Soccer rules question..players help me out

zbalat

Platinum Member
Oct 9, 1999
2,501
1
81
I was the ref for my daughters soccer game this morning and I made a call that angered several parents. I'm pretty sure my call was correct but I need to be sure.

What happened:

The red team made a shot on the green teams goal. The green goalie caught the ball and attempted a drop kick. She pretty much wiffed the kick but she did get a small piece of the ball and it fell to the ground right in front of her. She picked it up and kicked it again. I blew the whistle and awarded the red team and indirect free kick.

The way I understand the rule is that the goalie can only use hands to defend a shot from the other team. Once an attempt is made to kick or throw the ball is made, the goalie cannot touch the ball with his/her hands again untill a member of the opposing team touches it.

Soccer guys/gals help me out. It was an AYSO game for 11-12 year old girls and I was pulled from the sidelines as a spectator to ref because there was no AYSO ref available to do the game.

Thanks in advance.
 

thereds

Diamond Member
Apr 4, 2000
7,886
0
0


<< The way I understand the rule is that the goalie can only use hands to defend a shot from the other team. Once an attempt is made to kick or throw the ball is made, the goalie cannot touch the ball with his/her hands again untill a member of the opposing team touches it. >>



Yes, you are correct. Once the goalie made contact with the ball using his or her feet, the ball is in play and the goalie cannot touch the ball with his or her hands unless an opponent kicks it towards the goalie's goal. The goalie can also touch the ball with their hands if his or her teams heads the ball towards the goalie.
 

worth

Platinum Member
Feb 4, 2001
2,369
0
0
You were correct, but I'm not sure I would have done the same thing at game with 11 year olds.
 

Haircut

Platinum Member
Apr 23, 2000
2,248
0
0
Correct decision.

According to the laws of the game an indirect free kick will be awarded if the goalkeeper "touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player"

The full set of rules can be found here
 

CoffeeIsGod

Member
Aug 30, 2001
32
0
0
I didn't think you were correct but you are:
From FIFA

Indirect Free Kick
An indirect free kick is awarded to the
opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his
own penalty area, commits any of the
following five offences:
 takes more than six seconds while controlling
the ball with his hands before releasing it from
his possession
 touches the ball again with his hands after it
has been released from his possession and has
not touched any other player

 touches the ball with his hands after it has
been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate
 touches the ball with his hands after he has
received it directly from a throw-in taken by a
team-mate

However, bear in mind that in the professional game the first of these rules is often ignored.
 

zippy

Diamond Member
Nov 10, 1999
9,998
1
0
Yeah, you were correct. I dunno though...in an 11 and 12 year old girls game...heh. :p Whatever, you did make the correct call.
 

zbalat

Platinum Member
Oct 9, 1999
2,501
1
81
Thanks for the replies people.

I'm not sure if the call needed to be made with 11-12 year olds, but since I made it I just wanted to make sure I made the right call.

Thanks again.
 

stingbandel

Diamond Member
Jan 23, 2000
3,270
0
0
it depends.... where was the ball? Was it still inside the penalty box? If yes then she could take it back and rekick it otherwise it's inderect....






Darno
 

CoffeeIsGod

Member
Aug 30, 2001
32
0
0
Just looked at the rules from FIFA again and they obviously don't apply yo your case anyway :)
touches the ball again with his hands