Updating a rooted Galaxy S3

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices & Gadgets' started by evti, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. evti

    evti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rooted my Galaxy S3, and got an update notice the other day. I tried updating it, and all was okay until it rebooted to try and install it. It booted to the Odin screen or whatever (the one where you select the Zip package when you root it), and then showed the Android robot dead with an exclamation mark over him. I tried restarting it to get it back to functionality, and fortunately this worked, but now it won't shut up about the update. Is there any way I can update it, or is it like jailbreaking an iPhone where you have to do it again (and only if there's a version of the jailbreak for your software version)?
     
  2. s44

    s44 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you change the recovery or kernel while rooting?

    You could try using the OTA Rootkeeper to temporarily un-root before running the update, then run it again to re-root after.
     
  3. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,811
    Likes Received:
    2
    Download and install a ROM. Maybe bugless beast? If you get a stock ROM (like bug less) it gets rid of those OTA notifications. If you just root. They still show up
     
  4. PowerYoga

    PowerYoga Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're probably on verizon, I got the update push 2 nights ago myself. You can flash the updated rom but it requires the unlocked bootloader.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1892670

    If you want to disable the notification without updating, you can disable SDM by freezing it with titanium backup or using root browser to rename the SDM.APK file to something else.
     
  5. evti

    evti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    No idea, lol. If I did this, I assume the root isn't version dependent? As in it's not like the iPhone where only certain versions of the software can be jailbroken?
     
  6. s44

    s44 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically not, but you'd need to reroot after a successful OTA unless you use Rootkeeper. Your problem is more likely the reverse: something you changed while rooting is borking the OTA update.

    Tell us what model you have and what root instructions you followed...
     
  7. DLeRium

    DLeRium Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    20,098
    Likes Received:
    1
    on a lot of phones OTA updates get screwed or updates in general because of root.

    this is a path I hate taking with people who aren't interested in ROMing. Essentially root is a difficult path to go down.
     
  8. ponyo

    ponyo Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13,207
    Likes Received:
    9
    Name one phone. Rooting itself won't effect OTA update.
     
  9. NikolaeVarius

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Root does nothing in regards to updates.
     
  10. DLeRium

    DLeRium Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    20,098
    Likes Received:
    1
    My gf's Incredible 2? Verizon would try to push OTA updates and it'd fail.
     
  11. PowerYoga

    PowerYoga Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you just root it won't affect OTAs at all. If you rooted and then flashed a custom rom the OTA might fail depending on if its a stock rom or not. For example I flashed a slimmed down stock rom and I still got the OTA prompts.
     
  12. evti

    evti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used this method to root my phone. I have a Galaxy S3 SGH-I747
     
  13. ponyo

    ponyo Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13,207
    Likes Received:
    9
    So do you have stock recovery or custom Clockworkmod recovery?
     
  14. s44

    s44 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,326
    Likes Received:
    0
    From his link
    So the root method he used switched recoveries to CWM. This is what broke OTA.

    This method should let you apply the OTA changes using the recovery you have. Check your Settings first to make sure you're on UCALG1 before you apply it.

    Of course, I'd personally nandroid, TiBu, and start trying ROMs, but that's up to you.
     
    #14 s44, Sep 24, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012
  15. ponyo

    ponyo Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    13,207
    Likes Received:
    9
    The reason I asked is that CWM won't stick unless you delete the 2 files. I don't know if this program does that for you or leaves it up to the user to do that. This is why I'm not a fan of one click root and other automated batch programs. It teaches the user nothing since the steps are usually hidden and when things go wrong or the user wants to undo the changes, they don't have any idea or clue where to start. There's no learning or understanding of the process. It's why I still do everything manually via adb and fastboot commands. It's not hard and it forces me to read and check after every step of the process. OP, I'm not trying to pick on you. I just want people to understand what they're doing.