Two Home care questions: How to fix weak flush toilet.

lokiju

Lifer
May 29, 2003
I don't know what's the deal with my toilet in the master bathroom.

Ever since I bought the house it has seemed to have a weak flush but was always still suck everything down without fail.

Now it won't flush down just water by itself or a single piece of TP. I have to flush it a good 4 or 5 times now just to get it to flush everything down.

Is there a way to improve the flushing power?

Do I need to get a snake in there or something?

Second question, my water in my house taste worse than swimming pool water, it's horrible.

I want to do a sink mount water filter so it pull it direct from the plumbing and I don't have to mess with filling up Brita jugs or anything like that. Does anyone have any suggestions for a good bang for the buck kind? I want the filter to last a long time and not make me broke whenever I have to replace it while taking out the horrible taste.

This is my first time owning a home so I'm a bit inexperienced with doing these sort of things by myself but am up for giving it a shot.

:beer:

Kelemvor

Lifer
May 23, 2002
When you flush what happens? Does water just trickle into the bowl so it never actually flushes?

If so, open the tank and see what's going on when you press the lever. It should be lifting up the flapper which then lets all the water down into the bowl to flush.

Or if there's just not enough water in the tank, then the floating thing is getting too high too soon and cutting off the filling up of the tank and you can bend it as the person above me said...

Or it could be filling up and then slowly draining out but then you'd hear it fill back up every so often...

Safeway

Lifer
Jun 22, 2004