Why can't ARM

todpod

Golden Member
Nov 10, 2001
make a desktop reference board for everyone to built to.

The reason I ask is. It appears to me that every ARM board needs its own custom OS. This includes the Raspberry PI and VIA board on Newegg. It would make sense to me to do to builtd a eco system for their chips. I do understand that their business is the embedded market and this probably won't happen from them. Maybe a group such as the PI people can do that, at least there would be a lowest common denominator to built off of, this would also allow the PI people to focus on the software not hardware, because everyone could built PI compatible boards. I think if a common reference point so that embedded user could use off the self board would benefit hobbyists as well.

So this is were i am coming from, I am a social worker not a computer professional. My first computer built was a 286-16 running DOS 4. I built a bunch of computer using chips like the 386sx and 486slc.. I kind of like the idea of having everything built in ready to go and then load up the OS. I would imagine the install for Ubuntu on ARM wouldn't look much different then x86 . I do intend to buy a PI for me and my son to play with.

BrightCandle

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
Arm is all about systems on a chip. They are not trying to make PC like combinable components but fully integrated systems within one piece of silicon. Whenever someone else is doing that final product and there no standards on how, ao its impossible to wrote drivers that will always work.

This is one reason I do not look forward to the day when PCs stop being made, the inability to choose hardware will be the day monopolies take over and kill all progress. Arm customers are all helping make things worse with each step towards smaller and more integrates.

todpod

Golden Member
Nov 10, 2001