Rant Stevia, why haven't this been more availble?

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Muse

Lifer
Jul 11, 2001
it tastes so gross, id rather drink water then anything sweetened with artificial sugar.
Hey, stevia doesn't taste as good as sugar. Which seems to be true of all "artificial" sweeteners. But sugar's bad for you, it gets complicated why and how much and for who, all that stuff, do your homework.

I have stevia. I use it some, not a lot. You can overdo it. Again, do your homework. I use it less than I used to. I buy it in pretty large quantities off Amazon, read the reviews. Store in the fridge. Have a tiny bottle outside the fridge that I've been working on literally for a couple years. I don't sweeten my coffee 90% of the time. Put a tiny bit in my tea, I mean probably 1/10th of a 1/4 teaspoon.

Screw added sugar. Many ingredients have intrinsic sweetness. Why add sugar? I grow tomatoes and kabocha squash. If well grown, they are nice and sweet! My tomato sauces are quite sweet, people might think I add sugar but I don't. My stews made with kabocha are sweet ... enough.

Last edited:
Reactions: whm1974

Muse

Lifer
Jul 11, 2001
But still full of calories. Use Blackstrap Molasses. The strong taste will keep you from consuming too much of it.
The first time I tasted blackstrap molasses was the first time I visited the town I live in. Never forget... Someone put it on pancakes and served it to me. It was horrible! I add a tablespoon to my dough when I make my whole wheat bread. In there it's OK. I also add sugar to that dough. Helps the yeast grow. The bread doesn't taste sweet like cake or anything, I add it to please the yeast.

Reactions: JEDIYoda

Kaido

Elite Member & Kitchen Overlord
Feb 14, 2004