What's the best way to lose weight?

XMan

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
I've always been a pretty big guy (6'6"), but I guess sometimes you just need to get hit over the head . . . my buddy got his wedding pictures back, and I look horrible. :(

So I started lifting weights a bit, and I just got done going for a mile walk (which frickin' wiped me out. My back is killing me . . . ) I'm actually afraid to step onto the scale. :|

So obviously, eat less, exercise more, but are there foods to avoid? I know carbohydrates are a big no-no, and I've had my last Dr. Pepper for a while, but what else? Drink a lot of water? Don't eat after 9 PM?

Regine

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2000

<< Don't eat after 9 PM? >>

If you want a late nite snack, go for fruits and veggies - they'll fill you up but don't add fat or many calories. Also try low fat or fat-free dips and salad dressings - you wouldn't believe how much fat is in that stuff.

Soybomb

Diamond Member
Jun 30, 2000
Xerox, I dont necesasrily agree with trying to filter out all carbs, etc but think instead just try to be sensible with what you eat. I've pretyt much quit eating fast food at lunch and just eat salads, and try to cook my own dinner instead of fast food now as well. Personally I don't seem much of a difference yet, but it hasnt been that long and i'm sure the ratio of what I lost to what I have is small ;)

Warrenton

Banned
Aug 7, 2000
Substitue protiens for some of the carbs. Avoid high sugar fruits (citrus mostly). Eat plenty of high protien vegetables (beans and the like). Eat four or five smaller meals throughout the day instead of three larger ones. Walk anything shorter than 8 blocks except when you are in a hurry. Get 9 hours of sleep, and don't eat after an hour before you go to bed. Eat when you are hungry feeling, eat good tasting stuff, and stop when you don't feel hungry, not when you are full.