The Great Kaspersky Hiccup of Quarter-3, 2016

BonzaiDuck

Lifer
Jun 30, 2004
You can see my threads or posts (both) in Memory and Storage, maybe Operating Systems.

I had a dual-boot Win7/win10 MBR partition, all had been working flawlessly for a good part of a year after creating it. If you want to know why I MUST HAVE this dual-boot setup, I have threads or posts in the "HTPC" forum, and if you're not a complete and total Noob to 30 years of microcomputer technology, you already know what I'm talking about.

And I'm a subscriber to the SiliconDust project -- a "Kickstarter" project for HD HomeRun DVR -- but no luck yet with DRM channels.

The system was overclocked, and as soon as I posted in the SW and OS forums, I got all this flak and presumptuous response dismissing the wisdom of OC. No less -- I was prepared already and for a long time to meet the sieve of possibilities with a panic-free set of tests.

The S*** hit the fan with the October Win 7 updates and possibly also the Win 10 updates, the former introducing a new "Update paradigm" by MS. On a 5-year-old and 2-year-old of twin systems (minor differences), the Win 7 and then the Win 10 systems got borked by the updates. I had asked folks to contribute any common experience. But even for having similar chipsets, or the same graphics cards, or a dual-boot system on an MBR partition -- there is always some little detail of significance if nobody else reports the trouble.