Socket 478: Celeron D 310 easy 50% overclock

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by jdangber, Sep 14, 2005.

  1. jdangber

    jdangber Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got the Celeron D 310 (2.13 GHz) today from New Egg, and went right ahead with overclocking, no burn in. After searching forever, I realized tht there really wasn't much info out there on a pin mod to 800 fsb from the native 533 fsb. Using Zap's FSB pin mod page, I found the appropriate BSEL pin to insulate (I used 30 gauge wire wrap insulation: $3 @ radio shack). I poked a needle into the hole of the BSEL1 pin on the cpu socket on the motherboard, and by wiggling was able to gently enlarge the hole to make for more clearance of the insulated pin. That took care of the High frequency needed for BSEL1, but now I had the problem of getting BSEL0 to have a low frequency. As you pin modders know, it's easy to insulate a pin to prevent a connection, but its a different story when one needs to make a connection that was never there to begin with.

    Taking a page out of the Xeon Socket 603/604 400/533FSB to 800FSB BSEL Pin Mod, I used a U-wire to give BSEL0 a low frequency reading. I used a single strand of wire from some 22 gauge wire off a junk cooling fan. I put the u wire into the mb's cpu socket in an adjecent fashion, connecting BSEL0 to VSS of pin AC5 (the hole down and to the right of BSEL0) see Intel Celeron D socket 478 datasheet for pin # info (pages 37-41).

    After all this, I booted it up, and was pleased to see the processor recognized as a Celeron 3200 MHz (16x200). I used the stock fan and heatsink, with the stock thermal pad, and my temps are 38 C idling, side of the computer. In comparison, the Northwood Cely I replaced (2.0 oc'ed @ 3.0 Ghz) would idle at 27 C (it had Artic Silver 5). I may change to Artic Silver 5 if I think temps will be a problem in the future.

    I haven't tried any further overclocking yet, mainly b/c my ram is only pc3200 value ram, so I don't think it could handle running higher than 400 MHz.

    I also should state that I haven't really noticed much of a performance difference between the two CPU's. On SiSoft Sandra Lite 2005, my old Northwood actually beat the D on the multimedia bench, but the D with its 800 Mhz bus kicks the crap out of the old Cely when it comes to memory bandwith. We'll see if encoding speeds up or not.....

    Joe
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Socket Celeron easy Forum Date
    Celeron M Socket 479: bga or pga? CPUs and Overclocking Dec 19, 2009
    Old 433 Celeron Socket 370 HEATSINK work with Pentium 1000 CPUs and Overclocking May 21, 2009
    Intel Celeron (Socket 775) Installation Question CPUs and Overclocking Jun 23, 2008
    767Mhz Celeron - Upgrade to 1.4GHz socket 370 a big boost? CPUs and Overclocking Feb 14, 2007
    Pinmod socket 478 celeron-d to 200fsb (from 133) CPUs and Overclocking Aug 1, 2006

  3. Hyperlite

    Hyperlite Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,667
    Likes Received:
    1

    OK, that sounded WAY too casual. :D

    Welcome to the forums, and good job. :thumbsup:
     
  4. hurtstotalktoyou

    hurtstotalktoyou Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was pretty ballsy. I used to have an Athlon 950, but was afraid to do the pencil mod. This sounds a lot more complex. Nice!
     
  5. TStep

    TStep Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup: Great link as well
     
  6. jdangber

    jdangber Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone pin mod a processor anymore? Maybe I'm the only cheapskate who can't afford agp/pci locs, lol.
     
  7. n7

    n7 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    21,304
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nice work...way above my head what you did! :)
     
  8. Shimmishim

    Shimmishim Elite Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice! good to see people not afraid to take risks with simple pin mods :)
     
  9. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    I do. :D I usually just break the pin off instead of insulate. Pulling up voltage from VSS is pretty standard using wires in the socket like you did. That's normal MO for the voltage "wire trick" that some people do.

    :thumbsup: for a job well done! BTW, what Northwood CPu did you have before this Deleron?
     
  10. jdangber

    jdangber Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Zap,

    The old Northy was a desketop Celeron 2.0 that I had running on a 600 Mhz fsb (3.0 ghz). The 128 kb of L2 cache was excrutiating at times (games), but at least it ran super cold (35C maxed out). The Deleron isn't much faster really (but gaming is much improved). I chalk that up to its longer pipeline: the D's 256kb of L2 isn't really "twice the L2 cache" performance-wise when it needs most of it to keep the longer pipline full. I'll call it just slightly better, similar to what it would be like if they just would have given the older northwood Celeron 190 kb of L2 cache, and called it the celeron D. So, I'm sure a mobile celeron is still better than the Deleron, that is if you're lucky enough to get the 1.5's and 1.6's to run on the 800 fsb.

    Despite the lack of L2, I still think there's a place for the old northwood celeron. Its makes for a great HTPC chip, as you could easily use a passive cooling solution. I had no problems using a software decoding tv tuner card with it. It made mpeg-2 recordings and burn-on-the-fly DVD's of television programs without any dropped frames. I just decided to replace it b/c I wanted system longevity (800 fsb=no pci/agp/hdd o/cing) and increased bandwith to hopefully get faster encodiing performance.

    This was the 1st cpu that I went to the trouble of insulating pins as opposed to just breaking them off. This way I still have that 3 yr warranty if it ever goes belly-up. "No Intel, I didn't do anything to the cpu, I was just sitting here typing when it stopped." ;)
     
  11. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Those exist, but aren't as guaranteed as the Deleron 310/315.
     
  12. XMan

    XMan Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    12,422
    Likes Received:
    19
    Do you have to do the pin trick? Can't you just set the CPU to run at 800 if your board supports it?
     
  13. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, if your board supports it. Sometimes you still want to do the mod because some boards don't overclock well without it (my Albatron 845PEV Pro was like that) and some boards give you different memory multipliers. YMMV.
     
  14. spydernet

    spydernet Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    good job jdangber :wine:
     
  15. imported_Kensai

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    10,855
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. larciel

    larciel Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,577
    Likes Received:
    7
    this sounds extremely fun!

    anyone tried this on Dell dimension?