VPN + RDP Bandwidth requirements ?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by airdata, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. airdata

    airdata Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are the bandwidth requirements for a vpn connection, and an RDP connection over that?

    Have a couple of the execs out of town with issues. I'm guessing they're on some hotel's wifi connection. Both can connect to the vpn but are claiming that only one can connect to RDP at a time.

    Don't know of any possible way to troubleshoot since it's most likely some kind of network config wherever they're connecting. Just curious though as to what the exact bandwidth requirements are for each vpn/rdp connection.
     
  2. RebateMonger

    RebateMonger Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    11,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    By ""only one can connect to RDP at a time", do you mean that their RDP connections are just very slow when two connect, or is one of them being refused an RDP connection?

    What are they RDPing to at the office? Their desktops? A server?

    Here's one article giving a recommended minimum bandwidth for RDP:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/171995-46-terminal-server-bandwidth-requirements

    "Minimum bandwidth for a useable RDP Session = 26.4Kbps
    800x600 @16 bit color - 26.4Kbps per session
    1024x768 @256 colors - 24.6Kbps per session"


    The useability of a VPN/RDP connection depends on the slowest side of the connection. Each side has an upload and a download speed and the slowest of those four speeds will be the limiting factor.

    The Ping time of the connection can also greatly affect the useability. If you click on a button and nothing happens for several seconds, it can be pretty annoying.
     
    #2 RebateMonger, Oct 14, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2010
  3. airdata

    airdata Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    They connect to the vpn and then rdp to their office computer.

    supposedly, one user was connected just fine, but as soon as the other user connected, they were 'kicked off' and could not get back in to the remote desktop session.

    Of course, they're using some random wifi location probably at a hotel 800+ miles away...
     
  4. her209

    her209 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    56,361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are they connecting to the same office computer?
     
  5. ViviTheMage

    ViviTheMage Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    35,844
    Likes Received:
    1
    ohh man, sounds like they're using a PPTP connection?

    ~Anthony
     
  6. Emulex

    Emulex Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    use a TS gateway or just punch holes in the firewall and re-assign the rdp ports if its a small business. vpn are very very very sensitive to packet loss and .......... MTU .........

    if your using default mtu on a VPN you will feel pain.

    pptp works fine, but you are stacking poo on top of poo.

    just sayin'. and yeah if you drop and reconnect too much XP will freak out and just stop responding till you reboot or it feels better.

    RDP is highly resilient direct - but not so much over a vpn
     
  7. imagoon

    imagoon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hotel's offering free internet also tend to cut corners on the free ports. I have been to quite a few that basically use a linksys router connected to a DSL line etc. The farther out and away from the cities, the more "podunk" they tend to get. You might be kicking each other off the VPN or over loading the router.
     
  8. airdata

    airdata Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice post. Thanks.