Xbox 360 not recognized by TV. Please, please help me.

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by LtPage1, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. LtPage1

    LtPage1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am so frustrated right now.

    It's a brand new 250GB Xbox. It works perfectly on other TVs, and on my computer monitor.
    The TV that's giving me so much trouble is a Samsung LN R-328W. It supports up to 720p/1080i.

    When I plug the Xbox in (exact same thing happens with both HDMI and component video cables), the TV does not recognize that anything is plugged in. It displays the same message I see if nothing is plugged into the inputs. I've tried restarted both the Xbox and the TV. I know the inputs on the TV work, they recognize other sources immediately. I've tried plugging the Xbox back into my computer monitor, changing the resolution (I've tried 720p, 640x480, everything), and then going back to the TV: Nothing.

    The controller flashes the same as it does if I don't have any video cables plugged into the Xbox.

    The worst part is that it worked fine when I first got it, but I've been using my computer monitor for the last few months, and now the TV won't recognize it at all.

    Cliffs:
    -New Xbox
    -Samsung R-328W
    -Neither TV nor Xbox recognizes that something is plugged in.
    -TV's inputs work with other sources, and the Xbox works with other displays.

    Help! I don't know what else to try, and Googling this has turned up nothing.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Xbox recognized Forum Date
    XBox One S problems with streaming Console Gaming Apr 12, 2017
    Xbox Spring Sale Console Gaming Apr 11, 2017
    Xbox Scorpio Variable Refresh FreeSync HDMI 2.1! Console Gaming Apr 11, 2017
    Dishonoured 2 on XBox One S Console Gaming Apr 3, 2017
    PS3 won't recognize discs. Console Gaming Mar 27, 2011

  3. smackababy

    smackababy Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    26,939
    Likes Received:
    64
    Is the Xbox (not sure on the new ones, but the older ones did this) flashing any kind of red lights indicating there is no output detected?
     
  4. LtPage1

    LtPage1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. Schfifty Five

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,779
    Likes Received:
    13
    Are there only 1 HDMI and Component inputs on your TV? If not, do the other HDMI/Component inputs work?
     
  6. LtPage1

    LtPage1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    There's only 1 HDMI; both component inputs work with my DVD player and cable.
     
  7. snoturtle

    snoturtle Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    1
  8. smackababy

    smackababy Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    26,939
    Likes Received:
    64
    Have you tried the HDMI cable with anything else? It could be bad. Otherwise, I'd try the reset thing then return the console (if you can).
     
  9. AstroManLuca

    AstroManLuca Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    15,629
    Likes Received:
    1
    Assuming you've already eliminated the TV, inputs, Xbox, and cable as problems, this is the only thing I can imagine working for you.

    Either that or some obscure hidden setting in your TV somewhere.
     
  10. Schfifty Five

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,779
    Likes Received:
    13
    And the xbox does not work either component inputs right?

    I would agree w/ the others about resetting your xbox. I have both xbox and PS3 and while I never had to do a reset w/ my xbox, whenever I switch TVs with my PS3, i normally have to do a reset for the video to display properly.
     
  11. sygyzy

    sygyzy Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2000
    Messages:
    14,001
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am pretty sure I know what's wrong. This is a tricky situation sort of like when a computer monitor complains that the resolution the graphics card wants to use is unsupported and refuses to display anything. Since it can't display anything, you can't go into windows and lower the resolution.

    The problem has to do with the little toggle switch on the 360 AV Dongle. You need to switch it to non-HDTV (I know I know, just try it). But to be sure, first hook it up to a different display and go into your Console Settings (using component). Change the display to non-HD. Then power off and try it on the Samsung.
     
  12. KentState

    KentState Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    34
    I know my XBox will not boot when connected with HDMI unless the input is selected. Maybe something odd were the tv won't show the input until it's on, but the Xbox won't turn on until the input is transmitting.

    Also, do you have an option on the tv to enable/disable inputs or have them only show if a device is connected? I know my Sony can do both.