Smartphone with functioning FM receiver?

sammykhalifa

Dec 26, 2014
So I've been using my first-gen Moto G for a few years now. It's a fine little phone, but is of course showing its age and has also been acting up a lot lately so I'm looking into upgrading. I noticed the new Moto 4G and figured it was a no-brainer choice to modernize a bit. Then I found out that they didn't include a magetometer--kind of a deal-breaker for me.

That's when I started looking seriously at a few of the $400-range high-specced phones that have been appearing lately. The Oneplus3, Axon 7, the Honor, etc. I'm sure you all know them more than I do. I figured it was a perfect time to use this $100 GC from a certain hated big-box electronics store that I've been sitting on. They all seem like pretty good options for me, but I was kind of starting to lean towards the Axon. That's when I found some online reports that it does not have the FM radio connected in the hardware. I use my phone to listen to the broadcast of baseball games, and MLB does not play well with streaming radio. (Yes, I'm ancient. I know). Not only that, but the more I read, it seems that most of the devices I were a no go for the FM receiver.

Is this true? It seems like a super super cheap thing to include, especially considering that the receiver is in the chip already. The reports I read (not an expert myself obviously) seemed to indicate that the issue is that the hardware was not physically hooked up internally, and this isn't the kind of thing that can be fixed with software updates, etc. Are there many phones out there that still have this functionality? A disappointment if true. I don't really get why my budget-oriented phone from 3+ years ago can do things that modern, better ones have deliberately decided to do away with.

Ah well. Thanks for reading if you've gotten this far, heh.

lxskllr

No Lifer
Nov 30, 2004
It's an old phone now, but the S5 has fm. Maybe newer Galaxys do too?

Eug

Lifer
Mar 11, 2000