VMWare Player / Core Duo combo

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by chipy, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. chipy

    chipy Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    2
    hi, i tried installing VMWare Player the other night on my Core Duo laptop and it gave a message like "blah blah feature is not found on your processor". i've been trying to find out whether my processor is supported but i can't find any documentation saying it isn't.

    i know the Core Duo is a 64-bit CPU and i think it supports LAHF/SAHF... something that the VMWare website mentioned the software needed.

    anyone have any ideas? thanks!

    UDPATE:
    OK, i think i finally have it straight... VMWare Player 4 only supports 64-bit processors (like Quikah said), however, it still supports 32-bit OSes in addition to 64-bit OSes (says right next to the download link). so hypothetically, you could have a 64-bit processor like an Intel i7, be running 32-bit Vista, and still run Player 4. in my case, since i have Yonah (32-bit processor), i'm automatically disqualified from using Player 4...even though i'm running 32-bit Vista. so i did what Quikah suggested and tried to install Player 3.1.5...and it worked! thanks everyone for all the help... finally going to play around with virtualization :)
     
    #1 chipy, Nov 8, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - VMWare Player Core Forum Date
    Is there no more free vmware player for home use ? Software for Windows Apr 1, 2016
    VMware Workstation 12 Player - set Unity to prefer specific monitor? Software for Windows Mar 11, 2016
    VMware Workstation 12 Player - Guest Ubuntu doesn't finish booting up Software for Windows Mar 2, 2016
    VMware player svga driver crashes when i start pcb program.. (solution found) Software for Windows Jun 23, 2015
    Vmware player and Vmware WorkStation Software for Windows Nov 18, 2012

  3. timswim78

    timswim78 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    4,327
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. pcgeek11

    pcgeek11 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    11,178
    Likes Received:
    304
    The bitness (32 or 64) has nothing to do with it. You are missing the hardware virtualization Intel VT-x technology in the processor.
    Another dual-core variant of the Core Duo branded Yonah was released as the Intel Pentium Dual-Core branded T2060, T2080, and T2130 mobile CPUs, also without Intel VT-x support.
     
  5. chipy

    chipy Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    2
    wow, thanks for opening up my eyes... i really should do more due diligence!

    well, that sux!

    having said that, do you guys know of any virtualization software that i can use with my Yonah that doesn't require the Intel VT-x support? or maybe all virtualization software requires some sort of hardware support (either Intel or AMD)...

    thanks for shedding light on this!!
     
  6. MrChad

    MrChad Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    13,507
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can you be more specific about the error message? AFAIK, VMWare Player will leverage Intel VT support if it's available, but it does not require it to run.
     
  7. jrocks84

    jrocks84 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correct, it does not require it to run, but only for 32-bit virtual machines. You do need VT-x for 64-bit virtual machines though.
     
  8. chipy

    chipy Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks all, i tried reinstalling and captured the message:

    VMWare-Player-4.0.0-471780
    Error: VMWare Player can not be installed on this computer. VMWare Player requires features that are not present on your CPU. See the product release notes for specific hardware and software requirements.

    FYI, i'm running MS Vista 32-bit OS.

    thanks again!
     
  9. quikah

    quikah Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    40
    Player 4 requires a 64-bit CPU. 32-bit CPU support was dropped for the new release.

    You can use Player 3.1, however you will be limited to 32-bit guests.
     
  10. chipy

    chipy Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    2
    ah, ok. i will download 3.1 and give that a shot... thanks Quikah!
     
  11. Lifted

    Lifted Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think 4 hosed my computer at work, and forced me to do a system restore. I'm back at 3.
     
  12. chipy

    chipy Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    2
    UDPATE:
    OK, i think i finally have it straight... VMWare Player 4 only supports 64-bit processors (like Quikah said), however, it still supports 32-bit OSes in addition to 64-bit OSes (says right next to the download link). so hypothetically, you could have a 64-bit processor like an Intel i7, be running 32-bit Vista, and still run Player 4. in my case, since i have Yonah (32-bit processor), i'm automatically disqualified from using Player 4...even though i'm running 32-bit Vista. so i did what Quikah suggested and tried to install Player 3.1.5...and it worked! thanks everyone for all the help... finally going to play around with virtualization :)