OneHaplessGamer

Oct 23, 2016
Hello everyone.

I'm new to this neck of the digital woods - I've looked around on Tomshardware and, recently there, asked about this very topic which I'll get to shortly, but could use some additional insight.

So, a few days ago I was given an offered, relayed by my brother from a friend of his - $200 flat for his AMD FX 8350 CPU (which I've had my eye on as an upgrade from my FX 4130), his $50 cooler, and his motherboard - an ASUS 970 Pro Gaming Aura. It looks like a good deal, but I'm also unsure about it. The combo is nice, but my brother's constantly insisting we do a full board swap which I'm hesitant and, currently, opposed to.

My current motherboard is a Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 R5 (rev 1), and has been working since I got it (my original Gigabyte board was, well... ruined because of a faulty power supply, which also ruined my memory but those two components were long-since replaced). I read that the chipset in the ASUS board - the AMD 970 chipset - is inferior to my board's 990FX set. However, I have some questions...

Would my board be the better one to keep in (which would also avoid the hassle/concern of reinstalling Windows at the very least, as well as risk the loss of everything I can't replace or need to reinstall), or is this newer board better?

I don't have any plans to overclock at this time, however, I want to ensure my performance is good and that nothing gets bottlenecked any time soon.

I also read the ASUS board uses a 7+1 power phase versus the 8 + 2 phase of my Gigabyte board. Power phases and the chipsets are something I'm not overly familiar with, aside from the power phase having an impact on voltage demands and reducing, among other things, heat generation (which would help with avoiding damage to the CPU or any other board component). What exactly would be the impact of these different chipsets and power phases though?

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012