Upgrading my old crappy computer [super low budget]

qzyxya

Jan 16, 2013
My old computer is a dell xps7100 with a amd phenom ii x4 830 @ 2.8ghz, 4gb ram, some crappy 500gb hdd, and an unknown graphics card that came with the amd 'vision' package (Didn't know jack ***** about computers when i ordered it). I'm hoping to upgrade it.
(pics)

http://s20.postimage.org/9zvwtrvq4/IMG_0908.jpg
http://s20.postimage.org/nfixj847w/IMG_0903.jpg

So obviously it looks like the graphics card is attached into the motherboard. Do you think I could put another graphics card one it (I was thinking a gtx650 ti, I do tons of after effects and premiere cs6 work and need cuda)? Idk maybe all motherboards have this type of gpu connection, im a total noob at this kind of stuff. MY power supply is a no brand chinese 460 watt one, which probably isnt very good.

What upgrades can I do to this system? I'm thinking of installing a little 60/120gb ssd to speed up boots and such, I'd love to install a new gpu (650 ti as i said), but I've heard i'd probably need a new and better power supply than this one. What about the processor? Is the 830 any good? And will I need to upgrade the motherboard to be able to put in a new gpu?

I am also thinking of getting a better case just because this one is so but fugly and a pain in the a$s to open up, and it has horrible cooling and is extremely dusty.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

-----
ps

Sorry if this is the wrong category (admins/mods, you can move it to the right one if it isn't)

Smoove910

Golden Member
Aug 2, 2006