Welcome to Windows Media Personal License Migration Service

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by GeminiZi, May 11, 2003.

  1. GeminiZi

    GeminiZi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    How come all of a sudden, internet explorer opens 15 windows of this message? This is a brand new dimension 4550 that I just got 3 weeks ago. The only changes that I've done to this system is that I took out the original hard drive, and put in my own hard drive. However I did use the dell restore cd to install xp into the new drive. What does this message mean? Should i ignore this or click the Migrate License button?
    Text


     
  2. Joker81

    Joker81 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alot of the Factory Restores will not allow you to reinstall onto a different computer. Although Since you did get it to install I don't think this is the case. Since You do Own the computer and all other things. You are not abusing the content I don;t think.Since you own.
    Did you files one the new drive you installed. Or was it a totally fresh install with a format of the drive. I would just migrate since you do own everything.
     
  3. GeminiZi

    GeminiZi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    So this is definitely an OS license problem? But I didn't reinstall onto a different computer though. I did a fresh install with a format on my own hard drive.
     
  4. GeminiZi

    GeminiZi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump anyone?
     
  5. bozo1

    bozo1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read all about it.

    Briefly:

    Sounds like you (or whomever), used WMP to rip CD's and had one of those options checked at the time.
     
  6. GeminiZi

    GeminiZi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like you (or whomever), used WMP to rip CD's and had one of those options checked at the time.[/quote]

    I have Windows Media Player for Windows XP, the checkbox for "Protect content" is checked by default. Should I uncheck this checkbox? This is my computer and only I use it. I did not rip any cds at all, but I have downloaded music and movies online and played it on Windows Media Player.
     
  7. bozo1

    bozo1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just migrate the license.
     
  8. GeminiZi

    GeminiZi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing will happen right?
     
  9. bozo1

    bozo1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing besides your error messages going away. :)

     
  10. GeminiZi

    GeminiZi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you guys have your windows media player "protect content" box checked?