Using SSDs with Windows XP

o_o

Aug 1, 2013
Hi,

I am looking at using a SSD, around 240 or 256 GB with Windows XP Pro. I have no experience using SSDs, so I am clueless about some of the technical terms thrown around.

Searching for information on this topic reveals a number of old threads that suggest SSDs should not be used on Windows XP due to lack of TRIM support. However it seems that newer SSDs have improved Garbage Collection, so may work with Windows XP. Is this true?

In this regard, which would be a good SSD for Windows XP? I have heard that the Samsung SSDs are better than the ones using the Sandforce controller based SSDs, due to better Garbage Collection features.

Which SSD vendor offers software to perform a manual trim on Windows XP? Or is this even needed on Windows XP? (This may technically be called running manual GC, I am not sure.)

For the new SSDs, do we still need to align the partition before installing Windows XP? Also would Windows XP recognize, and install itself on the SSD, or do I need specific drivers? (I have a Win XP SP2 install CD.)

Thank you in advance for your help.
O. O.

PS: Please, no discussion on Why I am installing Windows XP, and that it is a bad idea etc. I understand, but that is not my question here.

Cerb

Elite Member
Aug 26, 2000
Searching for information on this topic reveals a number of old threads that suggest SSDs should not be used on Windows XP due to lack of TRIM support. However it seems that newer SSDs have improved Garbage Collection, so may work with Windows XP. Is this true?
Yes. Things are generally much better, these days. Not to the point of that being a 100% solved problem, but nothing like up through '10.

In this regard, which would be a good SSD for Windows XP?
Many, but Sandisk's Ultra Plus, Crucial's M500, Plextor's M5S, and Corsair's Neutron, will be good choices w/o TRIM, and are fairly cheap.