Wow, these prices are almost criminal.

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

jaggerwild

Sep 14, 2007
@OP you must have been ripped off by them to even post this, I smell hidden agenda, I'm certain a mod saw it......

New Egg gets here over night, NCIX sells stuff they don't have! Common sense tells me not to shop in a retailer for computer items, the dot coms have ruled for a long long time.

faxon

Platinum Member
May 23, 2008
Actually on a laptop I would always get at least a 2 year warranty, because you can't really fix that shit. So I would agree, you are an idiot for not getting an extended warranty, assuming that the original warranty was only one year.
i work in sales and i have to agree. most of the laptops out there MUST HAVE an extended warranty if you want any type of support for hardware failure besides memory and HDD outside of the first year. not buying one is a really stupid move if you use the laptop a ton. i see dozens of customers each day who say that their laptop broke after the first year but within 2-3, and most of them would have paid a LOT less for repairs if they had listened to the salesman and bought some form of extended coverage for their stuff. the trick is differentiating between the store offered warranties and the ones offered by the OEMs themselves, since some companies warranties are really bad, or they arent worth it, at least at first. i will admit that these extended warranties are a huge money maker, but there are companies which build their entire business model on having better support and services offered (EVGA and XFX to name 2), and they charge more for their cards to fund it. this is no different than paying extra for an extended warranty except for the fact that it's tacked onto the price of the card so you dont think about it as much.

slayernine

Jul 23, 2007
slayernine.com