WiFi router or wired router and AP

cloudbuster

Junior Member
Dec 2, 2013
20
0
66
I decided to keep it simple would only use QoS to help with bufferbloat.

But need more than the standard 4 LAN port on wifi routers.

Should I get a Ubiquiti Edgerouter 12 $250 and the Unifi nanoAP $179

or should I get the All in one with 6 to 8 LAN ports like:

Asus AC88U $230, AX88U $335, ROG AC5300 $270
Netgear X8 $290

Anyone know if QoS enable on any of those system is not gonna drop the output by like 40% which one should stay close to the ISP speed.

Thanks.
 

cloudbuster

Junior Member
Dec 2, 2013
20
0
66
Thanks,

Well I have two location at the moment that I would like to have WiFi points.

Location A where the IPS modem is.

And location B where I have a WiFi router.

Location A and B are connected by Ethernet about 90’ cable.

In location B I have a lot more item that can use Ethernet right now the router is full 4 ports.

In location A I have about 3 item to hardwire.

But we spend more time around location A as that is the family room.

Location B have the ASUS AC86U.

I guess I could move it to A and then get a switch with a AP but would the Ubiquiti AP be much better managing WiFi clients?

I would prefer the AP on location A is that is the case.
 

SamirD

Senior member
Jun 12, 2019
302
28
51
www.huntsvillecarscene.com
You can get 2 brand new unmanaged switches for about $30 shipped, and these would be your easiest, fastest, and most painless solution:

You could even get used ones if you can find them cheap on craiglist or your local thrift store. I pick up older routers for $5 and disable the wireless and just use the ethernet ports--just make sure they're gigabit if you want gigabit--a lot of older stuff might be just fast ethernet.
 

cloudbuster

Junior Member
Dec 2, 2013
20
0
66
Thanks,

I think I go this way and save some $$

So move the AC86U to location A?
ISP Modem to AC86U to trend switch to trend switch in location B.

Does that seem about right?
I would get the 8 port version to be safe.
 

SamirD

Senior member
Jun 12, 2019
302
28
51
www.huntsvillecarscene.com
I wouldn't move anything. Just connect the switches to the routers and connect and go on with your day. This is actually one of the simplest and quickest problems in networking to ever fix. And if you don't need 8 in the next year, just get 4-5 as the 8s cost more.
 

cloudbuster

Junior Member
Dec 2, 2013
20
0
66
Can I connect the switch to the ISP modem?
Location A is the Modem, Location B WiFi router.

But I need more Ethernet ports at both locations.

That why I thought I had to move the WiFi router to location A.
 

SamirD

Senior member
Jun 12, 2019
302
28
51
www.huntsvillecarscene.com
Can I connect the switch to the ISP modem?
Location A is the Modem, Location B WiFi router.

But I need more Ethernet ports at both locations.

That why I thought I had to move the WiFi router to location A.
Ah, I didn't get this at first, so yes:
ISP Modem-->AC86U-->trend switch-->trend switch

This will give you 4+8-3=9 at location A and 8-1=7 at location B. If you need more at B, you can move the switch from A to B or get a bigger switch or just add another one.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY