What can a small business do to protect itself?

Dukenukem117

Aug 25, 2016
A few partners and I run a little design shop and our data is arguably the most important asset we have. At the same time, it's probably the most vulnerable since not all of us are that tech-savy. We have at least one guy who is of the "Apple protects" cult. So it's difficult for me to establish any best-practices given I have very little experience with Apple products and what's available for them.

We currently use Box for our file sharing, and everyone has been told to use 2-step authentication. But I recently discovered a serious flaw in this when I realized all my codes were being forwarded to my MightyText chrome extension. So if my laptop were to be stolen, they basically have my cellphone and can get into everything. I doubt this is the only security flaw we have.

I've attended a few presentations on cyber security, and I'm ok with computers. I can build them and diagnose basic problems, but I wouldn't have any idea where to start if my website or email got hacked. It also seems like that despite one's best efforts to install the right security programs and fail safes, human error can break anything. So I don't think throwing the kitchen sink such as paying for the capability of bricking anyone's laptop or cell is worth it. I know big corporations have to implement all kinds of restrictive software and fail safes, and we simply can't afford it.

I'm guessing there's a 80/20 thing going on where a handful of best practices can prevent 80% of problems?

Does anyone have any experience in this department? Thanks.

nerp

Diamond Member
Dec 31, 2005
The main thing to ensure is you have a remote backup of the most essential data. And it has to be isolated so something like ransomware can't get to it. Think -- if the building burns down and everything in here is totally destroyed forever, what needs to be offsite so we can rebuild and not lose anything.

TheRyuu

Diamond Member
Dec 3, 2005