Steam doubts about data privacy

b4u

Golden Member
Nov 8, 2002
Hi,

Today I just received a copy of Call of Duty: MW3.

I was willing to play this, I found the game at a great price, I bought it. Just like that! :)

Now when starting the DVD installation, the first thing it comes up with is the steam installation.

Now for installing, I'm presented with a huge license agreement that makes me think about the security of this software.

I work with computers everyday, I'm a developer for many years now, and most probably this isn't helping my "decision" of accepting and proceed to the installation.

Maybe I'm getting paranoid about this, but I feel that in this digital era we now leave, and the further we go into, our personal information and anonymity is the easiest thing to loose, and the hardest to recover (if that's even possible).

So down to my main concerns about steam, what am I expected to share to valve? What are my major concerns?

1. Will my digital data (documents, any other non-game, non-steam files) be sent to valve?

2. Will any info regarding my other software, info, keys, etc be sent to valve?

I mean, I payed money for some software packages on my PC just to see them being sent somewhere else.

I can't even calculate the "price" of having any personal document sent to outside of my computer.

At the moment, I have a firewall that helps me to block any upload from any software on my machine, and everything is controlled, somewhat. But if I allow a software like steam to connect, I don't have a clue what it's transmitting.

I tried reading the license, and I have no problem in uploading my steam user, email, account info to valve, nor any statistics about anything managed by steam itself, but outside steam "shell", I don't feel secure on letting steam wandering around, gathering whatever info it feels appropriate to transmit.