STALKER: Clear Sky performance review

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by thilanliyan, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,114
    Likes Received:
    38
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - STALKER Clear performance Forum Date
    MLAA on 58xx cards...works on Stalker soc, gta iv, etc. Video Cards and Graphics Oct 24, 2010
    What do you need to play STALKER Clear Sky maxxed out? Video Cards and Graphics Feb 24, 2010
    Stalker: Call of Pripyat DX11 benchmark released. Download!! Video Cards and Graphics Nov 19, 2009
    Stalker: Call of Pripyat Video Cards and Graphics Sep 26, 2009
    HD 4850 crossfire and STALKER: Clear Sky Video Cards and Graphics Oct 12, 2008

  3. geoffry

    geoffry Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for posting this. I downloaded it off steam tonight and am looking forward to playing upon my return to my humble abode.

    Seems my 4850 will get thrashed by the enhanced HDR, lol.
     
  4. error8

    error8 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,194
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 8800 gt chocked totally with this game at maximum settings. I guess I'll just have to buy that stupid 4870. :p
     
  5. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,114
    Likes Received:
    38
    At least you got a vmodded GT...my slightly OCed GT is gonna crash before the game even starts. :)
     
  6. nerp

    nerp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    9,770
    Likes Received:
    59
    Nice to see the 4670 keeps up in mid-high settings at 1280x1024. That's exactly how the card is targeted and exactly how I plan on playing games like this.
     
  7. imported_Shaq

    imported_Shaq Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 9800GX2 runs it pretty well in DX9 @1600 with everything at maximum, including sliders, but no AA. Only in the morning does it drop to 30fps. Otherwise it is 50-70 so far. Large battles drop it into the 40's. They need to patch it to support dual core. That should help with the large battle drops in fps. It looks like they released it a month too soon.
     
  8. error8

    error8 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it looks like my volt mod is pretty useless with this game. I can run it maxed out at 1366X768, but that is way under my native 1680X1050 resolution.
    Even Crysis had better fps then this one.
     
  9. RockinZ28

    RockinZ28 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    28
    It's playable DX10 30-50fps in the swamps with medium on the sliders, no AA/AF at 1600x1200 with my 8800gts at 800/2000/2200. I tried setting it to 2048x1536 with everything at the highest, was getting a whopping 0.4fps lol.
     
  10. Spike

    Spike Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm debating getting this but I never played the original game. I know this is supposed to be before the original game in terms of time so which would be the best to play first in order to understand the story the best?
     
  11. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,114
    Likes Received:
    38
    I never really tried the original either. If it's set before the original, I don't see why you'd go wrong in trying this first.

    EDIT: I bought this off steam...anyone know whether I can get a hard copy of this game from them?
     
  12. apoppin

    apoppin Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Messages:
    34,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anywhere tomorrow or thursday .. right?

    i am going to Target, i think they have a sale
    i want to see if it scales on X3 ..

    Hd4870 crossfire or bust
    :D

    nope Curseit City

    http://forums.anandtech.com/me...=2227657&enterthread=y

    Count me in for 3 out of 5


    EDIT Phooey :p

    Neither X2 nor Crossfire scales for Crap

    and i find what they find - when X2 does not scale, it is SLOWER than 512MB 4870 in most cases
    - which sux for a $550 GPU :(

    it looks like i will be playing it on my GTX280
    [​IMG]
     
  13. RockinZ28

    RockinZ28 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    28
  14. apoppin

    apoppin Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Messages:
    34,902
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. Spike

    Spike Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Obviously they where wrong since PCGH got the game to run on the X2 and GX2 and posted the results. I don't know about crossfire but from what I can see the 4870X2 rules the roost for this game at any res besting out the 9800 GX2 by a fair bit (~30% at 1680x1050)

    From the article "Multi GPU systems are scaling extremely well (up to 100 percent) with the X-Ray Engine - not very surprising since the engine is not new. A special multi GPU article with videos will be released by next week. "
     
  16. geoffry

    geoffry Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    So one site shows 4870 CF scaling and the other doesn't...gonna need a third or 4th opinion.
     
  17. apoppin

    apoppin Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Messages:
    34,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well STALKER does scale very well on my 4870x2 over my 4870

    i think Guru3D messed up somehow

    perhaps they should use ATi drivers instead :p

    ATA?
     
  18. geoffry

    geoffry Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol.

    Thanks for the info. Perhaps its time for me to CF my 4850s.
     
  19. RockinZ28

    RockinZ28 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    28
    Sorry didn't read why guru didn't use sli/cf, just looked at the DX10 numbers and figured they didn't test any. PCGH used Vista 64 and Guru Vista 32? Didn't notice anywhere in the Guru where it said what version of the game they were using either.
     
  20. Wreckage

    Wreckage Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like the 4870X2 has scaling issues. I would imagine the 260 would be between the 4870 and the 280.

    Which works just fine for me.
     
  21. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,114
    Likes Received:
    38
    Looks like it doesn't have scaling issues:
    http://www.pcgameshardware.com...nchmark_Review/?page=2 (This was posted right above...you don't like to read full threads??)

    AND
    the 260 falls below the 4870 and gets worse when going up in res. 0/2 Wreckage. :p

    I'm not sure why the original link from Guru3D didn't scale...and didn't include the 260.
     
  22. Wreckage

    Wreckage Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those numbers (from that site I bet no one has ever heard of) completely contradict Guru3D.

    Nice try though.
     
  23. Nemesis 1

    Nemesis 1 Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    11,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Game looks good . I liked the weird sites pics better . Took more time with it.

    I guess we wait till tomorrow to see if uGuru and wreckage take a nose dive on this one . Tomorrow reveals all.
     
  24. Tempered81

    Tempered81 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has an issue with smashing anything with an NV logo on it:
    http://pcgameshardware.de/scre...l/2008/09/GPU_1680.PNG
     
  25. thilanliyan

    thilanliyan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,114
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hehehe...because you haven't heard of it huh? Okay. :thumbsup:
    I was just posting something of what we had (FYI that site IS known)...when we have more sites testing...feel free to post them...who knows maybe pcgames.de somehow fluked the scaling for the 4870x2.

    I already tried...some people just never... :)
     
  26. apoppin

    apoppin Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2000
    Messages:
    34,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    CrossfireX-3 sucks on a P35 MB with a fast dual-core [e8600 at stock 3.33Ghz]
    :brokenheart:

    X2 may scale but x3 doesn't generally [from what i have done so far] and will run HOT, NOISY as HELL [make 2900xt crossfire sound quiet], driver issues that slow it down slower than a X2 and likely framebuffer issues as it is now limited to 512MB ..

    but i would say framebuffer is the least of X3's worries
    - at ANY rate, i need to move everything to my x48 ASUS [soon to be flashed to] Rampage MB and OC my CPU [it's potential appears to be 4.5 Ghz]

    look for a new thread .. maybe tomorrow .. i am tired
    :moon: