Small Business Owner: Recommend an alternative to QuickBooks

SR1729

Jan 11, 2010
I'm a small business owner with QuickBooks Pro 2007. I'm sick of the bloated beast that is QuickBooks. I'm also rather put off by the fact that they castrate their software after a few years (beginning June of this year, 2007 users will no longer be able to email invoices to clients, for instance).

Can anyone recommend an alternative? It doesn't even have to be free. I don't mind paying for good accounting software as long as it's not designed to bend me over. Of course, if there's a free/open source option, even better. I've done some of this research already, but I'd like to hear from others here who've made "the switch".

Last edited by a moderator:

SlitheryDee

Lifer
Feb 2, 2005
I hear peachtree is good.

I've never used anything but quickbooks though. I have my gripes about it, but I'm not sure I could do without the integration it has with quickbooks POS.

SR1729

Jan 11, 2010
Fortunately, I just need basic accounting functions. I don't even process my own payroll (using Paycor for that). I just use it to keep track of my time, invoice customers, and track business expenses.

PricklyPete

Lifer
Sep 17, 2002
I'll install SAP at your site if you want. You'll have to negotiate the software price with SAP...but my consulting services will come out to about a million. Game?

imagoon

Diamond Member
Feb 19, 2003
I'll install SAP at your site if you want. You'll have to negotiate the software price with SAP...but my consulting services will come out to about a million. Game?

I <3 paying 30k a year just for the privilege of running accounting software!

The-Noid

Diamond Member
Nov 16, 2005
Mind Your Own Business is supposedly good.

I always liked peachtree.

Microsoft Excel works too or paying someone else...

BoomerD

No Lifer
Feb 26, 2006