• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

What controls Turbo Core in Xeons?

Page 113 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

MOF

Member
Jul 31, 2017
116
28
71
can you modify bios for asus rampage v extreme
One last time, yes.


(UNTESTED)
RAMPAGE-V-EXTREME-ASUS-3802.CAP - Mcode removed - C6 Disabled as default.
RAMPAGE-V-EXTREME-ASUS-3803.CAP - Mcode removed - C6 Disabled as default - Driver injected -50mv
RAMPAGE-V-EXTREME-ASUS-3804.CAP - Mcode removed - C6 Disabled as default - Driver injected -60mv
RAMPAGE-V-EXTREME-ASUS-3805.CAP - Mcode removed - C6 Disabled as default - Driver injected -70mv
RAMPAGE-V-EXTREME-ASUS-3806.CAP - Mcode removed - C6 Disabled as default - Driver injected -80mv

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1x9eODruQeHdL1aygkT7B9m2vxb_eErsq/view?usp=sharing
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
162
12
51
Is there anyway to bypass TDP limit in these Xeon?
Its already doubled with this mod.
My dual 2686 (120w tdp) consumes over 550-600w during cinebench. I have measured it via watt meter (plugged into wall) and corsair link on my hx1000i.


IMG-20190523-WA0006.jpeg
 
Last edited:

MOF

Member
Jul 31, 2017
116
28
71
@topmysteries5 All system consuption can hit 600-700 watt but thats not mean you pass the TDP limit. Check between idle and underload power consumption difference or CPU/VRM power sensor readings.

Im getting 100-110w while idle on wall and 250-260 watt while stress tests with single 2696.
250-100 =~ 150watt
This value also very close to my mobo's VRM power out sensor reading. (You can check VRM out with HWinfo/Open hardware monitor...)
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
162
12
51
@topmysteries5 All system consuption can hit 600-700 watt but thats not mean you pass the TDP limit. Check between idle and underload power consumption difference or CPU/VRM power sensor readings.

Im getting 100-110w while idle on wall and 250-260 watt while stress tests with single 2696.
250-100 =~ 150watt
This value also very close to my mobo's VRM power out sensor reading. (You can check VRM out with HWinfo/Open hardware monitor...)
My rig idles at 150-160w (dual cpu). There is nothing in this system which consumes this much power. Only 2 sata ssd + gtx 1050ti at idle.
Without this mod, max power consumption is 260-270w only. With mod it reaches 600-650w. So, TDP is definitely bypassed. (Maxed out CPU LLC and current capability in BIOS).
 

MOF

Member
Jul 31, 2017
116
28
71
@topmysteries5 Something not right. If there is a 500watt gap between idle and load, each cpu must be took 250 watt of power. That's just tooooo much for 12 core Haswell cpu. We're not just talking about the power drawn from the wall, but it's also about heat, a lot of heat.
 

KenSoftTH

Junior Member
Jun 29, 2018
9
0
11
What is your clock speed? mine only goes to 2.5GHz. (2.8GHz if non-AVX workload) (Xeon E5 2686 v3 ES) More undervoltage = crash. So, I just wanna know if there's anyway that i can raise voltage without reduce my clock speed (from TDP or whatever limit)
 

KenSoftTH

Junior Member
Jun 29, 2018
9
0
11
Mine is stable at -0.075v with all cores enabled. With 20 cores (2*10) enabled, anything lower than -0.055v is unstable.
I think that's because the clock went higher. So, I got a bad chip then. Only a minor undervolt and it won't boot. But, your are QS right? that might be the difference...
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
162
12
51
Friends, seeing that this thread is still going strong, I figured I'd ask if anyone has any new developments on v4 Broadwell CPUs... would love to play with my 2x 2696v4s on an Asus Z10PE-D8 WS... much appreciated :) Trying to figure out how Toolius got these numbers: https://rog.asus.com/articles/news/asus-z10pe-d8-ws-4-new-global-first-places/
His dual E5-2699v4 are scoring 5815CB in Cinebench R15. He is running 102Mhz BCLK OC. His all 44 cores 88 threads are definitely not working at 3.67Ghz as mentioned in website. Scaling of hyper-threading is roughly 120% of amount of cores. So for 44 cores, scaling will be 52.8. Gets 5815CB @ 102 bclk, then it will be ~5700CB @ 100 bclk (2% performance drop). Now 5700cb/52.8=107.95CB per core (when all cores are under load). This means all core isn't even running close to 3.6Ghz.
Now compare this with dual E5-2686v3 which I have. They score ~ 5300CB @ 105mhz bclk (all 36 cores). Single core score is 141CB (x35*105Mhz=3.67GHz).
Without bclk OC they score ~ 5047CB @ 100mhz bclk (5% performance drop). Scaling for 36 cores is 43.2. So 5047cb/43.2=116.8CB per core (when all cores are under load, they run at x30*100Mhz=3GHz). If all 44 cores of dual E5-2699v4 can run at 3.67Ghz under load, then these will score more than 7000CB, ofcourse they'll eat lots of power and cooling can be issue. 2*18 cores E5 2696v3@3.3Ghz can score 5600CB then 2*22 Broadwell-EP cores will score much higher.
 
Last edited:

BadSimian

Junior Member
Apr 22, 2018
3
1
41
I have an X99 Extreme 6 motherboard and was successfully using one of the CANONKING BIOS files from earlier in this thread but the link he posted no longer works - does anyone have those BIOS files anywhere?
 

KenSoftTH

Junior Member
Jun 29, 2018
9
0
11
His dual E5-2699v4 are scoring 5815CB in Cinebench R15. He is running 102Mhz BCLK OC. His all 44 cores 88 threads are definitely not working at 3.67Ghz as mentioned in website. Scaling of hyper-threading is roughly 120% of amount of cores. So for 44 cores, scaling will be 52.8. Gets 5815CB @ 102 bclk, then it will be ~5700CB @ 100 bclk (2% performance drop). Now 5700cb/52.8=107.95CB per core (when all cores are under load). This means all core isn't even running close to 3.6Ghz.
Now compare this with dual E5-2686v3 which I have. They score ~ 5300CB @ 105mhz bclk (all 36 cores). Single core score is 141CB (x35*105Mhz=3.67GHz).
Without bclk OC they score ~ 5047CB @ 100mhz bclk (5% performance drop). Scaling for 36 cores is 43.2. So 5047cb/43.2=116.8CB per core (when all cores are under load, they run at x30*100Mhz=3GHz). If all 44 cores of dual E5-2699v4 can run at 3.67Ghz under load, then these will score more than 7000CB, ofcourse they'll eat lots of power and cooling can be issue. 2*18 cores E5 2696v3@3.3Ghz can score 5600CB then 2*22 Broadwell-EP cores will score much higher.

have someone look into this yet? maybe it's the key to bypass TDP limit in our xeon.

1564912237134.png

from https://www.anandtech.com/show/13748/the-intel-xeon-w-3175x-review-28-unlocked-cores-2999-usd/3
 

KenSoftTH

Junior Member
Jun 29, 2018
9
0
11
TDP is already bypassed on Haswell-EP xeons. Why would my 2*120 watt dual xeon consume 600-650w power in cinebench, if its not bypassed.
Power comsumption reported by HWMonitor or software is not equal to what actually pulled from the wall. In this case, my wall meter says 220W when my HWMonitor say 120W and it won't go beyond that because TDP is 120W. Therefore it's software limits that we need to bypass. Otherwise, my Xeon E5-2686 v3 would have turbo to 3.6 GHz on all core without undervolting already. Also, if you take a look at Performance limit reason, it will say "IA: Electrical Design Point/Other (ICCmax, PL4, SVID,DDR, RAPL)" I think that my 8 phases VRM can easily handle 300W easily. Take Xeon E5-2679 v4 for example, it rated for 200W TDP but fits on the same socket and I doubt that i7 6950X fully overclock will definitely pull more power then this 18 cores xeon at much lower clock.
 
Last edited:

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
162
12
51
Power comsumption reported by HWMonitor or software is not equal to what actually pulled from the wall. In this case, my wall meter says 220W when my HWMonitor say 120W and it won't go beyond that because TDP is 120W. Therefore it's software limits that we need to bypass. Otherwise, my Xeon E5-2686 v3 would have turbo to 3.6 GHz on all core without undervolting already. Also, if you take a look at Performance limit reason, it will say "IA: Electrical Design Point/Other (ICCmax, PL4, SVID,DDR, RAPL)" I think that my 8 phases VRM can easily handle 300W easily. Take Xeon E5-2679 v4 for example, it rated for 200W TDP but fits on the same socket and I doubt that i7 6950X fully overclock will definitely pull more power then this 18 cores xeon at much lower clock.
I don't use HWMonitor. I have already provided screenshot from Corsair link (which can't show fake values) and i have confirmed same from watt-meter plugged in to wall. Temps gets too high during benchmarks and forces fans on my H115 to run at full speed. Will you explain which component is eating extra 400w in my PC ?
This rig has only 2*sata SSD and GTX 1050ti at idle.
 

KenSoftTH

Junior Member
Jun 29, 2018
9
0
11
I don't use HWMonitor. I have already provided screenshot from Corsair link (which can't show fake values) and i have confirmed same from watt-meter plugged in to wall. Temps gets too high during benchmarks and forces fans on my H115 to run at full speed. Will you explain which component is eating extra 400w in my PC ?
This rig has only 2*sata SSD and GTX 1050ti at idle.
What I'm trying to say is that the fake value (what CPU read and believe it's drawing), which is shown in HWMonitor, is the reason why the CPU is throttling. So, I believe that If we can trick CPU to believe that it draw half power, then it will turbo more. Real power consumption is not a factor here, everyone knows that it will draw more than 120W at full load.
 

njdevilsfan87

Golden Member
Apr 19, 2007
1,815
14
81
Any instructions anywhere on how to mod a bios file myself? I've downloaded MOF's EFI and ffs files, but I'm not really sure what to do with these now. I'd like to test out different offsets - hopefully I've got a good chip.

Also, after modding does it make sense to bump BCLK as well for another +100mhz or is the TDP and/or stability walls already being hit?
 

topmysteries5

Member
Jan 31, 2019
162
12
51
Any instructions anywhere on how to mod a bios file myself? I've downloaded MOF's EFI and ffs files, but I'm not really sure what to do with these now. I'd like to test out different offsets - hopefully I've got a good chip.

Also, after modding does it make sense to bump BCLK as well for another +100mhz or is the TDP and/or stability walls already being hit?
Why do you want to mod bios file and integrate it with ffs ? Why don't you just use microcode removed modded BIOS and use different efi files with different v offsets. It will save your lots of time. BCLK oc is not worth as it messes up with Lan and RAID cards.
 

njdevilsfan87

Golden Member
Apr 19, 2007
1,815
14
81
That's the thing - I don't know if I want to mod the file and integrate it with ffs. I'm just looking for a step-by-step process on how to do all of this.

I ordered a new board off Ebay (Asus WS-E 10g), and downloaded the latest bios for that board. The last few pages are just people asking for bios files, so it would be helpful if someone could post a step-by-step DIY process so I could just make the update myself without having to look through the entire thread. What tools/apps, what to modify and where, etc. Thanks.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS