vsync on or off

tornadog

Golden Member
Aug 6, 2003
I have been gaming for about 10 years now, and I always thought vsync should be off for better framerates. But now that I am gaming on my big screen TV, tearing is more noticeable. So now is it recommended to have vsync on. Is it better to turn vsync on in the game settings, or do it in the nvidia control panel?

Durvelle27

Diamond Member
Jun 3, 2012
Vsync should be on it will lock your FPS at your mas refresh rate your tv supports and its help so not tearing or jittring happens because the high fps is tom much for the tv or monitor. and in game

brokEN2

Oct 6, 2011
www.cbcast.com
I would say yes and no. Yes if you're just playing single player games and no if you're playing online games like shooters(css,CoD,etc) cause it can delay mouse movements.

Red Storm

Lifer
Oct 2, 2005
vsync tends to always create input lag for me, so I never ever use it and by habit always look for it to turn off first thing.

Dankk

Diamond Member
Jul 7, 2008
I always thought it was a better idea to turn it on in-game (but someone can correct me if I'm wrong).

Vsync fixes screen tearing, but it also introduces input lag.

Which do you prefer? A prettier game with laggy controls, or a slightly-less pretty game with more responsive controls?

I turn off Vsync in 90% of my games because I can't stand lag, so I deal with the screen tearing instead. But in some games Vsync is OK. It really depends on the game (and personal preference).

sigurros81

Platinum Member
Nov 30, 2010
I always thought it was a better idea to turn it on in-game (but someone can correct me if I'm wrong).

Vsync fixes screen tearing, but it also introduces input lag.

Which do you prefer? A prettier game with laggy controls, or a slightly-less pretty game with more responsive controls?