Web/email hosting suggestions

beatle

Diamond Member
Apr 2, 2001
I've had my own domain for about 15 years now. I started it after I graduated college, mostly as a place to put images and host email. It's nothing special (1GB/10GB) and only costs $3.95/mo. I no longer host images or files since there are better free services and I tend to use most of my storage for email. My host has changed hands at least 4 times, and sometimes it has moved datacenters. I'll get a new control panel, wait a day for DNS to update, and then move on, but just yesterday I moved to a new host and they jacked up my webmail. I can no longer directly access it via the default port 80 or 443. Instead I have to use 2096. This is annoying and could be fixed with a forwarder so I don't have to remember the odd URL, but I cannot access nonstandard ports from work since they're all firewalled off. This is really the only time I use webmail so it's kind of a deal breaker, and I'm now looking for a new host.

Most hosts seem to be about the same deal - $1-$3/mo if you pay up front for 2-3 years, but renewing costs $7-$8/mo. I can see myself jumping from host to host when renewal time comes around to keep getting a good deal. I'm guessing they are all pretty similar since I'm not asking for much.

I've also considered going full Gmail and doing away with my domain altogether as spam filtering has improved dramatically since the early 2000s. I set up each site I signed up for (amazon, paypal, ebay, bestbuy, newegg, etc.) with a different forwarder that points to my real email address, so I have a bestbuy@mydomain.com, newegg@mydomain.com, etc. This worked great for killing spam in its tracks as I'd just create a new forwarder with a number at the end and update my profile. It also let me see who was selling out my address or being compromised. I got several spam sessions to my newegg forwarder, for example.