What controls Turbo Core in Xeons?

Page 105 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Feb 8, 2019
27
2
6
@topmysteries5 it actually looks like it did put the 80_20 on as my AVX2 score went way up...downside is that I lost my 3.7 single core boost...could you send me that first EFI again? All I need to do is drop it the EFI/Boot and replace the other one correct?
 
Nov 5, 2017
57
0
16

Peaches182

Junior Member
Mar 25, 2019
5
1
36
Hi punks, joining the party with a 2673 V3, then I might also get some nice 2696 v3 ES.

Looking forward to pull the max out this good X99 Platform.

Bytheway, I have 4 nice sticks of 4000 Mhz C18 DDR4. I know that I will have to downclock them, but I will also reduce the latency.

I already know that these sticks can go down to 2133mhz C11 but how much lower can I reasonabily expect ?
 
Jan 31, 2019
109
15
51
Hi punks, joining the party with a 2673 V3, then I might also get some nice 2696 v3 ES.

Looking forward to pull the max out this good X99 Platform.

Bytheway, I have 4 nice sticks of 4000 Mhz C18 DDR4. I know that I will have to downclock them, but I will also reduce the latency.

I already know that these sticks can go down to 2133mhz C11 but how much lower can I reasonabily expect ?
You might get upto 3.1ghz on all 12 cores with 2673v3. Never get any ES chip and dont expect them to work with this mod. Get a QS or retail cpu. What ever ram you want to use will get downclocked to 2133mhz. Tighting ram latency like C11 or C12 doesn't make any noticable performance difference with these setups. I have E5 2686v3, all cores @ 3.1ghz and 10 cores @ 3.5ghz (3.67ghz with bclk 105mhz). I get around 2800cb in cinebench R15. For x99, more than 105mhz bclk oc is unstable. And yes you'll need a good liquid cooler, because e5 2686/2696 (18 cores) consumes more than 240watts.
 

Peaches182

Junior Member
Mar 25, 2019
5
1
36
You might get upto 3.1ghz on all 12 cores with 2673v3. Never get any ES chip and dont expect them to work with this mod. Get a QS or retail cpu. What ever ram you want to use will get downclocked to 2133mhz. Tighting ram latency like C11 or C12 doesn't make any noticable performance difference with these setups. I have E5 2686v3, all cores @ 3.1ghz and 10 cores @ 3.5ghz (3.67ghz with bclk 105mhz). I get around 2800cb in cinebench R15. For x99, more than 105mhz bclk oc is unstable. And yes you'll need a good liquid cooler, because e5 2686/2696 (18 cores) consumes more than 240watts.

Yup yup ! First boot on Windows 7 with my 2673 and all cores to the max turbo bin !

Funny !

Now comes the next question, at the moment my system is booting on MBR and not on GPT.

I would like to copy the V3.EFI drivers directly onto my boot partition, is it also possible with MBR or do I first have to convert my partition into GPT ?

My question might be noobish, but still...I just want to make sure that the V3.EFI drivers will be applied every single boot, without being forced to boot first in the shell to load the drivers etc...


First bench.

https://hwbot.org/submission/4113064_

Now I am looking for a CPU with a higher turbo clock, 2697 V3 would be just great !
 
Last edited:

Knorz

Junior Member
Mar 26, 2019
1
0
6
Hello, i have a Gigabyte GA-X99M-Gaming 5 with a E5-2640v3 Bios Version F25c. Is it possible to use the Bios Mod with this board & CPU?
Can i leave the bios settings @ default after flash?

It would be great if someone might already have the modded bios and could upload here? Thank you.
 

Peaches182

Junior Member
Mar 25, 2019
5
1
36
Yup yup ! First boot on Windows 7 with my 2673 and all cores to the max turbo bin !

Funny !

Now comes the next question, at the moment my system is booting on MBR and not on GPT.

I would like to copy the V3.EFI drivers directly onto my boot partition, is it also possible with MBR or do I first have to convert my partition into GPT ?

My question might be noobish, but still...I just want to make sure that the V3.EFI drivers will be applied every single boot, without being forced to boot first in the shell to load the drivers etc...


First bench.

https://hwbot.org/submission/4113064_

Now I am looking for a CPU with a higher turbo clock, 2697 V3 would be just great !

Hi, update !

I converted my MRB partition wiht EASEUS Partition manager into GPT.

Then I used the shell to copy the driver in the EFI\BOOT folder of my GPT partition and I ran the famous script found on page 4 to load the UEFI drivers before Windows.

My OC is now permanent ! I no longer need to boot on the USB stick, load the driver and then boot on Windows.

My next question is now the following : is it possible to modify my self the drivers to pull out the max of my CPU, especially in AVX2 ?

Thanks for your future answers !

And long life this thread !
 
Jan 31, 2019
109
15
51
Hi, update !

I converted my MRB partition wiht EASEUS Partition manager into GPT.

Then I used the shell to copy the driver in the EFI\BOOT folder of my GPT partition and I ran the famous script found on page 4 to load the UEFI drivers before Windows.

My OC is now permanent ! I no longer need to boot on the USB stick, load the driver and then boot on Windows.

My next question is now the following : is it possible to modify my self the drivers to pull out the max of my CPU, especially in AVX2 ?

Thanks for your future answers !

And long life this thread !
I dont think we can do anything to improve AVX2 performance. Even my e5 2686v3 throttle to 2.6-2.7ghz in cinebench R20 or any AVX2 load. But i get 3ghz stable speed in CPU-z AVX2 benchmark.
Also try C. Paine's "v3_payne_70_50.efi" with microcode 27. You'll get max possible performance out of your CPU
 

mek5

Junior Member
Apr 18, 2018
5
0
41
anyone has newest moded bios (3903) for ASUS Z10PE-D8?
 
Jan 31, 2019
109
15
51
Please anybody has V3_1.efi with ES/QS cpus ??? All the link are dead... Thank U so Much!
try C. Paine's "v3_payne_70_50.efi" with ucode 27. V3_1.efi is outdated. There is no different efi for es and qs. Same efi works for all type of cpus.
 

ilo67

Junior Member
Mar 28, 2019
2
0
6
try C. Paine's "v3_payne_70_50.efi" with ucode 27. V3_1.efi is outdated. There is no different efi for es and qs. Same efi works for all type of cpus.
Thanks for pointing to "v3_payne_70_50.efi.. Result Wrong CPU.. Intel Xeon E5-2683 v3 ES QEY7 14C/3.5MB Turbo/L2/35MB L3/2011-3 Processor CPU ASRock Rack EPC612D4I Dual LGA2011-v3/ Intel C612/ DDR4/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&2GbE/ Bios Version P2.40 mode UEFI. Any other ways to make it works... Thank U So Much.
 
Jan 31, 2019
109
15
51
ES chip, not final QS revision, that's why
Yep, thats why he is not getting proper boost. These completely ES chips have "Intel Confidential" written on them, they are mostly multiplier locked to x23 or x24
 

Peaches182

Junior Member
Mar 25, 2019
5
1
36
Hi Punks,

Do you know if it's possible to have the Xeon hack permanently activated on W10 ? I mean loading the drivers prior W10 starts to boot ?

Like in the tutorial for Windows 7 ?

I tried it without any succes so far :-/

Oups my fresh W10 install is not in GPT, that's the reason why....
 

Peaches182

Junior Member
Mar 25, 2019
5
1
36
Hi Folks,

I am looking for a hacked bios for an Asrock x99M fatality ! anyone here got it store somewhere where I could download it ? would be so sweet <3

Just disregard this question, I found it myself, thanks to our Russian friends.
 
Last edited:

andret81

Junior Member
Apr 28, 2019
7
0
6
For asus board whitout microcode
https://pan.baidu.com/s/1kVFrs15#list/path=/ASUS X99 remove MC
For asus board whitout microcode with -70mv
https://pan.baidu.com/s/1ge4tWP1#list/path=/ASUS X99 lock-70mv
For asus board whitout microcode with -50mv
https://pan.baidu.com/s/1boHZNbx#list/path=/ASUS X99 lock-50mv

if you were looking for asus boards, you could find them too, they are posted long ago
You need to put a description of what each link says, or a summation.
Markfw
AT Moderator
Hello @Cata40 , i have some problems downloading this BIOS from my country.. and honestly i cant understand clearly how to properly register to baidu.. It's possible to upload the bioses in a more global container? or maybe if possible for someone with a baidu account to send me this bioses:

X99-M-WS-ASUS-3502 lock-70mv.zip
X99-M-WS-ASUS-3502 lock-50mv.zip
X99-M-WS-ASUS-3502 Removed MC.zip


I own a W99M-WS and a E5 2690V3 but i'm also looking for a Gigabyte X99-UD4 rev 1.0 (any bios revision since it is only for boinc crunching)
 
Last edited:
Jan 31, 2019
109
15
51
Hello @Cata40 , i have some problems downloading this BIOS from my country.. and honestly i cant understand clearly how to properly register to baidu.. It's possible to upload the bioses in a more global container? or maybe if possible for someone with a baidu account to send me this bioses:

X99-M-WS-ASUS-3502 lock-70mv.zip
X99-M-WS-ASUS-3502 lock-50mv.zip
X99-M-WS-ASUS-3502 Removed MC.zip


I own a W99M-WS and a E5 2690V3 but i'm also looking for a Gigabyte X99-UD4 rev 1.0 (any bios revision since it is only for boinc crunching)
Its very easy to mod bios yourself. I also downloaded pre-modded bios from that baidu link, but there was no difference between my own created modded BIOS. I am running this BIOS mod on Gigabyte X99 gaming 5p and Asus Z10PE D16WS (dual 2686v3)
 

doktormaster

Junior Member
May 3, 2019
1
0
6
Hi all, very new here (and not experienced with Xeons / BIOS mods)
Can you help me?

I have an Asus X99-A USB 3.1, which was paired with an i7 5960x @ 4GHz
The i7 died after 2 years of hard work and a long rendering session... so I took an E5 2697v3 QS.
My BIOS did NOT support it out of the box, as I had an old version, but anyway I managed to update it to the latest (the i7 was still working as single core) and got the E5 working.

Then I tried to get all core turbo as you guys managed to do... modded the BIOS with UBU (1.65.9) with the oldest CPU microcodes from the list and updated with a USB key / EZ flash button. The update was apparently flawless. I wanted to move to the next step BUT the BIOS did not even post then... no video output and the system shuts down after about 15 seconds.
Is it possible that I made the CPU not recognized again? or, is it possible that anything went wrong while updating?

I tried to flash back the original BIOS and restart the process, but the mobo is now refusing the original/correctly named .CAP (blue light keeps on)

Any suggestion on how to proceed?
 

andret81

Junior Member
Apr 28, 2019
7
0
6
You have any guide/tutorial to reccomend? Images in OP are missing and other guides i found on winraid forums are general and don't work with my setup..
 
Jan 31, 2019
109
15
51
You have any guide/tutorial to reccomend? Images in OP are missing and other guides i found on winraid forums are general and don't work with my setup..
Man, you didn't even read last few pages from this thread. I know time is important for everyone here. You should read post #2546 to #2599. You should successfully mod your mobo bios and flash it (very easy process). Then disable csm and secure boot. You also need proper efi file for your cpu. Then follow my post step by step.
I guess your 2690v3 is retail one, not ES. 2690v3 has 12c 24t, 135w tdp, 2.6ghz base, 3.5ghz turbo. From my experience this cpu will boost to 3.4ghz (3.57ghz OC) on all 12c 24t under heavy load. It will still boost to 3.5ghz (3.67ghz OC) in light loads. Cinebench r15 score will be ~2200CB (similar to overclocked i9 9900k) and single core will be little faster than r7 1700@ stock. This boost will increase cpu power consumption to ~ 170w, which results in higher cpu temps ans VRM temps. Monitor VRM temps and add cooling if needed to avoid any damage.
 

andret81

Junior Member
Apr 28, 2019
7
0
6
Thanks, i read that posts but mine is rev 1.0 and i think bios is not compatible (on 1.0 last version is f23)
 
Jan 31, 2019
109
15
51
Thanks, i read that posts but mine is rev 1.0 and i think bios is not compatible (on 1.0 last version is f23)
Don't worry, I will mod proper bios for you, will also update guide according to your mobo. But you'll have to wait few days as I'm out of my city. This mod may not work in windows 7 or 8, Windows 10 is recommended.
 

andret81

Junior Member
Apr 28, 2019
7
0
6
Oh really thanks, take your time and don't worry, i can wait

Maybe it's possible a separate version to include the voltage offset?
 


ASK THE COMMUNITY