MoBo: ASUS P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0,
GFX: ASUS ENGT240 Silent/DI/1GD3 GeForce GT 240 1GB DDR3,
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 4GB DDR3 DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800),
CPU HS: Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler,
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze 620W ATX12V V2.3
Data-HDD: WD Caviar Black 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5",
OS-HDD: WD Caviar Blue 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"
ODD: Sony Optiarc CD/DVD Burner AD-7261S-0B LightScribe,

Its time to upgrade, i need a new system.
I am a musician, a lot of Sound engineering and Sound programming tasks. Some of you might be familiar with
softwares like Cubase, Kontakt, Reaktor, Wavelab and else...i also do quiet a few things with Photoshop or with
Video editing softwares. And once in a while i like to sit and Play COD, BF and few similar games, nothing extreme.

What can i use from my existing rig if i decide to dissasemble it instead of selling it, as i experienced i dont
really like the Antec case, too messed up for cables. Budget 1500$, i already have Monitor and Operating System.
If i sell it i will make a few hundred bucks if not it still dont matter, budget stays the same.

The question is what is it worth to upgrade to where i can actually see improved performance.
This time silence is not as important as it was when i was building my first Rig, not that it will change location,
it will be on the same spot again but i experienced with these components that is not as bad as i thought it was
and of course i do not want a tractor trailer in my studio but i wont be as picky as i was.
I am between:
Intel® Core™ i7-3820 Processor
(10M Cache, up to 3.80 GHz)
Intel® Core™ i7-2700K Processor
(8M Cache, up to 3.90 GHz)
Is it worth going on Bridge-E or staying at 26-2700?
X58 or X79?

I dont know, lets start with some ideas please?

Thank You All!

lehtv

Elite Member
Dec 8, 2010