Which ADOBE Startup Files can I Disable?

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by berryracer, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. berryracer

    berryracer Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the following Installed:

    - Adobe Reader X 10.1.2
    - Adobe Photoshop CS5.1
    - Adobe Illustrator CS5.1



    Which of the following startup items is safe to remove?


    1. Adobe AAMUpdater-1.0 (Adobe Updater Startup Utility)
    2. Adobe ARM (Adobe Reader and Acrobat Manager)
    3. Adobe CS5.5 Service Manager
    4. SwitchBoard (Switchboard Server 32-Bit)
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - ADOBE Startup Files Forum Date
    Adobe has killed Flash Software for Windows Jul 25, 2017
    Adobe Premiere / DaVinci Resolve - offloading workloads to server? Software for Windows Apr 28, 2017
    it could happen only with adobe product Software for Windows Mar 11, 2017
    Oh where has Adobe updates gone ? Software for Windows Mar 7, 2017
    adobe gamma loader at startup Software for Windows Sep 21, 2001

  3. Dahak

    Dahak Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    23
    I know the Adobe ARM can be gone, i have not seen it break anything. as for the other 3 i dont know. you can just temporarily disable them in msconfig and see if anything does not work and if so just turn them back on.

    The first one looks like its for the adobe updater, but i do not think it need to be running all the time, unless you want it to download the updates in the background
     
  4. berryracer

    berryracer Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well I did disable them all and nothing broke (so far) but I am afraid of disabling this switchboard thing or the Services manager maybe I might have problems in the future.

    I hope anyone who has experience with these files can shed some light here
     
  5. janas19

    janas19 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, just disable all your startup processes except system processes. Adobe is not a driver or a system process so it won't affect your startup.
     
  6. Charlie98

    Charlie98 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,915
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, I shut all mine off... The don't need to be sucking resources unless called upon.
     
  7. berryracer

    berryracer Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    1
    alright thanks guys, I disabled all startup entries relevant to Adobe
     
  8. janas19

    janas19 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    ML what are you planning on doing with your setup? You seem to ask a lot of questions.

    Just curious.
     
  9. berryracer

    berryracer Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nothing really, I am just a perfection freak :( I like to have the best and top notch system without having anything not needed running
     
  10. janas19

    janas19 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha ok. I like things to work but perfection is hard to attain lol ;). Good luck with your project, though!
     
  11. berryracer

    berryracer Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im there now thanks to you guys and thanks to easily restoring my images using Acronis True Image :)
     
  12. pyonir

    pyonir Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    40,862
    Likes Received:
    303