Wrong chipset fitted to ASUS P8Z77-V LX?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by 512atx, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. 512atx

    512atx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it. First three characters are C4M.
     
  2. bankster55

    bankster55 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good. Thats all i wanted to know
    April 2012
    Which means Pegatron still made your mobo
    So that leaves out that issue
    I am stumped - how can this happen?
    Factory rejects?
    iBuyer crossflashed bios somehow?

    If you are still hooked up maybe you can make a screenshot of the device manager/system devices exactly like this:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. 512atx

    512atx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device Manager http://imgur.com/1Q6wZ

    CPU-Z (Ver 1.62.0 x64) http://imgur.com/AD6qd

    From Device Manager, if I try to manually install drivers (i.e., "Have Disk" point it to INF) you can see the only option when "Show compatible hardware" is checked vs. unchecked (everything in INF is an option when unchecked). Tried in and out of Safe Mode. I did not try selecting/forcing 7 Series drivers and clicking Next for fear of BSOD after reboot or some other non-optimal event.
    http://imgur.com/seffB
     
  4. bankster55

    bankster55 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, I see several errors
    This might be it - someone over there picked the wrong chipset .inf
    I am a bit surprised it went in
    And you have the MS generic PCI-PCI bridge instead of Intel MEI
    When you install i3770, it needs MEI 8 driver
    And if bios is not ME oprom V 8.0 PC wont even boot
    MEI V 8.X is backwards compatible with vers 7.XXXX (Sandy bridge) and ME oprom in bios 8.XXXX but ME/MEI vers 7 is not FOWARDS compatible with Ivy Bridge.
    And anytime you install a new IvyBr CPU you must do an unplugged PSU CMOS reset so the ME "drops". ( a "CPR" - CPU Parameter Reset))

    Do not send in mobo. We can fix this, but I wont have time to tell you what to do right at this moment. Maybe tomorrow.

    What ME is showing on MAIN bios page?
    Did you install Intel RST 11.5 +?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Edit:
    Then again, I'm not supposed to do their work for them.
    Was this thing advertised to be ready to go out the door, with O/S loaded and everything?
    Maybe best to RMA, under the 1% chance Southbridge is wrong
    Cant hurt anything - only lost time
    Its your call.
     
    #54 bankster55, Jan 4, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013
  5. SilentRunning

    SilentRunning Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what I suspect. I know one particular manufacturer who has ASUS build motherboards to their own specs. Of course they don't advertise what motherboard model is in their PC's.
     
  6. 512atx

    512atx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, system was supposed to come ready to run from iBuyPower, OS and drivers were preinstalled (drive probably imaged from some master they have?). Maybe they slapped in the mobo CD after image as well.

    I was not planning on packing the system up until after the weekend at the earliest (I finally received prepaid shipping label today). Part of me wants to just take off the SB heatsink and get the answers, but i imagine the thing is snapped in with those arrowhead fasteners that you have to clip/mangle to remove.

    you've provided great insight to this point and i understand completely if you don't want to mess with this any further. that said, i'm willing to try a few more small tricks to try and get this right.

    Yeah, i hope RMA would fix issue, unless the integrator is the problem. i'm actually sending the entire box back not just mobo and the ticket has instructions to check Device Manager for proper chipset family/series info prior to shipping back to me. still risky, i guess.

    to answer your questions:
    ME in BIOS says NA
    [​IMG]

    Intel RST 11.1.0.1006 installed.
    [​IMG]
    The driver download from ASUS appears to have both 11.1.0.1006 and 11.5.0.1207 in same .zip, but installer gravitates to 11.1.0.1006. ASUS page gives the impression the 11.5 is for Win 8. I can't find the Intel RST driver from the Intel site other than 8.9.0.1023 from 2009.


    I tried installing MEI 8.1.0.1263 obtained from ASUS page (no downloads available from Intel site for MEI?), but installer returns error dialogue "This computer does not meet minimum requirements for installing software" *sigh*

    edit: fixed image links
     
  7. bankster55

    bankster55 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, ASUS just started doing something screwey with the RST
    The 11.1 package is for Vista/XP
    and 11.5 pack is for Win 7/8 (RAID trim)

    Normally ME oprom N/A (not avail) means bad flash - bios ME partition corupted or incomplete
    And you cant install MEI driver to a mobo with no ME OPROM in bios.
    ASUS has an ME OPROM updater utility that sometimes fixes these issues.

    However so many things out of whack its going to take a whole start from scratch effort, including wiping HDD, maybe buying a new bios chip from ASUS E-Store $16, since you have no experience with all the flashing methods.
    http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=3885

    But its your PC, your money and your decision. I am not going to advise you one way or the other. I can see you slowly getting sucked into building your own after all.

    Edit:
    Heres all the drivers
    http://www.overclock.net/t/1248928/...ivers-bioses-overclocking-reviews-updated-1-4

    Edit 2:
    Hey, I just noticed that your BIOS MAIN page screenie shows B1 Soutbridge stepping
    Z77 is C1 stepping only - but even worse, the normal H67 SB is supposed to be B3.
    Yours may be some early review sample or a factory reject/overproduction (OEM)
    Tell them bozo's you want to see C1 stepping on ASUS bios main page, and an 8.XXXX ME. Warn if they cant do it you want your money back!! (compare with my screenie)
    Apparently these guys build a barely functional system and pray their customer doesnt try to "tweak" anything.

    [​IMG]
     
    #57 bankster55, Jan 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013
  8. 512atx

    512atx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will a "standard" BIOS flash fix the issue on the ME partition (in addition to updating overall BIOS)? That is, I should be able to have a go at flashing the BIOS using the tools from the ASUS page (bupdater v1.30 and v1502 BIOS file....BIOS files are .CAP now?)

    I saw the link to the thread where only the ME partition could be updated/flashed, but I might get myself in trouble there. not sure.
     
  9. cantholdanymore

    cantholdanymore Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know about how safe it is to flash the BIOS in your situation; but if you decide to do it the best way is through the BIOS utility and not from Windows. Clearing the non volatile memory in advance my also be a good idea
     
  10. bankster55

    bankster55 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    See, you are slowly sucking yourself into redoing what iBuyPower did.
    But after its all over, you still have some mixmash crap.
    Heres what I would do -
    RMA the machine, tell them you are entitled to a "normal enthusiast mobo"
    See what they send you back.
    (The fact they didnt even blink when you told them you had wrong chipset on mobo is a dead giveaway)
    If its still crap, I would face up to the fact I was screwed and move on - go to Amazon.com and plunk out $130 for a new Z77 V-LX and move on with your life - lesson learned.
    But I dont know what your financial situation is, of course.
    BTW how much did this thing cost anyway?


    Edit:
    And your safest way to get a working 1502 bios is to buy a new bios chip - (it comes with it) from ASUS and replace the old.
    $15 - five working day turnaround (Indiana)
    Bios chip only goes in one way
    Must gently straighten 8 legs
    Must lay flat - both ends touching socket
    After attempting first boot nothing will happen (but do it anyway)
    Shut down, unplug PSU >30 seconds, short cmos, unshort cmos, replug PSU, reboot to bios, reset bios options
    If you do decide to RMA you will have to put old back chip in.
     
    #60 bankster55, Jan 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013
  11. vailr

    vailr Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    14
    This French web site http://www.station-drivers.com
    has the most recent Intel RST drivers, that Intel's own public web site probably won't offer until some later point in time.
    However: the latest Intel RST version 11.7 errored out during installation on my Gigabyte Z77-UD5H board. Version 11.6 is working fine.
    Your motherboard bios needs to be properly updated, which would include a compatible MEI firmware. Only then, can the current version MEI driver also be installed.
     
  12. 512atx

    512atx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, starting to feel that way.

    Thank you bankster55, dave_the_nerd, cantholdanymore, virtuallarry, skipsneaky2, shintaiDK, Torn_Mind, and everyone who put some thought into this. i certainly appreciate your expertise and professionalism.

    i'll RMA the system, they claim it will take about two weeks after receipt, then i'm on a trip for work, but i'll get an update back on here with the outcome by mid-Feb hopefully.
     
  13. 512atx

    512atx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Vailr. I'll check it out.
     
  14. 512atx

    512atx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    UPDATE!

    Got the rig back a little sooner than expected. Checked the serial number on the mobo and it's different than before. So that's good. First three characters of SN are C5M. Close to previous board, but not the same batch I guess.

    Checked BIOS first. Like what I see in ME and Stepping fields.
    [​IMG]

    Move on to Device Manager. Again, pleased.
    [​IMG]

    Lastly, plug in the USB 3.0 External Hard drive that started this whole expedition; again, success!

    The iBuyPower tech actually called me before they shipped it back to me. I asked if they popped off the heat sink on the bad mobo to get an ID on which chip was on the board. I don't think he understood what I was getting at. He had a thick accent and just kept telling me they replaced the motherboard and it now shows Z77 in Windows.

    I suppose we'll never know. Thanks again everyone!
     
  15. bankster55

    bankster55 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    0
    What showed with your original mobo simply defies explanation.
    With all you went thru you prob could have built your own, and been ahead.
    Nice to know they did indeed replace the board wih another new unit.
    Thnx for update.