Whom is still rocking an Athlon / Phenom II (even X6), or a Core2Duo/Quad? X58 users too.

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Atari2600

Senior member
Nov 22, 2016
677
92
106
#26
Just curious. I have a friend, still on Athlon II X4 that I gave him as an upgrade CPU... like years ago. :p (I guess he's happy with it still? Tried to upgrade him, have given him another machine, he hasn't used it yet.)

Anyone else still using something around this vintage, as their primary or as a daily-driver box? I figure I should include some X58 platform users in this too.

I still have my pair of Core2Quad PCs, assembled, and a couple of Phenom II X6 rigs, which I used a few months ago as mining GPU hosts.

Anyone still clinging to older technology? No need to give any reason.
1100T is still my main interactive machine.

Also have a Threadripper for heavy load work, but its running as a 2nd machine.


Have been debating whether to change the 1100T for either another TR or a 2700X, but really cannot justify the need for it right now.
 
May 19, 2011
11,958
170
126
#27
Just curious. I have a friend, still on Athlon II X4 that I gave him as an upgrade CPU... like years ago. :p (I guess he's happy with it still? Tried to upgrade him, have given him another machine, he hasn't used it yet.)

Anyone else still using something around this vintage, as their primary or as a daily-driver box? I figure I should include some X58 platform users in this too.

I still have my pair of Core2Quad PCs, assembled, and a couple of Phenom II X6 rigs, which I used a few months ago as mining GPU hosts.

Anyone still clinging to older technology? No need to give any reason.
I changed from a 960T to Haswell in 2015 (board quirks plus what I thought was a board fault that turned out to be a 750ti fault). I think all except one of my AM3 customers are still using their builds, though I've done a few Athlon II X2 upgrades: they're really starting to show their age!
 

EXCellR8

Platinum Member
Sep 1, 2010
2,706
29
126
#28
Oldest CPU being used for me is i7 920 on P6T deluxe v2... basically just a test mule for graphics cards and memory though. Still overclocks to 4ghz quite easily... gets hot however even under water.
 
Last edited:

LightningZ71

Senior member
Mar 10, 2017
230
3
76
#29
I still have a C2Q 8400 in a dell 780 with a 512GB spinner and 16GB of RAM that my wife uses on the daily for surfing, streaming, and running a vinyl cutting machine. Works just fine for everything that she uses it for. I even came a cross a great deal on a quick, low profile, 32GB USB stick that I stuck in a spare USB port that's running as a readyboost drive. I've been on it a few times over the last year and it seems to run just fine for non-gaming uses. I've got a couple of the same vintage systems (but HP units) that are also rocking 16GB of ram and C2Q 8400s with small SSDs that work just fine for their utility uses as well. I know they aren't going to be gaming beasts, but, I've seen no compelling reason to replace them, aside from the lack of USB 3.0 ports (which I actually stuck a card in one of them for).
 
Jan 12, 2005
24,232
233
126
#30
My LAN gaming box is still a Q6600 G0 @ 3600
That's a good overclock on that! I could never get mine over 3.2 and I wasn't really comfortable above 3ghz.
It's crazy how long the Q6600s have been usable for. It's going to be interesting to see how long the new high end CPUs last.
 
Mar 11, 2000
22,585
0
106
#31
1100T is still my main interactive machine.

Also have a Threadripper for heavy load work, but its running as a 2nd machine.

Have been debating whether to change the 1100T for either another TR or a 2700X, but really cannot justify the need for it right now.
Your 1100T is around 15% faster than my 1055T (95 Watt).

I've been telling people that a reasonable ballpark CPU speed for an inexpensive general non-gaming home desktop for say surfing, Netflix, and office applications, with occasional light image editing is a PassMark score of 5000 and up. And if you want an ultrabook, then lower is OK too.

My 1055T is just under 5000, and yours is over 5700. In modern terms, 5000 gets you a Core i3-8130U. And in fact, my Core m3 is well under 4000, but it's fine for my laptop usage too.

OTOH, my Athlon X3 435 got just over 2500, and it felt laggy at times, which is why I did the drop-in upgrade to the 1055T. Second best desktop in-place CPU upgrade of my life. (The best was going from a Celeron 366 to a Celeron 800 to a Celeron 1.4 GHz Tualatin, all on the same mobo.)
 
Last edited:

Atari2600

Senior member
Nov 22, 2016
677
92
106
#32
The plan when I got it was to upgrade to Bulldozer on the AM3+ mobo.

Turned out Bulldozer would not have been an upgrade at all. I didn't really look into the later derivatives, which may be a mistake on my part - how much better is an FX8350 than an 1100T anyone?


edit: One google search later turns up a thread on toms and on steam... from which the answer would be nah, not really. A bit of a space heater with debatable ST performance increase. Not enough to justify even the 50 or so quid for the CPU. Better saving the money for a fresh build.
 
Last edited:

NTMBK

Diamond Member
Nov 14, 2011
8,112
77
126
#33
The plan when I got it was to upgrade to Bulldozer on the AM3+ mobo.

Turned out Bulldozer would not have been an upgrade at all. I didn't really look into the later derivatives, which may be a mistake on my part - how much better is an FX8350 than an 1100T anyone?


edit: One google search later turns up a thread on toms and on steam... from which the answer would be nah, not really. A bit of a space heater with debatable ST performance increase. Not enough to justify even the 50 or so quid for the CPU. Better saving the money for a fresh build.
It's got newer instructions, which helps in a handful of programs that use AVX or require SSE4.1/4.2. But yeah, mostly not worth it.
 

ZipSpeed

Golden Member
Aug 13, 2007
1,244
4
91
#34
I have an i3-540 hooked up to a TV in my home gym for Netflix and Youtube. I also have a number of older machines in my sig that runs 24/7 on World Community Grid. They aren't the most energy efficient, but two young kids that cost me $3000 a month in daycare doesn't afford me much with new toys these days.
 

EXCellR8

Platinum Member
Sep 1, 2010
2,706
29
126
#35
I was never able to get my Q6600 over 3.4ghz stable... don't remember what the stepping code was but I know the CPU is still installed in the Rampage Formula; mounted on the wall in my game room.
 

cytg111

Diamond Member
Mar 17, 2008
7,817
180
126
#36
I just found out(cause new build) that my 9450 troubles years ago were due to a f*ed PSU, if not for that... who know might be rocking it today... its on the "bring back from the dead" list for sure.
 
Mar 11, 2000
22,585
0
106
#37
BTW, it's "who", not "whom".
 

winr

Diamond Member
Feb 17, 2001
5,927
0
81
#39
Typing on a Phenom II 560 at 3800 mhz ..... multiplier only, cheap 2x4 gig ram wont OC .... with 2x2 gig good ram, was running at 4000 by bumping bus .... I have 3 more Phenom II rigs here and 4 more I built for my Parents, Child and Grandchildren ......Oldest running rig is an IBM PS 1, 386 ... next is a Compaq Prolinea 466 I put an Intel overdrive in, have to add drivers to work ..... Then there is my K6 II 500 running Windows 98 ...... I have a 286 with mobo somewhere ....
 

Shamrock

Golden Member
Oct 11, 1999
1,022
3
91
#40
Phenom II 955 BE for my Linux box
 
Apr 6, 2002
29,908
48
146
#41
I'm rocking my P6T-Deluxe v2/i7 920/GTX 950 in a full sized LIan Li HTPC case. Boots straight into Kodi and controlled by my phone via WiFi. SATA 6Gps controller card and SSD make it snappy. I thought of triple channel memory for the first time in a long time.
 

YEPP

Senior member
Jul 30, 2006
379
1
81
#42
Overclocked i7 870 daily-driver, has only started to show its age with the latest games. Dips under 60fps in FFXV and MH:W.

Built a 2700x rig over a month ago, done nothing with it, not sure whether to put a 1080 Ti in there or stick with my 1070.

Also use my Q9650 as a browsing box and light gaming, will be giving this to family member once my 2700x becomes my main-driver.
 

Denly

Senior member
May 14, 2011
834
0
91
#44
Me, typing this on a PII x4 HP business box with 12Gb ram, SSDs, USB 3 card and a Nvidia 710 driving a 4k HP 27" screen. I don't game, I process some photo here and there. No complain.
 

sjankech

Junior Member
Dec 11, 2000
17
0
66
#45
i7 940 2.93ghz x58 still going. I can feel that is slow now but I am gonna wait for both 7nm cpu and gpu from AMD before I upgrade. Also the gpu has to have dp 1.4 and hdmi 2.1. I don't understand how these aren't out yet. I want to get a monitor/display that is 4k and 120hz. Hopefully 2019 will be the year.
 

rh71

No Lifer
Aug 28, 2001
51,718
31
126
#46
I've just stepped up from a Q6600 to a 2700X.

The Q6600 was perfectly usable for me 90% of the time!
I finally had to retire the Q6600 last month. I put it back together for my kids to play Roblox but it kept having lock-up issues... I replaced everything from the HSF to the RAM to the PSU, just not the mobo or CPU. It was one of those and I wasn't willing to spend another $50 to figure out which. It was a beast while it lasted though.
 

Wheelabrator

Junior Member
Dec 8, 2017
7
0
41
#47
I still use the same computer I put together about ten years ago. C2D E8500 - 3.16 Ghz, albeit overclocked to 4 Ghz. I don't do any demanding stuff, I mostly browse the internet, look on youtube and listen to music.
 
Aug 25, 2001
42,469
236
126
#48
I still use the same computer I put together about ten years ago. C2D E8500 - 3.16 Ghz, albeit overclocked to 4 Ghz. I don't do any demanding stuff, I mostly browse the internet, look on youtube and listen to music.
For curiousity's sake, do you use a dGPU (separate discrete video card), or an iGPU (which in that era, would be in the system chipset), either an 865G (unlikely), a G31/G35, or a G41/G45, or maybe a Q45?

I could see one of those, especially clocked at 4Ghz, still being viable, if using a dGPU of a Fermi or later, for video-decoding on YouTube.

I recently put together a rig with a Skylake Celeron, I think it was 2.7Ghz. Which your older E8500 @ 4.0Ghz was probably pretty similar, although yours probably uses DDR2 RAM, maybe DDR3, and this Celeron uses DDR4. But still, even with only 4GB of RAM, still very viable to browse and watch YouTube with.

Congratulations, and thanks for not contributing towards e-waste as much as some of us (me).
 
Jan 10, 2004
150
0
76
#49
main and only pc is:

45nm E8400 @ 3GHz, doesn't OC very well so after mobo battery died it reset my modest OC, haven't bothered changing from stock since except for a slight undervolt.
55nm radeon 4850 512mb underclocked/volted most of the time, the clockspeeds seem to be irrelevant for most tasks, either games run fine or not
ASUS P5K-E = P35 chipset, i just keep it plugged in so it will remember bios settings
4GB DDR2 800
corsair VX550
1600x1200 IPS monitor

used win XP for a long time, now using win7 and i must say win XP after all patches was more polished than this.

very happy that i picked a dual core and not a quad core in retrospect.

using custom coolers and undervolted scythe s-flex fans and this thing is still very quiet, although it was basically silent when built (had to check if power light was on back then).

also has sound blaster audigy2 from my old pc from 2003 or so, still in use.

plan was to make a quality build and use it as long as reasonable, no hurry getting anything new yet. hope i can wait for 7nm stuff and new AMD GPUs before some caps blow up.
 

Wheelabrator

Junior Member
Dec 8, 2017
7
0
41
#50
For curiousity's sake, do you use a dGPU (separate discrete video card), or an iGPU (which in that era, would be in the system chipset), either an 865G (unlikely), a G31/G35, or a G41/G45, or maybe a Q45?

I could see one of those, especially clocked at 4Ghz, still being viable, if using a dGPU of a Fermi or later, for video-decoding on YouTube.
I use a discrete card, a Geforce 9500GT. It was an entry-level card so I don't know how much better it is compared to integrated graphics of the time.

Full spec:
Asus P5Q Deluxe mobo
E8500@4GHz CPU
8GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2
Geforce 9500GT
Intel 320 SSD 160GB
WD5000lpvx HDD 500GB.

Since then web pages and programs has become more heavy and my habits has also changed to more multitasking, therefore the overclock... but primarily just because it was fun to do :cool:

I can honestly say that in lighter, everyday use this PC feels as fast as the i5 7400 computer I use at work.

plan was to make a quality build and use it as long as reasonable, no hurry getting anything new yet.
Same here
 

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS