Time to replace current computer - Need Help

Pilsner73

Mar 11, 2008
Use: Gaming, Web Browsing, light productivity, mp3 ripping, and some other misc stuff.
Budget: What it takes for a good build but would like to stay under 1500 US
Brand: Usually use Intel processor/chipset on Asus motherboard but am open to suggestions.
Current parts: May re use monitor dell 2209waf, microsoft keyboard (digital media pro) and logitech mx518, boston acoustics 2.1 speaker system.
Overclocking: No
Resolution: Currently 1680x1050 is my max but want it to support HD and Ultra HD in the future and dual monitors.
When: March/April/May of 2016
OS: Windows 10 (will need to buy so home or pro and oem or retail)

Current computer – Asus p5k-e, intel q8400 processor, 4gb ram, 1 tb wd hard drive, cd/dvd writer, AMD Radeon hd6800 graphics card, antec p90 case, and corsair hx620 power supply, windows 7 ultimate oem, dell 22” monitor.

I think it’s time to replace my main computer that I have been running since 2008 though I have upgraded processor/graphic card since the initial build. This computer has worked well but I feel it’s time to replace it with either a new computer or build a new one. Things I look for is good performance, quiet running (doesn’t need to be silent just quiet), updates, latest connectivity ports, decent built in audio that is supported with driver updates. I don’t overclock so that’s not a concern and I have wired Ethernet so don’t require wifi. I usually get mid-tower cases since they are easier to work on but if it makes sense to go smaller for my needs I’m open to that suggestion. I am not looking to upgrade my current computer, in fact I will be keeping it for other uses.

Also I am OK with buying a built computer from a vendor if that works as well as building my own. So what would be a good vendor to check out for complete systems or a good motherboard/ram/storage/processor/case/power supply/video card/optical drive recommendation?

Last edited:

monkeydelmagico