Thinkpad x201 RAM upgrade

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by Essence_of_War, Sep 10, 2015.

  1. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm adding RAM to a thinkpad x201 (i5-560M, non-tablet) and having some problems. I used Crucial's system utility to check compatibility and found this kit:

    http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/thinkpad-x201-%28all-types%29/CT5311310

    I bought the exact spec'd kit through B&H, but when I added the RAM, although it shows up as 8GB of RAM in the BIOS, and loads GRUB2, trying to boot Ubuntu, Windows 7 or Fedora 22 all fail and just reboot. If I try advanced options w/ Ubuntu, I can start Memtest, but it fails almost immediately and reboots.

    I suspected bad RAM, but out of curiosity, I checked the ARK on the i5-560M, and
    http://ark.intel.com/products/49653/Intel-Core-i5-560M-Processor-3M-Cache-2_66-GHz
    which makes it sounds like the RAM isn't compatible with the CPU at all.

    So is this probably just bad RAM, or is this RAM that is just incompatible with my cpu/chipset? :\
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Thinkpad x201 upgrade Forum Date
    Looking for 6-8TB HDD storage upgrade Memory and Storage Aug 16, 2017
    Can i put two 8gb ram sticks in a thinkpad t410? Memory and Storage Dec 30, 2015
    How much maximum RAM can be supported in Laptop LENOVO THINKPAD E530 3259T2Q Memory and Storage Mar 19, 2015
    Questions about memory for a Lenovo Thinkpad T450s Memory and Storage Mar 18, 2015
    SSD Upgrade for Lenovo Thinkpad Edge 14" Memory and Storage Dec 16, 2012

  3. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    2
    According to the spec sheet:

    Memory
    PC3-8500 Non-Parity (NP) Double Data Rate Three (DDR3) Technology
    Two SO-DIMM Slots
    The use of 1066 MHz SO DIMM memory is recommended for this system.
    512MB, 1 GB, 2GB, or 4GB memory
    Supports up to 8GB maximum memory
    2GB, 4GB Intel Turbo Memory (selected models)
    Note: Only 64-bit operating systems support more than 3GB of system memory (RAM).

    It is my understanding that faster memory can work at slower speeds but maybe the slowest speed of the one you have bought is 12800 which is too fast. Have you tried booting with only one stick connected?

    What voltage is the RAM that you removed? I have looked through all the data sheets and manuals available by Lenovo but it does not state if the RAM has to be 1.5v or if it can be 1.35v. OEM machines are generally more picky over things like that deviating from what they use.

    Try it with one stick. If that's no good, check the RAM you removed and if that is 1.5v then you really need a Corsair CM3X8GSDKIT1066 which meets all the requirements and put this one down to experience. Or see if you can return it because the Crucial memory selector was wrong.
     
  4. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    The new RAM is 1.35V, and I think the old RAM is also 1.35V.

    The old RAM is two sticks of 2GB 1Rx8 PC3-10600S-09-11-B2 (1333 MHz).

    Edit: I chatted with Crucial's support, they said the RAM should be compatible, and that my symptoms sounded like the RAM may be defective, but to try each stick one at a time. I'll try that this afternoon and see how that works.

    BTW, Crucial's chat support was a really pleasant and helpful experience.
     
    #3 Essence_of_War, Sep 11, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2015
  5. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    Update:

    I flashed the latest BIOS, exact same problems. BIOS detects 8GB of RAM, all operating systems crash after trying to load them. Both sticks, one stick at a time in each of the sockets, all the same.

    So it sounds like bad RAM? Or RAM that was never compatible to begin with?
     
  6. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think the RAM is too fast. I think you should buy that Corsair kit and try that and if it works return the Crucial as either being faulty or not compatible (because the memory selector was wrong).
     
  7. Shmee

    Shmee Moderator <BR> Memory and Storage <BR> Video Cards
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,179
    Likes Received:
    110
    If it is failing memtest, sounds like bad ram.
     
  8. coercitiv

    coercitiv Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    868
    The Crucial kit OP bought likely has SPD timings down to DDR3 800.

    Here's what my 8GB DDR3 1600 Crucial stick supports:
    [​IMG]


    OP, can you post SPD timings for your old memory sticks? We can probably find out coresponding timings for the Crucial sticks as well.
     
  9. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    Here is my speccy RAM report:

    Code:
    Memory slots
                Total memory slots    2
                Used memory slots    2
                Free memory slots    0
            Memory
                Type    DDR3
                Size    4096 MBytes
                Channels #    Dual
                DRAM Frequency    531.9 MHz
                CAS# Latency (CL)    7 clocks
                RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD)    7 clocks
                RAS# Precharge (tRP)    7 clocks
                Cycle Time (tRAS)    20 clocks
                Command Rate (CR)    1T
            Physical Memory
                Memory Usage    64 %
                Total Physical    2.93 GB
                Available Physical    1.05 GB
                Total Virtual    5.85 GB
                Available Virtual    3.80 GB
            SPD
                Number Of SPD Modules    2
                    Slot #1
                        Type    DDR3
                        Size    2048 MBytes
                        Manufacturer    Samsung
                        Max Bandwidth    PC3-10700 (667 MHz)
                        Part Number    M471B5773DH0-CH9
                        Serial Number    773A658B
                        Week/year    47 / 10
                            Timing table
                                    JEDEC #1
                                        Frequency    381.0 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    5.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    5
                                        RAS# Precharge    5
                                        tRAS    14
                                        tRC    19
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
                                    JEDEC #2
                                        Frequency    457.1 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    6.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    6
                                        RAS# Precharge    6
                                        tRAS    17
                                        tRC    23
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
                                    JEDEC #3
                                        Frequency    533.3 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    7.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    7
                                        RAS# Precharge    7
                                        tRAS    20
                                        tRC    27
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
                                    JEDEC #4
                                        Frequency    609.5 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    8.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    8
                                        RAS# Precharge    8
                                        tRAS    22
                                        tRC    30
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
                                    JEDEC #5
                                        Frequency    666.7 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    9.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    9
                                        RAS# Precharge    9
                                        tRAS    25
                                        tRC    33
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
                    Slot #2
                        Type    DDR3
                        Size    2048 MBytes
                        Manufacturer    Samsung
                        Max Bandwidth    PC3-10700 (667 MHz)
                        Part Number    M471B5773DH0-CH9
                        Serial Number    773A658E
                        Week/year    47 / 10
                            Timing table
                                    JEDEC #1
                                        Frequency    381.0 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    5.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    5
                                        RAS# Precharge    5
                                        tRAS    14
                                        tRC    19
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
                                    JEDEC #2
                                        Frequency    457.1 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    6.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    6
                                        RAS# Precharge    6
                                        tRAS    17
                                        tRC    23
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
                                    JEDEC #3
                                        Frequency    533.3 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    7.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    7
                                        RAS# Precharge    7
                                        tRAS    20
                                        tRC    27
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
                                    JEDEC #4
                                        Frequency    609.5 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    8.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    8
                                        RAS# Precharge    8
                                        tRAS    22
                                        tRC    30
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
                                    JEDEC #5
                                        Frequency    666.7 MHz
                                        CAS# Latency    9.0
                                        RAS# To CAS#    9
                                        RAS# Precharge    9
                                        tRAS    25
                                        tRC    33
                                        Voltage    1.500 V
    
     
    #8 Essence_of_War, Sep 12, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015
  10. mrblotto

    mrblotto Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    13
    What's the FRU number on the original DIMM(s)?
     
  11. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    FRU number? Sorry, I'm not familiar?
     
  12. mrblotto

    mrblotto Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    13
    Look at the original memory. If it's a 'genuine' part from Lenovo, it'll have a FRU number on it. Like this:

    [​IMG]

    of course it'll say 'Lenovo' instead of 'IBM' lol

    When i get to work on Monday, I'll see if I have any memory for ya
     
  13. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't know if you skimmed the memory report above, but the DIMMs are Samsung, not lenovo.
     
  14. mrblotto

    mrblotto Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    13

    It should still have a FRU number on it, regardless of who manufactured it. Lenovo uses memory from Samsung, Hynix, Crucial, Nanya, etc..... They just put a FRU sticker on it to identify it.

    Of course, if the memory didn't come with the laptop in the first place, chances are it wont have a FRU number on it.
     
  15. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    The Samsung memory FRUs are 55Y3713
     
  16. mrblotto

    mrblotto Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    13
    cool, I'll see if I have any 4G 8500/10600 DIMMS laying around ;)

    For what it's worth, I've come across your predicament a few times. No rhyme nor reason. No matter what I did/checked, the memory would NOT work, even though it should For those scenarios, I usually end up with this:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvOmqYk8JOk
     
    #15 mrblotto, Sep 12, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015
  17. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    As someone mentioned upthread, and as a Crucial support rep confirmed, the fact that BIOS recognizes it and memtest fails is a strong indication of defective RAM. I've asked the reseller for an RMA, hopefully it's that easy.
     
  18. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    2
    The original working RAM is 1.5v and your new kit is 1.35v. Is there a chance your laptop doesn't like 1.35v RAM?
     
  19. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    There is but I'm not sure how to test that?

    I'm pretty sure that all DDR3 RAM has to be able to operate 1.5V to be compliant with JEDEC, though.
     
  20. mrblotto

    mrblotto Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    13
    OK,
    Just took a look. All I have are the 2Gig chips w/FRU 55Y3713

    But this may mean something:
    -The Samsung module has 4 chips per side (8 chips total)
    -The Elpida module has 8 chips per side (16 total)

    Wondering if you laptop only will take high or low density DIMMS? How many chips/side are on your original (and new) DIMMS?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    The original (Samsung) are 4 dies per side. Each die is 256 MB.

    The new ones (Crucial) are also 4 dies per side, but each die is 512 MB.
     
  22. mrblotto

    mrblotto Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    13
    Welp, I'm out of ideas then :(
     
  23. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    One of the Crucial support people suggested that maybe the problem was with the higher density dies, but I felt like it would be as likely to have a problem with MORE dies...leaving the sort of lingering implied question that if you think the motherboard will have problems with both higher density dies, and additional dies, then why on earth is it being certified to run with more memory at all?
     
  24. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm pretty confident that won't be the issue. I have updated many laptops from difference manufacturers to their maximum RAM capacity without running into that. IMO it's either faulty RAM or your system is rejecting the new RAM because of either the voltage or speed difference.

    Do you have some more RAM coming?
     
  25. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    Under recommendation from Crucial's support, I RMA'd the RAM because they said it was likely defective.

    I received the replacement kit yesterday, and this one is giving me trouble too.

    With both new sticks: 8GB recognzied in BIOS, WILL NOT boot.

    With one new stick at a time (tested 4 times, once with each stick in each slot): 4GB recognized in BIOS, WILL boot OS.

    With one new stick and one old stick: 6GB recognized in BIOS, WILL NOT boos OS.
     
  26. Essence_of_War

    Essence_of_War Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just to bring closure to the story, this issue was resolved by using the lower density DIMMs.

    The original kit I purchased was CT2KIT51264BF160BJ, I replaced it with CT2KIT51264BF160B, and everything works great now.