Thin client terminal and RDP over 802.11b

Discussion in 'Networking' started by frankqfrank, Dec 11, 2005.

  1. frankqfrank

    frankqfrank Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to set up a thin client with a wireless adapter in my kitchen, along with a wireless keyboard and mouse, and a little 14" or 15" flat panel LCD monitor. I don't know much about these machines but it seems they will do Microsoft's remote desktop protocol. The goal would be to remote desktop to the computer in the office.

    Could I install a wireless adapter in the thin client box and then just remote desktop to my computer in the office (which is wired to the wireless router) ???

    To get decent performance does the thin client need to be new, or fast? I am looking at eBay and not sure what kind of specs to look for.

    Finally, how hard is it to find a thin client that will work with a USB or PCI wifi adapter, or how hard is it to find an adapter that will work with a thin client??

    EDIT: I just thought of something. Would I even need to install a wifi adapter if the box could do ethernet? I could just get a bridge, i.e. the linksys WET11 or simlar?

    Thanks in advance for any responses, I would appreciate any information you could give me.
     
  2. Goosemaster

    Goosemaster Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    48,779
    Likes Received:
    0
    the part about getting it to work with wifi is what I'd be worried about.

    in addition, those TC's require a termianl server, so at the very leat you would need windows XP pro, if not server. Not sure.

    A bridge is a nice idea:)
     
  3. nweaver

    nweaver Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    use minimal resources, go with Linux and remote desktop client in full screen. Most people wont even know you are on linux.
     
  4. frankqfrank

    frankqfrank Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to avoid having to build a PC. Did you mean that I can use a thin client with an embedded linux OS in lieu of one with NT embedded, CE, or teh new XP embedded?

    Goosemaster are you sure a TC requires a terminal server, and won't RD to a XP pro desktop?

     
  5. Goosemaster

    Goosemaster Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    48,779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like I wrote, I am not sure
     
  6. frankqfrank

    frankqfrank Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anybody know if a thin client can remote desktop to a plain old windows XP computer?
     
  7. nweaver

    nweaver Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it can....


    you can get a thin client that is PXE bootable, I think there is a terminal server project for linux, google it.
     
  8. Goosemaster

    Goosemaster Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    48,779
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just checked.

    For the msot part the thin clients have either a Citrix ICA, RDP, or proprietary client. If it has an RDP client, then yes, you will be able to log in to an XP Pro machine.

    That said, because the device uses only ROM in most cases, adding new devices and such would be compeltely up to the manufactuer. This like bringing sound and device management would be left to the hardware on the thin client.

    My guess is that it'll give you basic authentication, basic to moderate Ethernet configuration, and that's it.


    Just use a bridge if you want wireless.
     
  9. daishi5

    daishi5 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you can use RDP on any thin client that supports RDP to connect to your desktop.

    I do this at work all the time. Just make sure it supports RDP and whatever network connection you wish to use.

    Edit: You must have windows XP Pro, I am almost certain home edition does not allow you to remote connect. Also you rigth click on "my computer" and go to the remote tab to set up RDP connectivity.
     
  10. kidtriton

    kidtriton Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    We use tons of HP T5500 and T5510's with optional built in 802.11b cards to do RDP.

    BUT, if its going to terminal into XP, it will log out the console session each time, and if someone goes to the console of the XP computer, it will log out the thin client. If you want there to be a console session at the same time as the remote session, you will need 2000 or 2003 server.

     
  11. blemoine

    blemoine Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    get an old machine with a cd drive cpu and ram and then just use knoppix. that should make your life easy.
     
  12. frankqfrank

    frankqfrank Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the replies, and especially the model number kidtriton