this:

1. You will be getting a 7900gs, I've got three 6800GTs from Leadtek...
2. Only fee is you pay for shipping to them (You send card outta your own pocket)
3. It will take long. Took like 2 months/1 month with Leadtek
4. Yes, day it gets to your door.
5. Look up on web site what you have to do. I had to fill RMA form, email proof of purchase (screenshot of newegg invoice - available on newegg). They sent me RMA number and a US address to send video card to. I packed card, wrote RMA # on outside of the box and sent for $10.

edit: I never registered any card or other piece of hardware

Rugger

Nov 4, 1999
Just went through this very process... the wife's XFX 7900gs died.

1. Had to create an account on their support-site and go through some very basic troubleshooting until they determined that I should send it in.
2. Boxed it up and sent it in (my nickel)
3. They kept me updated on the status in their support site.
4. Roughly 24 hrs after they received it, they tested it and agreed that it was faulty.
5. New card was in the mail about 24 hours after that.