Why does a new router slow down my network?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by TheInternal, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. TheInternal

    TheInternal Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two machines running Windows 7 hooked up to my 1 gb switch. The switch is connected to my new router (which has WEP passworded N draft Wi-Fi wireless).

    What I don't understand is why Windows 7 is transferring data from one computer to the other so slowly, around 10 MB/sec at best.

    Is my router killing the benefit of my 1 gb switch?

    Is this a limitation of windows 7?

    I'm guessing I'm overlooking something simple/obvious, so any input is welcome.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - router slow network Forum Date
    Can an old router "slow down"? Networking Jul 22, 2016
    Slow down with old router used as a bridge. Please help. Networking Mar 30, 2016
    Wifi router 2.4Ghz band got super slow recently Networking Nov 21, 2014
    slowness accessing the local network using internet addresses through the router? Networking Nov 3, 2007
    XP slow down when Router added to network Networking Feb 12, 2003

  3. drebo

    drebo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7,043
    Likes Received:
    1
    You're overlooking the fact that with a consumer grade OS and consumer grade equipment, that's probably the best you're going to get.

    You can try enabling features like jumbo frames, etc, and using a protocol with less overhead, such as FTP. You might get better results that way.
     
  4. pukemon

    pukemon Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Although you didn't explicitly mention it, but I think we're assuming that your router does have a built-in gigabit switch, right?
     
  5. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    28,075
    Likes Received:
    49
    Or if the switch is separate from the Router give the computers temp static IPs and try it without a connection to the Router.

    Mediocre Giga switch with No special setting in the computers should yield about 25 to 35 MB/sec.

    Good consumer switch, with Optimized TCP/IP can go as high as this, http://www.ezlan.net/vista/Giga-Optimized

    The NICs in the above example are simple onboard Marvel.

    The switch is, http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16833156251

    Cables are regular Cat5e from Monoprice.
     
  6. Madwand1

    Madwand1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has nothing to do with your wired transfer speed, but you should avoid WEP if possible -- it has a severe performance penalty and is not actually secure.

    Sounds like one of your NICs might not be negotiating gigabit properly. Does your switch have color coding on the connections to indicate the link speed? Did you confirm that both ends are connecting at gigabit speed?

    If you are connecting at gigabit speed, the next question is whether the problem is at the network level or the file system / protocol level. For this, you can use iperf version 1.7 as follows:

    server: iperf -s
    client: iperf -c server -l 64k -t 15 -i 3 -r

    where server is the name or IP of the remote computer running iperf -s.

    You might need to enable the connections through firewalls to get this to work.

    As Jack said, you should be easily hitting 25 MB/s on very large files (small files could be slower). With W7, it could be much faster, but there are no guarantees and multiple possible points of failure/bottleneck. So no, W7 should not be a bottleneck, but as it's new, you could be running into a new issue, e.g. rushed NIC drivers which aren't properly tuned for performance. This sort of problem could show up in the iperf test, and be addressed via a driver update from the NIC chipset manufacturer.
     
  7. tranceport

    tranceport Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2000
    Messages:
    4,168
    Likes Received:
    1

    This would be one of my first troubleshooting steps.