What's it like to be a SalesForce developer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

slugg

Diamond Member
Feb 17, 2002
My background is in distributed systems, cloud computing, OLTP, database, and that kind of stuff. I also have some outdated experience with machine learning and data mining. I'm comfortable in .NET, Java, Node JS, and Go. I'm capable, but not comfortable, in Python, C, and C++.

I've encountered a new financial burden and I need to make more money. I have a pretty good opportunity to switch over to developing on SalesForce and it'll pay what I realistically need.

Here's the thing... Is it interesting? While my current job doesn't pay me what I need, at least it's fairly interesting. I'm solving pretty tough problems and writing some fun code. I'm afraid of SalesForce (Apex?) just being an overly proprietary technology that will get old and will pigeonhole me into a really specific career path.

What say you?

I say this old thread is such spambait that I'm locking it - post in Moderator Discussions to have it reopened. -- Programming Moderator Ken g6

Last edited by a moderator:

purbeast0

No Lifer
Sep 13, 2001
I've never done it personally but I also would never do it. It sounds extremely boring and mundane and it pigeon holes you as far as what you are going to be learning while doing it.

PricklyPete

Lifer
Sep 17, 2002
I can't speak to Salesforce directly as I have no experience with their system (although my company does have several instances of Salesforce).

I can comment on "pigeonholing" yourself on proprietary technology. I have been working in the SAP space for the last decade and it has some similarities from the perspective of proprietary tech. It has been very good to me with regard to finances, job prospects, and job interests.