What kind of keyboard do you use for gaming?

Page 4 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Warsam71

Jul 29, 2013
I use an old Logitech G15. When it came out, it was one of the best gaming KBs. It still does the trick for me, and those 18 extra programmable keys really help with sims and MMOs.

Via

Diamond Member
Jan 14, 2009
What does the ambient light availability have to do with being able to properly navigate a keyboard without looking? There are two bumps on every keyboard on the 'F' and 'J' keys signifying where you are. If you can't find your position around that, I can only assume you hunt and peck when you type and breathe primarily out of your mouth.

I am probably a bit bias because I essentially type for a living.

I'm not a typing nerd.

Sometimes my hands slip out of place when I'm grabbing a sip of beer or something and I need to be able to put them down in the right place quickly. But I get it - the whole "you can't play games without looking at your kb?" bit is classic troll material, so you sort of got me.

Stringjam

Golden Member
Jun 30, 2011
I can easily type over 120 wpm, and I still prefer an illuminated keyboard in the dark.

Doesn't matter much with FPSes but with RPG's that control map a lot of different keys, I certainly glance down at times to grab odd keys, especially since I'm using my left hand to hit them all...bumps on "F" and "J" mean nothing when you're fingers aren't there in the first place.

TheBigEarl

May 23, 2013
Use a CM Stormtrigger with cherry blacks. Doesn't make much noise, and has key illumination. I like it, but wouldn't have got it if it wasn't on a really good sale. Mech keyboards are overpriced generally.

Wreckem

Diamond Member
Sep 23, 2006
Filco Majestouch Tenkeyless with Cherry Brown Switches. Paid $189 for it(had to import it from UK at the time). Worth every penny.